Community discussions

 
nesta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:30 pm

Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:41 pm

Hi everybody

I have several problems with my servers running RouterOS 3.X, they work ok for a while but suddenly stops working and i can't access to them anymore. There is not network access, there is not console access even there is not video, I need to restart it by hand to get them working again, obviously I couldn't generate an autosupot.rif file to send it by email.

It is so frustrating I have this servers runnins as HotSpot Gateway in a production environment with about 500 users each one, so ever time they hangs my Internet service is down.

My configuration is as following:

1) HP PC Pentium IV, 512 MB RAM, IDE HD, 2 REALTEK NIC Cards RTL-8139 Family
2) ACER PC Pentium Celeron, 1 GB RAM, SATA HD, 2 REALTELK NIC Cards RTL-8139 Family, 1 Realtek RTL8211B NIC (this is not recognized by kernell)

The issue appears randomly and I could't identify it.

Any tip wil be helpfull.
Thanks in advance.
 
bokad
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:34 pm

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:11 pm

I had the same problem. Downgraded to 2.9.51 and all is fine.
 
nesta
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 2:30 pm

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:34 pm

Hi Bokad

What about the interface in Winbox, there is new features in 3.X version (Filters, "FIND" search tool, etc) or the IPV6 support ?

Do you know if they are available on 2.9.51 version ?

Thanks and Regards
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:41 pm

they are not. Would recommend instead of buying a non-tested server, get a tested x86 system. If the RB1000 will work for you, go for it.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:33 am

My server works great. Supermicro MB It's all about the hardware. ROS 3.x does have different behaviour than 2.9x on same hardware too I have seen....

Scott
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:56 pm

This is one of the reasons a lot of people get discouraged on Mikrotik. Knowing what server hardware will run RouterOS perfectly is sometimes a challenge. I have had people call me up, cussing me out, cause Mikrotik RouterOS keeps stopping on their core server. I start to ask about the server, and he told me the specs. I then asked him where he got the machine from, and he told me "Well, I used it until Windows 98 started to run slow on it, so then I made it into a Mikrotik" !!!!!!!!!!!

So, the machine was several years old to begin with, and then even though it was running routerOS fine for the most part, the complained the RouterOS was not reliable cause his power supplies would go out all the time, course, he also replaced it with the cheapest, biggest POS power supply he could get, sometimes even used ones!

As you said, its ALL about the hardware. That's why we created the PowerRouters. You don't have to worry about the hardware, just like RouterBoards, you know they will run RouterOS just fine, no worries. Same difference, just bigger badder, faster etc.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
bokad
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:34 pm

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:36 pm

In my case it is one of your power routers that locks up.
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:29 am

:o :shock:
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:49 am

:o :shock:
2
 
rodrigobaliza
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:44 am

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:43 pm

it has been a really nightmare for me this issue. after upgrade my mkt from 2.9.51 to 3.10 (in a x86 system) it crashes randonly and i always have to restart it. lots of tests and nothing. i am thinking to downgrade the system...
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Thu Jul 17, 2008 2:40 pm

i have same problem on 3.11 . but it just hangs randomly when i work on configurations with winbox/console/dude etc. but when no configuration change it work good as it to be. now i change configs with scare :shock:
 
joopkenya
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:49 am

Re: Servers Running Routeros 3.X Hangs in a Randomly Basis ?

Mon Aug 18, 2008 9:25 am

I have the same problem where the router hangs randomely. I made an upgrade to 3.x. I would just like to confirm from the experts that if i do a downgrade all will be fine. Is there any other solution to my problem besides downgrading? Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 78 guests