Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:53 am

Can be RouterOs 3.x guest on a VM host?
I'm runing a routeros 3.x on a x86 400mhz and I would like to move it to a bigger machine that would be used for storage.

My RouterOs will be run corretly, slow, or faster on the new Virtualized Machine?
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:01 am

Can be RouterOs 3.x guest on a VM host?
I'm runing a routeros 3.x on a x86 400mhz and I would like to move it to a bigger machine that would be used for storage.

My RouterOs will be run corretly, slow, or faster on the new Virtualized Machine?
I'm reading -> http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualization

I want to tell , that media wiki is missconfigured, the search form gives no results, the cron indexing is failing or something
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:33 am

I have run multiple copies of it on Xen with no performance issues.
 
User avatar
winxp2000
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: China
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:57 am

I think the host meaning is using ROS in a VM ware software condition.

I make a VM to install ROS 3.XX version, it work normal.

The VM version is VM workstation 6.XX.
 
invader zog
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:08 am

I've thought about running RouterOS in a VM a few times. How could you configure the host machine's network settings so that it wasn't exposed... (i.e. I'm used to using bridged mode where both the host and virtual adapters are on the same network)...
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:41 pm

if you want to make your host system fully unexposed - add more network cards and use them exclusively on quest (child) systems. And as host must be minimalistic, set that hosts services are running only on interfaces dedicated for host.

in most cases - this is vitualisation, so, as a result it will be slower that simple routeros installation, but if you have powerful hardware, why not to use it if your configuration needs it.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Sep 19, 2008 10:17 pm

Can routeros share files ( samba ) without using a vm?
Isn't there a file sharing package?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8320
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:13 pm

there's no Samba in ROS
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
ghmorris
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:14 pm
Location: Minden, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:47 am

I have run multiple copies of it on Xen with no performance issues.
It works perfectly on VMware Server as well. As usual, add adequate hardware if you want to load it down.

George
 
iam8up
Member
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:26 am

Can anyone tell me what application they found any virtualization useful for ROS?
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:51 pm

I think that running multiple instances of a virtualised VM with ros installed a single time,( by copying the files needed to create aditional virtual machines, I say), would be a breaking of the licence. Am I right, janisk ? :)

Otherwise, it works very nice, both on vmware and M$ virtual pc. Haven't tried other virtual machines. Yet.

[EDIT]
Actually, after reading http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualization it sais that MT can be a HOST for a virtual machine ?!? In the Download section of Mikrotik.com, there appears a Virtualization package(Highly experimental!) Well done. Even it is outside of the requirements of a router. IMHO, it would be better to focus on ospf and pppoe stability. My 2c....... :)
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:55 am

Can anyone tell me what application they found any virtualization useful for ROS?
Variable storage space is my #1, in case I ever need to capture lots of data for calea.

I also have an MT hotspot/userman controller as a virtual.

I've also used virtualization to play around with routerOS and making it do certain things with multiple mikrotiks.

Other people could make a virtual pptp/ipsec/vpn server, a virtual firewall to protect the other VMs on the box it's running on, any of those network centric tasks that aren't real particular about hardware.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:42 am

I'm trying to run ubuntu on a routeros machine but I can't get the correct kernel and initrd files,
Anybody knows where can I download a linux guest vm ready to run, for file sharing ( samba )?
I prefer Ubuntu Server, but anything will be useful.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:05 am

RouterOS works fine on VMserver, won't work with ESX thou due the support required for SCSI disks as far as I've seen.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:24 pm

RouterOS works fine on VMserver, won't work with ESX thou due the support required for SCSI disks as far as I've seen.
I said I'm running routeros as HOST!
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:34 pm

Relax, man. Don't shout. Chill out.
How would you like to see ubuntu or centos running on your hdtv ? or on your iphone ?!?

It's a router ! And I can't really see the point in working any mor on this from the mt stuff.
But hey ! It's their time, their money... ( and the product WE are using..... )
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8320
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:56 pm

Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
jorj
Member
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:34 pm
Location: /dev/null

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:25 pm

I sure did.
If you're talking to hellmind, I hope he will.
I am emphasizing on the bells added to one fine product. Today, even my watch has usb and plays mp3 files. It's getting too much.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:20 am

Relax, man. Don't shout. Chill out.
How would you like to see ubuntu or centos running on your hdtv ? or on your iphone ?!?

It's a router ! And I can't really see the point in working any mor on this from the mt stuff.
But hey ! It's their time, their money... ( and the product WE are using..... )
Isn't like that,

My routeros will have a lot a hardware so I will use it with virtualization
Or should I have 1 box for every solution I need?

