Page 1 of 1

PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:45 am
by Equis
Hello

Has anyone tried pcq on 3.12?

I alwasy thought pqc was perfect anyway (when setup correctly)

What changes were made?

Can someone be more specific other than what is in the changelog?

Thanks :-)

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:00 am
by omidkosari
Yes . more details on changelog seems good.

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:07 am
by Chupaka
or detailed release notes in addition to chandelog =)

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 4:37 pm
by omega-00
+1

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:11 pm
by npbrasil
Yes, a bit more detail would be very welcomed! Hello mikrotik team, a bit more detail here, please!!

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:06 am
by karo84
I have installed 3.12 on PIII, with minimal packages (System, PPP, DHCP, Wireless)
I have tested PPPOE and PPTP, BRIDGE.
Everything was well,
BUT....
simple queue did not work even for a second, and when I tried to create a queue-type (pcq)
I lost My Router, (Router Crashed 3.12)

So We have to wait for the next version. :)

Thanks, With The Best Regards
Karapet Aznavuryan

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:03 am
by macgaiver
just before the upgrade use:
/system harware set multi-cpu=no
and all problems are gone.

+1 to the PCQ question!

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:11 am
by janisk
so there where some changes done to PCQ
  • 1) it will better balance between users with different traffic (small vs big packets)

    2) it will balance better on high speed links. (useful for core routers)

Re: PCQ Changes in 3.12

Posted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:05 pm
by omega-00
thank you janisk, is interesting to know exactly what is being done :-)