Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

BGP Issue

Mon May 12, 2008 2:05 am

Hi All,

Hopefully someone can shed some light on this problem for me. I'm lost for what to do.

We have 4 routers, 3 running .51, one running .27

If router 4 disconnects from router 3, then reconnects (wirelessly) the BGP peer on 4 will fail to establish, and the peers / instance on router 3 disapeer both under winbox & terminal. After 2-3 minutes you will see the peers on router 3 flash on and off, and then the router will reboot, and 9 times out of 10, BGP is back. The problem is, this continues down the routers right to router 1, due to router 3's peers 'disapeering'

Has anyone seen this before? Any idea what might be going on?
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: BGP Issue

Mon May 12, 2008 3:45 am

.27 is very BGP buggy. .26 was the last version somewhat decent until about the .43s or .45s... .27 was very bad in my memory. best bet is to upgrade all to .51 and see what happens. If there is still a problem then give us more detail.

Sam
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: BGP Issue

Mon May 12, 2008 3:53 am

Well the issue will happen for me between two .51 routers even if we dont include the .27

What more detail would you like?
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: BGP Issue

Mon May 12, 2008 8:11 am

any route filters in place ?

are you exchanging default routes?

are you exchange routes that would cause a loop when learned ?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: BGP Issue

Mon May 12, 2008 8:54 am

We have filters in place to discard the default routes

From #4

2 chain=Tower6-Out prefix=0.0.0.0/0 invert-match=no action=discard

3 chain=Tower63-In prefix=0.0.0.0/0 invert-match=no action=discard

From #3

2 chain=Tower3-Out prefix=0.0.0.0/0 routing-mark=WP invert-match=no
action=discard

I wouldnt know how to check if we are exchanging routes that would cause a loop
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: BGP Issue

Mon May 12, 2008 7:02 pm

you can setup a routing filter to disable all the incoming routes. This will allow them to come in but be disabled / invalid. Then you can review and see if there are routes that look like they would cause a problem. Most peoples problems with BGP end up being routes exchanged that cause the peer to now be on another path and then its not reachable anymore / or a loop.

Sam
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: BGP Issue

Wed May 14, 2008 8:30 am

Ok, but i still dont know how to proceed from here. How do i check these things?
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: BGP Issue

Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:55 am

Hi Guys

We are still having these problems. Any help would be appreciated

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lweidig, MSN [Bot] and 78 guests