You should virtualize yourselft baby
:lol:
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:22 am

I don't want to install centos :(
I want one debian based

And those step aren't compatible with debian distro I tried it, that's why i'm asking a little more help
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:40 pm

if you are using debian with xen enabled kernel you should install it without any problems on routeros.

install debian on normal host - install xen kernel, get files needed to boot in in routeros and off you go.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 08, 2008 8:22 pm

if you are using debian with xen enabled kernel you should install it without any problems on routeros.

install debian on normal host - install xen kernel, get files needed to boot in in routeros and off you go.
I did that but it doesn't start

It's say error but no info,


Can I do this with a demo key?
 
pekr
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 9:05 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:32 pm

RouterOS works fine on VMserver, won't work with ESX thou due the support required for SCSI disks as far as I've seen.
If it can't run under ESXi, then it sucks pretty much badly. I wonder what sense does it make to install Linux or Windows, and then VMWare Server upon it? That is the old-school and recovery nightmare. Direct thin layer as ESXi is the solution. I actually was about to try it, as I thought I could run back-up router along with our Linux web server.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:04 pm

I haven't tried with ESXi but please let me know how you go.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:00 am

RouterOS works fine on VMserver, won't work with ESX thou due the support required for SCSI disks as far as I've seen.
If it can't run under ESXi, then it sucks pretty much badly. I wonder what sense does it make to install Linux or Windows, and then VMWare Server upon it? That is the old-school and recovery nightmare. Direct thin layer as ESXi is the solution. I actually was about to try it, as I thought I could run back-up router along with our Linux web server.
you can install RouterOS, then install xen package on it and run routeros directly of your RouterOS box, so no need for any other virtualizer.
 
spirosco
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:03 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:08 am

Very nice feature the virtualization. I'm using it for a while in a couple of vpn servers without problems.
But how good it gets, it depends on how much you pull out from the combination of the hw/sw.

For example Xen gives you the capability to hide a nic from the host and passing it to a guest (called pci-hide or pci-passthrough).
This means that you have no emulation or the overhead of a bridged vif, aka maximum perfomance at least as far as concern the ethernet interfaces.

Unfortunately Mikrotik's xen doesn't recognise the pci devices that host exports to it, because you can't run (routerOS) it paravirtualized over a linux xen host (you can run it only in hvm mode).
In hvm mode you get qemu emulated devices, meaning that even if you have a beast machine, you loosing much in performance.

It would be great some day to been able to load paravirt based mikrotik over linux xen host and passthrough pci devices.
I'm i asking too much mikrotik developers? :)
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Oct 17, 2008 3:32 am

I got centos runming on routeros xen,
But I can't configure the interface for lan

I created the static virtual interface but I don't know what I need to do in centos
I tried with ifconfig on the virbr0 but I get no reply of pings
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:05 am

in centos virtual interfaces should show up as simple eth0 interface, if no other interfaces are present. And as far as i have looked - linux autoconfiguration will find that nic and configure it.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:27 pm

in centos virtual interfaces should show up as simple eth0 interface, if no other interfaces are present. And as far as i have looked - linux autoconfiguration will find that nic and configure it.
it doesn't detect eth0 :(

Bringing up loopback interface: [ OK ]
Bringing up interface eth0: ne2k-pci device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization. [FAILED]

[root@centos ~]# ifup eth0
ne2k-pci device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:42 pm

I still need assistance on this :(
Any success history is welcome
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 22, 2008 5:51 am

maybe is better not to choose router os as a vm host (yet)
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:12 am

13 Virtual mikrotik routers running on mikrotik host.
uptime: 3w1d20h53m2s
 
jsuter
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:36 am
Location: Grapeland, TX

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:00 pm

13 Virtual mikrotik routers running on mikrotik host.
uptime: 3w1d20h53m2s
Do queues work on the dom0 (host)?
Do queues work on the domU (guests)?

I tried messing with xen under 3.14, but it appeared to kill the ability to do bandwidth limits on the host machine...

Do dom0 RouterOS instances require separate licenses?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:37 pm

virtual host uses license level of the host.
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:08 pm

2 jsuter - Host Router is only HOST for other routers.

Guest routers have all type of queue (pcq, simple..), vlan aggregaion, firewall, dedicated client router..
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:48 am

Why having routeroses on the same routeros host?

Anyone tried it with centos or some nix?

I just need a file server, (I think the Store pkg isn't ready for that yet)
 
Mplsguy
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Thu Oct 23, 2008 5:18 pm

Of course this has been tried, see
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualiz ... _5.1_Image
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualiz ... CentOS_5.1

It even has link to ready made CentOS image. When network interface is configured for guest, CentOS quest finds (should find) it automatically (just like it finds any other new/changed hardware). Note that network interface type is not NE2000 or anything like that - you must have Xen frontend network driver.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:50 am

Of course this has been tried, see
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualiz ... _5.1_Image
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualiz ... CentOS_5.1

It even has link to ready made CentOS image. When network interface is configured for guest, CentOS quest finds (should find) it automatically (just like it finds any other new/changed hardware). Note that network interface type is not NE2000 or anything like that - you must have Xen frontend network driver.
My centos is working, but I can't enable the interface, where is the "how to" for that.
 
