Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Tue May 27, 2008 11:54 am

Hi guys

A client of mine currently has a draytek router, handling four WAN connections into their office block. I want to sell them a RB1000 or similar but there's a pencil pusher who insists on ISA Server.

Can these co-exist? In other words, can I use RouterOS for the routing/load balancing/QoS etc and leave the ISA Server to handle the firewall and VPN stuff for the LAN? I would assume that my forward rule would just 'accept all'.

Anyone have any input?

Thanks.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Thu May 29, 2008 1:35 pm

was hoping someone would be able to help me here. surely someone has done this in the past, even if it was with another firewall?
Regards
Hilton
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Thu May 29, 2008 6:55 pm

sure you can,... why.. got me. but you can.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
andreacoppini
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Malta, Europe

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Thu May 29, 2008 10:54 pm

was hoping someone would be able to help me here. surely someone has done this in the past, even if it was with another firewall?
I've done this a number of times. Client would have ISA server already, then sees the performance and flexibility of ROS and wants to put it in, but doesn't want to kill his I$A. It works fine, but ISA works best when it takes control of everything (ie. like any other MS software, it doesn't cooperate with anything else). Try to take some of the features away from ISA and you're in for a ride..
- No strings attached -

<< Please give good Karma if this post helped you. Press the + button above the Location entry
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Fri May 30, 2008 11:49 am

Thank andreacoppini for this feedback.

My understanding of ISA is that it's just a proxying firewall. Can it really do routing as well? I know it can handle VPNs etc but I thought it wouldn't be able to do stuff like load balance 2 or 3 WANs hence the need for RouterOS.

Please update me.
Regards
Hilton
 
andreacoppini
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Malta, Europe

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Fri May 30, 2008 11:57 am

My understanding of ISA is that it's just a proxying firewall. Can it really do routing as well? I know it can handle VPNs etc but I thought it wouldn't be able to do stuff like load balance 2 or 3 WANs hence the need for RouterOS.

Please update me.
I haven't used ISA recently, but ISA was never designed to be a Cisco-beater. It's primary use is for internet access control and security, so in effect it is just a caching proxy. It uses the underlying Windows Server RRAS to provide routing, VPNs, NAT. I don't believe it can load balance WANs as effectively as RouterOS can.

What you are trying to achieve should be perfectly possible, since to the ISA, the RB1000 will just be an internet connection.

Good luck.
- No strings attached -

<< Please give good Karma if this post helped you. Press the + button above the Location entry
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Fri May 30, 2008 12:06 pm

Thanks a lot!
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
fatonk
Member
Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Mitrovica/Kosova

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Fri May 30, 2008 2:35 pm

You as ISP it is better to install RB1000 before ISA, and there you can do all the QOS, Queueing, Routing, and then leave the ISA server to manage Proxying, Filtering, Cache-ing, NAT etc etc, and of course leave it as a responsibility of your client so with this you create Demarc point between RB1000 and ISA.
By the way, routing is much better in RouterOS than in ISA.

Regards.

Faton.
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Fri May 30, 2008 2:51 pm

Thanks Faton, this is exactly what I had in mind. The customer handles their own security but I do the routing and internet access.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Can RouterOS and ISA Server co-exist?

Fri May 30, 2008 6:46 pm

ISA cannot do ANY type of load balancing at all. It is very primitive in that respect. It can routing without any problem via Windows Routing and Remote Access - dont expext miracles beyond basic static routing though. Look at ISA as more of a "client and application management server" rather than packet filter type of system.
savagedavid
MTCE+T (MikroTik Certified Everything + Trainer)
MikroTik support and training in South Africa
http://www.mikrotiksa.com
david [at] mikrotiksa dot com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], raffav, sjafka and 126 guests