Page 1 of 1

mikrotik-router and Dlink-router with connection problems

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:09 am
by bluenobbe
My Hardeware:

Mikrotik Router Version 2.8.26 with Atheros miniPci Card Atheros AR5212 PCI as AP
D-Link DWL 900AP+ as Client

The Atheros Card is with these values Configured

name="wlan1-ppp" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0B:6B:33:65:D6 arp=enabled
disable-running-check=no interface-type=Atheros AR5213
radio-name="000B6B3365D6" mode=ap-bridge ssid="tanisien" frequency=2437
band=2.4ghz-b scan-list=default-ism rate-set=configured
supported-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps supported-rates-a/g=""
basic-rates-b=1Mbps basic-rates-a/g="" max-station-count=20
ack-timeout=dynamic tx-power=default noise-floor-threshold=default
periodic-calibration=default burst-time=disabled fast-frames=no
dfs-mode=none antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=disabled
wds-default-bridge=none wds-ignore-ssid=no
update-stats-interval=disabled default-authentication=yes
default-forwarding=yes hide-ssid=no 802.1x-mode=none
disconnect-timeout=3s on-fail-retry-time=100ms

and the D-Link is configured as Client
and the performence value ar set to default.
expect the Transfer Rate is set to 1-2-5,5-11 and the Antenne Mode to External antenne

The case is when no traffic goes over the Clinet the signal straingth is about -66 to -70 but when traffic caused by the user the signal straingth goes to -95 and sometimes the client disconnects and connects again
here a log file:

TIME MESSAGE
mar/22/2005 08:53:24 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA connected
mar/22/2005 08:53:48 wlan1-ppp: lost node, excessive data retries,
00:11:95:51:31:BA >
mar/22/2005 08:53:48 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA disconnected
mar/22/2005 08:53:48 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA connected
mar/22/2005 08:54:12 wlan1-ppp: lost node, excessive data retries,
00:11:95:51:31:BA >
mar/22/2005 08:54:12 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA disconnected
mar/22/20?a8:54:12 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA connected
mar/22/2005 08:54:36 wlan1-ppp: lost node, excessive data retries,
00:11:95:51:31:BA >
mar/22/2005 08:54:36 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA disconnected
mar/22/2005 08:54:36 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA connected
mar/22/2005 08:55:00 wlan1-ppp: lost node, excessive data retries,
00:11:95:51:31:BA >
mar/22/2005 08:55:00 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA disconnected
mar/22/2005 08:55:01 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA connected
mar/22/2005 08:55:25 wlan1-ppp: lost node, excessive data retries,
00:11:95:51:31:BA >
mar/22/2005 08:55:25 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA disconnected
mar/22/2005 08:55:26 wlan1-ppp: 00:11:95:51:31:BA connected
mar/22/2005 08:55:50 wlan1-ppp: lost node, excessive data retries

can somebody help me?

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:35 am
by wildbill442
When that client is associated do you see their data rates changing frequently? When I say data rates I'm refering to the Tx/Rx Rates which you can view in the registration-table.

Is it jumping from 11mbps / 5mbps / 2mbps ..?

If so try lowering your supported-rates until the user has a stable connection. That should keep the connection from dropping.

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:44 am
by bluenobbe
When that client is associated do you see their data rates changing frequently? When I say data rates I'm refering to the Tx/Rx Rates which you can view in the registration-table.

Is it jumping from 11mbps / 5mbps / 2mbps ..?

If so try lowering your supported-rates until the user has a stable connection. That should keep the connection from dropping.
No the rates are stable only the signal straingth jumps to -95

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 11:48 am
by wildbill442
how long is the link? do you have clear line of sight? is the freznel zone clear..... are there any other physical layer problems that could be occuring (loose connectors, water in amp/cable/antennae)?

Also I saw your max station count is set to 20.. are there less than 20 subs on this AP?

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 1:05 pm
by bluenobbe
how long is the link? do you have clear line of sight? is the freznel zone clear..... are there any other physical layer problems that could be occuring (loose connectors, water in amp/cable/antennae)?

Also I saw your max station count is set to 20.. are there less than 20 subs on this AP?
the links are between 200m and 600m and i have clear line of sight.

i have only 8 D-Link Routers (Clients)

I think it is not a hardware problem because all stations(clients) have the same symptoms

Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:34 pm
by smarag
Hello,

Precisely the same equipment I have also i with 12 dlink dwl-900ap
Clients and me it makes precisely himself the problems mine clients
they is in the beam of 200m - 500m.


Stavros

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 7:58 pm
by bluenobbe
The Mac adrress on my Mikotik Router in the registration Table shows me only the MAC Adress from the D-link LAN interface. it is a little bit amusingly...
on that I would have expected the Mac-Adress form the Wireless interface...

Is that a problem form Mikrotik or from D-Link???

Has nobody an idea??

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:33 pm
by smarag
have also I the same problems so that is cut the communication
continuity with the customer dlink, if I put with the same aerial a
same Dlink for access point it functions regularly without problems
other i I want to work with the Mikrotik.

Exist does case problem or MiniPci Atheros?

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:44 pm
by wirdo
well, what can i say... just put these 900ap+'es in the trash and buy something else. we had vary bad experience with these like 2 years ago. will never try them again.

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:01 am
by smarag
they is not solution this however right they is finds solution to function because when you have a network somebodies do not have which disposal neither the money in order to they put something who good whenever it should is found solution.

Dlink

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:32 am
by markon
:P We had nothing but trouble using Dlink for Clients not only with Mikrotik but with 4 other WIFI systems, encluding a Dlink AP. We upgraded every one to the lastest FIRMWARE, SENT TELEX after TELEX to Japan. Finally I gave up.

The only way we got Dlink's to work somewhat was to turn off the Fast Frames on MikroTik, and to set the beacon time to "INDOOR". Then they will work. Also, to use the Dlink Connection Wizard, you have to send out your SSID. Hidden SSID will not work with Dlink's wizard.

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:40 am
by wildbill442
bottom line, Dlink is not ISP grade equipment.

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 9:47 am
by smarag
exist does case it doesn't collaborate rightly the dlink with minipci
atheros?

I have prism 802.11b you say him I try?

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 4:35 pm
by smarag
I the problem to me him I corrected I removed the Atheros card and put
a Prism and now function regularly without problems

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 1:39 pm
by advantz
prism as ap, agere as client = best setup for 802.11b

Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:14 pm
by isptlan
I have the same problem with DLINK 900AP+, but I am using PRISM 2.5 cards. DLINK as client.
Distance 5 km, 2x 24dBi antennas, when work PRISM-PRISM signal is around -65db (max. power), but when I connect DLINK as client I have signal -100 with the same antennas :(