Mplsguy
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:06 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Fri Oct 24, 2008 8:59 am

HellMInd,

Provided that you have properly configured host part of interface (configured host in a way that guest should have network interface - this is described step-by-step in wiki virtualization page), you should look for solution in CentOS (make sure it detects new device/loads appropriate driver). Mikrotik does not provide CentOS configuration support. CentOS image available in wiki page does detect virtual network interfaces fine.
 
beny30
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:31 am

I tried to Virtualize RouterOS but had problems to access it, I have 3 LAN Interfaces and I could not have them in Mikrotik guest? I could not get connected with winbox or telnet.
I tried to do configuration like in the viki manual but I could not configure. Than I had problems to make most of the thing running, queues , firewall rules, mangle, webproxy...

I need to install squid to cache more files like youtube videos because with mikrotik web-proxy I can not cache youtube vidoes and I have asked through forum in they will do in in the future to add ability to cache youtube videos but no answere. Reason why I insist in cache of youtube videos is that bandwidth is to expensive here, so it will help me a llot.

I tried to install Clark ISO and other files as described but I could not do it, I don't know if

In which VM I can istall squid and get running.

And if I do this than I have problems with queues because they does not work with xen,
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:58 pm

I'd suggest starting with a good host if you want to get familiar with virtualization. Novell's been doing it longer than most linux vendors and it's getting fairly polished. Here it is in OpenSuSE 11.0.

Installation options:

Image

Virtual machines running and MT console:

Image

Modifying a virtual machine:

Image
 
beny30
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:56 pm

I have one question Can I have the interfaces that I have in host? I have three interfaces:

WAN and LAN(bridge of LAN1 and LAN2) hot to configure them in order to configure the same like masquerade, and other ruls?
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:12 pm

HellMInd,

Provided that you have properly configured host part of interface (configured host in a way that guest should have network interface - this is described step-by-step in wiki virtualization page), you should look for solution in CentOS (make sure it detects new device/loads appropriate driver). Mikrotik does not provide CentOS configuration support. CentOS image available in wiki page does detect virtual network interfaces fine.
Whe I'm using the centos image available in wiki page, and does not detec the any interface
I see one bridge interface but isn't working correctly
 
beny30
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:23 pm

I can make Router OS but after I can not connect to it, I would like to have the same interfaces line in Router Host, also in Router Guest in order to copy my current configuration in Guest, and to run. I also plan to install a linux system and than put squid on it to make it web proxy for my clients but till I will have any help how to configure interfaces I must wait!!!!!!!!

And one question for jp if the virtual mashines run but itself if power goes off and on and came back, or will need to start them like in VMware Workstation?
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:39 am

I can make Router OS but after I can not connect to it, I would like to have the same interfaces line in Router Host, also in Router Guest in order to copy my current configuration in Guest, and to run. I also plan to install a linux system and than put squid on it to make it web proxy for my clients but till I will have any help how to configure interfaces I must wait!!!!!!!!

And one question for jp if the virtual mashines run but itself if power goes off and on and came back, or will need to start them like in VMware Workstation?
Depends on whether you have the XEN manager enabled for the runlevel 5. I'm not worried about power going out. We have UPSs, diesel gen, and good power at my datacenter building. I've got some old machines with >1000 day uptime.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Nov 08, 2008 10:49 am

It works, but it didn't convince me.

Now I'm trying to run the xen routeros img on a Ubuntu host
Isn't there any routeros premade xen image to use with any xen linux host?
How I should create the img for routeros? (swap data?) (xen-tools.conf)
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:26 pm

The way I understand things is that XEN is simply the equivalent of VMWare or Virtual Server. So all you have to do is create a new virtual machine on the host server and then capture the appropriate ISO image. So download the latest x86 image from Mikrotik.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Nov 08, 2008 3:27 pm

I specify the disks used to be the x86 installation ISO, then the second disk is to create a 250MB file for a virtual disk. After installation, you can remove the ISO from the configuration. For upgrades, ftp the new file to the virtual machine like any other MT. To move it to another host, move the virtual disk file and the two files in /etc/xen/vm to the new hypervisor machine.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:47 pm

I want to do that way but I can't.
I don't got any linux desktop to create the image and install the routeros
Xen isn't available for windows xp
So I must do everything remote from a shell

Would be cool having a standard routeros instalation image to start with.
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:59 am

I specify the disks used to be the x86 installation ISO, then the second disk is to create a 250MB file for a virtual disk. After installation, you can remove the ISO from the configuration. For upgrades, ftp the new file to the virtual machine like any other MT. To move it to another host, move the virtual disk file and the two files in /etc/xen/vm to the new hypervisor machine.
Jp can you post your xen routeros config file?
 
HellMind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:58 pm

Re: Virtualization RouterOs

Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:55 am

If I use an image made with routeros
I get
ERROR: Your disk file system is corrupted!

If i use an image from vmware converted to raw with qemu
I get

Demo license expired!
Please reinstall the router.

connect failed (errno=2)

Is my cfg ok?

kernel = "/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-21-xen"
ramdisk = "/boot/initrd.img-2.6.24-21-xen"
name = "Jenny"
memory = "128"
disk = [ 'tap:aio:/xen/domains/Jenny/disk.img,xvda,w', ]
vif = [ 'bridge=xenbr0', ]
vcpus=1
on_reboot = 'destroy'
on_crash = 'destroy'
root = "/dev/xvda1 ro"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 70 guests