Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Help !!!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:26 am

Dear all,
I'm using Mikrotik server to help me controlling :lol: my network and all seems fine, but in the last few days some one from my customers try to get mikrotik server IP address and he success on that so there is no internet on the other customers and i gone to crazy in that situation.
my customers take their IP address by DHCP server installed on the same server, but this bad customer don't get his IP address from the same place, but he try to put it with himself.
Please dear help me to overcome that situation.
8)
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Help !!!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:36 am

Use PPPoE
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:10 pm

why i use pppoe ???
i want to use Hotspot, it is more secure and more reliable.
Also i want to tell you that when that customer do that the DHCP server still work, but you can't reach the server even through winbox or from telnet, also i can't reach my status page on mikrotik server.
:?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8324
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Help !!!

Sat Aug 09, 2008 11:51 pm

but you can't reach the server even through winbox or from telnet
use MAC-WinBox
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:00 am

thanks man, but i want you to show me how can i use yours ...
 
NickOlsen
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Help !!!

Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:51 am

Just open winbox, and hit the little ... next to the ip
It should find the mikrotik box, then connect to it by MAC address NOT ip address.
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Tue Aug 12, 2008 3:12 am

Thanks, but i really try it, with nothing happens.
but i want to tell you that how can i disconnect that customer from my network at all.
Please help me
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Help !!!

Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am

You can't do that unless you use PPPoE. It has been discussed many many times.
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:25 pm

ok, now i convert my network to pppoe server
please tell me what i do
:lol:
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Help !!!

Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:15 am

It is all in the manual. If you have a specific question ask.
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:22 am

O.K, i want to remember you that, i want to prevent my customers from taking server's IP address.
that stops my server
Please help
:lol:
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Help !!!

Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:35 pm

you have to create pppoe

here is the link to the manual on how to set up pppoe:
http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/3.0/vpn/pppoe.php


if you refuse to learn from manual then the other choice is to contact our consultants and pay for the job, here is link to our consultant list:
http://www.mikrotik.com/consultants.html
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Sat Aug 16, 2008 2:54 am

thanks a lot, but i want to ask you about the server's ip address that one of mu customers take.
so the server is hanging and their is no internet at all :lol:
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Help !!!

Sat Aug 16, 2008 5:33 am

Is there a question here?
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Sun Aug 17, 2008 4:06 am

Yes of course, i want to ask how can i prevent my customers from taking my server's ip address.
please help
it is urgent :lol:
 
NickOlsen
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Help !!!

Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:15 am

Use PPPoE, like they have stated 5 times already.
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:55 am

thanks my friends,
but i want to ask what is the best way to setup my pppoe connections on my MT server ???
also i tried to setup it, but my website built in my MT server, can't be log in and the web which appeares is containing username and password to config the MT server as an administrator
:shock:
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Help !!!

Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:27 am

You need to hire a consultant or read the manual. This topic really needs to be locked.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24361
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Help !!!

Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:10 am

Pepo, jwcn is right, you have to attend a training in your area. check http://training.mikrotik.com
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Pepo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 1:34 am

Re: Help !!!

Sat Aug 23, 2008 8:26 am

Thanks mr. normis,
i check the site you send it for me, but i want to tell you that i'm from egypt and no training available their.
Please help me. :lol:
 
NickOlsen
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:30 pm

Re: Help !!!

Sat Aug 23, 2008 10:08 am

You need to hire a consultant or read the manual. This topic really needs to be locked.
All the help you need is in the Manual, if you cant understand it, hire a consultant.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bpwl, jvanhambelgium, mbovenka, szt and 130 guests