Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
WillowBee
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:02 am
Location: South Africa

Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:34 am

I don't have my PoE injector connected to a UPS and we tend to have frequent power failures.

Already while testing my new setup, I have noted that after setting the time and shutting down the CPE to unplug the PoE, the time set in WinBox is lost. Thus the next time I open up the Log I see Jan/1970 timestamps again! (Bridge not yet fully in production 24/7 use)

I have studied the RouterBoard circuit diagram and there appears to be no battery backup like on a PC motherboard (BIOS settings).

Can I synchronise the RouterBoard time with an atomic clock of sorts? i.e. point the RouterBoard to a time keeping service?

*Edit* Typo's fixed
Wireless Bridge consisting of: 2x Poynting WLAN-A0044 19dBi IP65 CPE's | 2x RouterBoard 411's L3 | 2x RouterBoard R52 MPCI's | ROS 4.11 | Level 3 licenses
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:39 am

the only thing you can do is make it synchronize from a GPS or from a NTP server (time.nist.gov, for example, is a free server you can use)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
WillowBee
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:02 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:16 am

To update for any South African users:

Time Servers in ZA can be found here but note you can only link to a "Stratum-2 Server". I found ntp.is.za to have public access and my RouterBoard is being updated every 64s.
[admin@MikroTik] /system ntp client> print
        enabled: yes
           mode: broadcast
    primary-ntp: 196.4.160.4
  secondary-ntp: 0.0.0.0
Not sure if "broadcast" mode stresses the hell out of the RouterBoard? Things became very slow all of a sudden - I mean really SLOW. :? (Hope it's this and not my ROS upgrade from 3.6 -> 3.11)

Updated:
[admin@MikroTik] /system ntp client> print
             enabled: yes
                mode: unicast
         primary-ntp: 196.4.160.4
       secondary-ntp: 196.2.45.66
       poll-interval: 2m8s
       active-server: 196.2.45.66
    last-update-from: 196.2.45.66
  last-update-before: 43s470ms
     last-adjustment: -12ms147us
Polling interval seems to adjust itself - now at 256s.
Wireless Bridge consisting of: 2x Poynting WLAN-A0044 19dBi IP65 CPE's | 2x RouterBoard 411's L3 | 2x RouterBoard R52 MPCI's | ROS 4.11 | Level 3 licenses
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Sat Jul 19, 2008 12:30 am

I'm in Jozi and these work perfectly;

mode: unicast
primary-ntp: 196.4.160.4 (IS)
secondary-ntp: 196.31.48.139 (UUNET)
Regards
Hilton
 
Tanker
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:46 am

Re: Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:52 am

I'm in the sticks and these also work fine:-


Unicast
P:146.64.24.58
S:196.26.5.8

Hilton - we've seen erratic behaviour on that IS one the last 2 weeks or so... just an idle observation.
We have a LOT of BSS / Clients and I don't want them "hunting" an address that doesn't work.
But - I'm known to be be "overengineeredpedantic.. :)

T
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:27 pm

when in doubt, just visit;

http://www.time.za.net/

On principle, I won't use MWEB's NTP server.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
WillowBee
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:02 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Time keeping in the event of a power failure

Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:24 am

Sup guys, thanks for the replies. My NTP has gone dead and I cannot trace my steps. I also deleted all my config backups under System > Files in favour of keeping only the latest backup. When it was working, my ADSL router had DHCP server turned on and my whole network was getting IP's from the pool. Then I started to get small IP errors and reserved IP's went haywire. I eventually disabled DHCP Server and put my whole network on static IP's. Then I came to notice that NTP was no longer working.

I can see that the RouterBoards are trying to poll the Primary NTP and Secondary NTP every 16s but get no connection.

Can anyone tell me what NTP is reliant on? Also, if my ADSL router is using its own NTP, can I set each RouterBoard to get the time from the ADSL router?
Wireless Bridge consisting of: 2x Poynting WLAN-A0044 19dBi IP65 CPE's | 2x RouterBoard 411's L3 | 2x RouterBoard R52 MPCI's | ROS 4.11 | Level 3 licenses

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 91 guests