Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:58 pm

Hi guys,

I just updated to latest version of 3.12 and system fully freezes and keyboard doesn't respond.
I have left with almost 150 users shouting at me.

Any help is appreciated on what to do with this.

we're running level 5 license on x86 intel Pentium 4 HT cpu with 256Memory.


EDIT: I LITERALLY HATE MIKROTIK NOW... I JUST SET TO RE-INSTALLED WITH CD-ROM, IT ASKED TO SAVE CONFIG? YES... DELETED ALL OF MY SETTINGS AND USER RECORD

Thanks
Last edited by Hellbound on Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
SmalleR
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:49 pm

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:45 pm

Hi guys,

I just updated to latest version of 3.12 and system fully freezes and keyboard doesn't respond.
I have left with almost 150 users shouting at me.

Any help is appreciated on what to do with this.

we're running level 5 license on x86 intel Pentium 4 HT cpu with 256Memory.


Thanks
Try it:
- disable users access
- system hardware set multicpu=no
- reboot
- enable users access
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Tue Aug 12, 2008 9:49 pm

Try it:
- disable users access
- system hardware set multicpu=no
- reboot
- enable users access

Thanks for the reply.

I didn't get exactly how to disable users access ? like disable hotspot?
 
digus
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:47 pm
Contact:

Re: upgraded to 3.12 have full freeze / lockup right after boot

Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:32 pm

Same problem here. Router locks up hard on boot after upgrade to 3.12. Have power cycled several times and tried changing bios settings (Glad it's not just me). I hear the 2 beeps after boot and it takes my username, then just locks up every time. It's not pingable or anything. Intel P4 2.6Ghz single core (1M Cache) / 512MB RAM / Intel board.

What can we do? I'm going to really freak out if I lose my config! This is the replacement router for a 250+ user apartment complex and I just got everything working properly. Please Help!
 
goofy
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:01 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:08 am

I have same problem on 3.12. now I try Reinstall 3.12 (all clean instal format etc.)

reconfigure everything and 3-4 reboot later same freeze. This is big bug, I think.

I suspicion SSH connection. becouse when I install SSH key and connect with ssh system is crushed.

When will you fix it?
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:25 am

Lol, here is a hint from my many years of experience in the Telco and Enterprise sector. Never apply new firmware builds to a production environment without doing your own testing! and thats not just for Mikrotik it applies to all critical IT infrastructure.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
derwert
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 3:52 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:40 am

Also always make backups BEFORE you upgrade.
 
digus
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:47 pm
Contact:

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:25 am

Yes, yes, agreed - those are great rules to live by but it still does not change the fact that MT may have just introduced one of the biggest bugs in their history. The fault here lies (mainly) with MT - IMO.

Not following proper upgrade protocol doesn't change the fact that MT widely distributed a horrendously faulty and completely broken update. We updated like we always do and this box is completely hosed now. This absolutely should have been tested by MT - PERIOD. I believe this does give us some right to vent.

BTW, this was a replacement box (not live - but supposed to go live tomorrow morning - thank god it wasn't). So, I wasn't applying in a production environment (this time). This will just delay our deployment deadline by a few days, cost us valuable time and further agitate the customer(s). I guess it could always be worse though.

This has me very hesitant to apply an upgrade to a pre-configured MT box ever again, which makes me very sad. I feel like we are now approaching the M$ update model. I have been known, once in a while, to upgrade a live production box in a pinch - never again! BTW2, not everyone has the time or money for a lab environment (e.g. people that buy extremely inexpensive routing software like MT). Luckily, we usually do. I guess we're just so spoiled because all of the previous upgrades have gone so flawlessly.

I sincerely wish the best of luck to all affected by this. Good Luck!
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:38 am

I know you might say where is your backup? I was so desperate and frustrated with Mikrotik halts that I totally forgot about that. that is my mistake as well. however I have a bit of a old backup, before one full day of work which I have redo again.

I was just wondering if they actually test a new version or if there is any beta stage for a introduced version? there is no guarantee if these things happen or not when you upgrade, but mikrotik support will not answer if you're not on latest version (which may be a total disaster like this case)
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 7:27 am

I guess they test but cannot test on every hardware in the world.

