Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

RB192, block between ethernet ports

Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:02 am

Hello,
I have a RB192 which I bought to use at a commercial building with 8 suites. My intention was to plug the internet connection into ether1, and have ether 2-9 each hand out IP addresses and do NAT for each suite.

The main reason for going with the 192 was because I wanted to keep each suite from accessing the other suite's computers. Now I'm sure it's possible, but can anyone tell me what I'm missing??

Each port has it's own DHCP server running, and I can plug into any port and get online fine, but I can still ping the other ethernet ports and devices behind them.... basically it's just being a router, they way a router should be, but that isn't my intention....

Any help would be welcomed!!

Thanks,
Joe
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24424
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Wed Jul 30, 2008 9:33 am

you can use firewall to stop access from one network to other networks.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Wed Jul 30, 2008 4:12 pm

Yes, that's what I was trying to do, but even after looking through the documentation and wiki, I haven't quite figured out how to do it. Can you give me an example?

Thanks
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:10 am

Anyone?
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 01, 2008 11:15 am

Joe I was also under the impression that each interface was physically separate from each other, hence the need to add them to a bridge if you wanted a 'switch'.

All I can say is perhaps run a VLAN on each interface then, this will sort out your security issues.
Regards
Hilton
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:16 pm

The problem isn't so much that it's acting like a switch... The problem is that port 1 is say 10.10.0.x/24, and port 2 is 10.10.1.x/24. It is simply routing between the two. I only want each port to be able to go out the port I have configured as the WAN port. Wish there was a way I could just disable routing and let it still NAT through the wan port.
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:15 pm

drop in ether1 out ether2
drop in ether1 out ether3
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:51 pm

So you're saying that I have to create 8 rules for each port (64 rules) just to isolate the ports? Any easier way?
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 01, 2008 9:08 pm

I would have to put in one rule per port. its still a drop rule.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
paulchops
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:33 pm

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Sun Aug 03, 2008 8:23 am

Here ya go... this should do it..

/ip firewall filter
add action=drop chain=forward comment="" disabled=yes out-interface=!ether1 \
src-address=10.10.0.0/16

Paul, PDMNet
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8346
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:50 pm

in-interfale=!ether1 out-interface=!ether1 action=reject
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB192, block between ethernet ports

Fri Aug 29, 2008 3:34 am

in-interfale=!ether1 out-interface=!ether1 action=reject
That seems to have worked perfect.

Thanks!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: oskarsk, paulct and 49 guests