Page 1 of 1

ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:33 pm
by netikelis
In router os v3.10 NTP client totally not work ! I use RB133 license 4

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:37 am
by QpoX
Try and set this:
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes mode=unicast primary-ntp=195.234.155.123 secondary-ntp=217.116.227.3

If that don't work you maybe need a firewall rule...
/ip firewall
add action=accept chain=input comment="NTP" disabled=no dst-port=123 in-interface="WAN-INTERFACE" protocol=udp

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 2:55 pm
by Chupaka
well, after upgrade to 3.10, windows xp client do not want to syncronize with ROS: it says that router stratum is lower than this computer's stratum or something =(

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:25 pm
by dsobin
I have a RB133 running ROS 3.10 and my ntp client seems to be working properly. What server are you trying to reach? Do I understand correctly that your RB133 is configured as NTP client and you are trying to time-sync with a remote server?

Did you try to ping the server from the RB to make sure you can reach there?

Re: ROS 3.10 NTP client not work

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:39 pm
by changeip
The MAJOR problem with NTP on Mikrotik is that it doesnt reply from the same IP address that the request came in from. How to fix ?

Request -> 10.20.1.1
10.0.0.62 -> Reply

The NTP router has multiple interfaces and it replies with whatever range it feels like at the moment. Please fix NTP server so that it ALWAYS uses src-address that the packet came into. There are no src-nat or redirect rules that fix this either, I've experimented with all kinds of rules and none of them work. The src-nat doesnt even fire at all for some reason.