Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
netikelis
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:40 pm

ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:33 pm

In router os v3.10 NTP client totally not work ! I use RB133 license 4
 
QpoX
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:37 am

Try and set this:
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes mode=unicast primary-ntp=195.234.155.123 secondary-ntp=217.116.227.3

If that don't work you maybe need a firewall rule...
/ip firewall
add action=accept chain=input comment="NTP" disabled=no dst-port=123 in-interface="WAN-INTERFACE" protocol=udp
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8326
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:55 pm

well, after upgrade to 3.10, windows xp client do not want to syncronize with ROS: it says that router stratum is lower than this computer's stratum or something =(
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
dsobin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:58 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:25 pm

I have a RB133 running ROS 3.10 and my ntp client seems to be working properly. What server are you trying to reach? Do I understand correctly that your RB133 is configured as NTP client and you are trying to time-sync with a remote server?

Did you try to ping the server from the RB to make sure you can reach there?
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:39 pm

The MAJOR problem with NTP on Mikrotik is that it doesnt reply from the same IP address that the request came in from. How to fix ?

Request -> 10.20.1.1
10.0.0.62 -> Reply

The NTP router has multiple interfaces and it replies with whatever range it feels like at the moment. Please fix NTP server so that it ALWAYS uses src-address that the packet came into. There are no src-nat or redirect rules that fix this either, I've experimented with all kinds of rules and none of them work. The src-nat doesnt even fire at all for some reason.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: antiqued4, Bing [Bot], Filament, Google [Bot], metuus, pe1chl, sindy and 87 guests