Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Feature request - multiple Winbox Loader versions

Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:18 pm

Alraedy requested this long time ago, never heard from it again but several new winbox version passed now without such possiblity:

Option to have several versions of Winbox loader side by side in Windows (or Linux?).

In stead of having the need to fill all my IP's in one loader version (or get them from any other source and fill them manually) it would be nice to have several different version of winbox side by side.

I could then for instance have a winbox loader with only my AP's or routers in. And another with clients (CPE's) Or when the network becomes really big, I can make several loader versions, each for each IP network.

rudy
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
msorensen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:47 pm
Location: California

Re: Feature request - multiple Winbox Loader versions

Fri Jun 20, 2008 9:07 pm

Or...... be able to select different saved device lists to segregate the different groups.


Along these lines, it would be great if an IP address sort of the WinBox Device List would actually sort in IP order.

Today it performs an Alpha sort rather than a sort by IP address.

As an example... Today this is how WinBox sorts IP Addresses in the list
10.1.1.1
10.1.1.199
10.1.1.2

When it should sort in IP order:
10.1.1.1
10.1.1.2
10.1.1.199
.....
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Feature request - multiple Winbox Loader versions

Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:42 am

I just have folders with shortcuts that conect to whatever ap I want :-)

ust put IP, user & pass in command line
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Feature request - multiple Winbox Loader versions

Sat Jun 21, 2008 11:48 am

I just have folders with shortcuts that conect to whatever ap I want :-)

ust put IP, user & pass in command line

Can you explain how to do that? As far as I experienced all variable date is stored in the .exe file. So whatever list you have it comes up when you start winbox. I even tried to start winbox from different folders but the result was the same.... every time the same version with the same list came up.

The only other way is to export (and delete from local) and import a file with the data each time. A bit of a roundabout way of working.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Feature request - multiple Winbox Loader versions

Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:04 pm

C:\winbox.exe x.x.x.x admin mypassword

:-)
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Feature request - multiple Winbox Loader versions

Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:07 pm

Can you explain how to do that? As far as I experienced all variable date is stored in the .exe file. So whatever list you have it comes up when you start winbox. I even tried to start winbox from different folders but the result was the same.... every time the same version with the same list came up.

The only other way is to export (and delete from local) and import a file with the data each time. A bit of a roundabout way of working.
hmmm... all settings are saved in C:\Documents and Settings\<User>\Application Data\Mikrotik\Winbox\winbox.cfg ;)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 88 guests