Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
bino
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:44 pm

Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Fri Jun 06, 2008 6:25 am

Dear All ..
I have a board with multi port GBE that come with "LAN By Pass" modes via a jumper.
The controller is Intel

I already installed RouterOS on this board .. and all interface displayed correctly.

My question : Is RouterOS support for "LAN By Pass" Mode ?
Sincerely
-bino-
CERTIFIED CI$CO HATER
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:14 am

Isn't that like a hardware feature?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8320
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:49 pm

The bypass feature can be controlled by software, or by a watchdog timer configurable for 1-63 second operation, according to the company.
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:29 pm

Our Carrier-Class PowerRouters have two ports with lan by-pass in them!
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:55 pm

But the by-pass-functionality will probably not be enabled or controlled by software.
What MIGHT work is that the by-pass mode is active when the unit is physically switched off (no power).

But what would be nice (and I have asked MikroTik for this probably years ago) would be using the watchdog feature of those cards. I.e. IF RouterOS should ever hang and NOT reboot itself (which happens rarely, but happens) the network interfaces would be switched to bypass.
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:22 pm

Hanging is a different beast and I don't think that any card etc, supports this.

In our units, its purly a hardware function. While power is supplied to the board a relay, or the likes, keeps the two ports open. I.e. unconnected. During a power failure, or other power loss, the relay would loose power, causing the ports to switch closed. Hence, then they are connected.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Mon Jun 09, 2008 6:57 pm

All cards I have in the shelf here do provide the ability to operate in "software-watchdog" mode:

I.e. you configure them for startup, they go to "non-bypass-mode". The stay in that mode as long as the wathcdog trigger software does give the card a "I'm still alive" signal every few seconds (configurable). If this heartbeat is not getting to the card anymore (kernel panic, for example), the card will go to bypass mode automatically.
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:20 pm

All cards I have in the shelf here do provide the ability to operate in "software-watchdog" mode:

I.e. you configure them for startup, they go to "non-bypass-mode". The stay in that mode as long as the wathcdog trigger software does give the card a "I'm still alive" signal every few seconds (configurable). If this heartbeat is not getting to the card anymore (kernel panic, for example), the card will go to bypass mode automatically.
its would be an awesome feature with to work with some border mikrotiks that act as a traffic shaper like a (man in the middle betwen , Upstream provider and the border / core switch or router)
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:49 pm

How does that work when they loose power?
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:53 pm

our toplayer box does this. basically a relay that just drops all 8 pins to 8 pins on the rj45. It should be able to deactivate that relay based on watchdog or power loss.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:57 pm

Like I said, the PowerRouter 732 does this without issues, it is a hardware feature, not software. So if power loss does occur, it does directly connect the pins. On the PCI cards, that offer this "software watchdog", thats great, but what happens if it looses power..
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Support for Board with "LAN By Pass" Feature

Thu Jun 12, 2008 10:36 am

Dennis,

of course those PCI cards do THE SAME when power is lost - the activate the by-pass. It's just an ADDITIONAL feature to activate the by-pass if power is still there but the watchdog "ping" from the software is lost...
Best regards,
Christian Meis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 90 guests