Page 1 of 1

RB150 v3.9 100% CPU

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 4:13 pm
by daveleger
Hello,

I have a miniRouter with basic firewall setup and PPPOE client configured to connected to the internet. ether2-5 are bridged together. Just about no traffic on the router, however I am at 100% CPU all the time. Not just a spike!

The router seams to be working properly. No slow down, etc. But I have little traffic on it.

I have the following firmware:
[admin@MikroTik] > /sys rou print
       routerboard: yes
             model: "miniROUTER"
     serial-number: "10CF01CF0A82"
  current-firmware: "2.9"
  upgrade-firmware: "2.14"
[admin@MikroTik] > 
I am wondering if I should downgrade to v3.7?

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Dave Leger

Re: RB150 v3.9 100% CPU

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 4:53 pm
by jwcn
If you are seeing no other indication of 100% cpu utilization I would say it isn't accurate.

Re: RB150 v3.9 100% CPU

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 5:08 pm
by daveleger
I would agree, but how can I properly monitor the CPU is I don't have an accurate reading?

Should I upgrade the firmware?

Or Should I downgrade the OS?

Thanks,

Dave

Re: RB150 v3.9 100% CPU

Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 5:11 pm
by Schnulch
Perhaps you should do a "system routerboard upgrade" and reboot.

Re: RB150 v3.9 100% CPU [resolved]

Posted: Tue May 20, 2008 5:44 pm
by daveleger
Upgrading the firmware from 2.9 to 2.14 did the trick. It is no longer showing 100% CPU load.

I don't believe the CPU was actually at 100%, rather is was showing it as being at 100%.

Thanks,

Dave Leger