I normally wait a few days before upgrade on anything, a few montsh before a core router upgrade.

I have my days of hating the routerOS but at the end of the day is is still the best for me :-)
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1723
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:20 am

Guys - what configuration did you have on those routers??? Maybe it is related to specific configuration (user-manager, dude ,etc) - I for instance have no problems so far with upgrading
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:24 am

before the upgrade what packages you had? Did you have Xen package installed?
What packages you used for upgading?
 
goofy
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:01 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:11 am

today I install clean and keep old config.
MT seem workin good.(I used 5-10 min. under 70mbit traffic) When I install ssh-key and connect with ssh then MT crushed.

hardware info

Gigabyte Board ( g33 )
Q6600 CPU
1 GB DDR2 800 Kingston RAM
2 Allied Ethernet
80 GB SATA2 HDD

But I have backup 3.11. I'm going downgrade 3.11, will wait new version.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8320
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:13 am

Did you have Xen package installed?
yeah! Xen package is evil! you can install it, but you cannot uninstall! if you remove Xen, the router still shows "Loading system with XEN", not "... with initrd". so I had to downgrade to 3.10 and then upgrade back to 3.11 w/o Xen =(
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
goofy
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:01 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:21 am

I didnt install xen pack.

just routerboard security usermanager dude, IPv6
 
User avatar
skillful
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Abuja, Nigeria
Contact:

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:23 am

Same problem here. I had to reinstall ver 3.11 from CD and revert from old backup.

Packages installed are:
/system package> pr
# NAME VERSION SCHEDULED
0 system 3.11
1 xen 3.11
2 wireless 3.11
3 user-manager 3.11
4 synchronous 3.11
5 security 3.11
6 routing 3.11
7 routerboard 3.11
8 radiolan 3.11
9 ppp 3.11
10 ntp 3.11
11 multicast 3.11
12 mpls 3.11
13 lcd 3.11
14 ipv6 3.11
15 hotspot 3.11
16 dhcp 3.11
17 calea 3.11
18 arlan 3.11
19 advanced-tools 3.11

/system resource> pr
uptime: 9h34m24s
version: "3.11"
free-memory: 133056kB
total-memory: 215572kB
cpu: "Intel(R)"
cpu-count: 2
cpu-frequency: 2992MHz
cpu-load: 0
free-hdd-space: 79956kB
total-hdd-space: 123951kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 34840
write-sect-total: 42259034
architecture-name: "x86"
board-name: "x86"

I used the all_packages-x86-3.12.zip package
 
SmalleR
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:49 pm

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:33 pm

With multicpu=no option I have no problem.
With multicpu=yes option RouterOS freeze after some pptp clients connections.
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:58 pm

With multicpu=no option I have no problem.
With multicpu=yes option RouterOS freeze after some pptp clients connections.
exactly, we have more than 300 pptp and many users killing me
 
static-x
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 4:27 pm

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:56 pm

3.12 RUINED MY LIFE!!!

Router just dies after 3.12 install.
In my case mutli cpu is not the cause.

I have got 3.11 working for some time.
I upgraded it to 3.12 BANG router goes Bye Bye

I reinstalled 3.12 formatting everytHing. I setup everything EXCEPT some simple Queues.
Working without problem for about 8 hours.
Later I just adD 1 simple queue!

BANG Router gone again. No response!

This time setup was painful, really really painful because it's day time all my customer shouting at me. And my BGP session refuses to go online!

THANK YOU MIKROTIK! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
YOU RUINED MY BEAUTIFUL DAY WITH YOUR UNTESTED BUGGY UPDATE!
THANK YOU!
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3427
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Wed Aug 13, 2008 3:47 pm

 
dnns
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2008 4:16 pm

Re: upgraded to 3.12 and have full freeze right after boot

Sat Oct 04, 2008 4:23 pm

Did you have Xen package installed?
yeah! Xen package is evil! you can install it, but you cannot uninstall! if you remove Xen, the router still shows "Loading system with XEN", not "... with initrd". so I had to downgrade to 3.10 and then upgrade back to 3.11 w/o Xen =(
After uninstalling the Xen package and doing a "/system hardware set multi-cpu=yes", the router didn't boot the Xen kernel anymore.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 68 guests