Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

Help! PPPOE clients

Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:49 pm

Can use PPPOE client on routerOS to login get ip addrese and send it to eth1? So when a juse connect to the eth1 its get ipaddrese? and only one addrese?

I have never tray PPPOE, but i have understand that it more safe, and gets more control. And use Freeradius whit MYSQL.

Is it any downside whit PPPOE?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Help! PPPOE clients

Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:09 pm

send it to eth1?
What do you mean by send it to eth1 ?

PPPoE is very secure, you don't have IP address on the local interface of the router and only PPPoE users can connect to server [to the Internet]
When PPPoE session is established point-to-point connection is established between server and client, point-to-point addresses are used on both routers.

You need to configure PPPoE client, one of the biggest PPPoE downsides.
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

Re: Help! PPPOE clients

Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:28 pm

What i want is to use the PPPOE client on the routerboard, so it gets ip to my user and then delivert this to eth1, so that he can connect a router or to a computer whitoute runing a PPPOE client.
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

Re: Help! PPPOE clients

Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:04 am

bump :)
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Help! PPPOE clients

Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:55 pm

Add PPPoE client on public/remote interface of the router, setup private network to local interface where client computer is connected.
Add masquerade rule, ip firewall add action=masquerade out-interface=PPPoE_interface chain=srcnat
 
Madrox
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:24 am

Re: Help! PPPOE clients

Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:47 pm

then the user will get local ip, not a public one, then i have to chage the rules on the firewall, ETC
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Help! PPPOE clients

Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:04 am

Do you have additional public subnet to give it to clients ?

You can go without masquerade,
- setup pool with public addresses, exclude one address for your router;
- specify pool at remote-address in PPP profile [Clients assigned addresses];
- add one address to local-address, address to be used by router itself.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 182 guests