Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Montana
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:24 am
Location: Moscow Idaho

My LILO boot loader corrupt Need Repair

Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:35 am

It looks like the boot loader on my Mikrotik 64k module might be corrupt. I cant get it to boot up. After going thru the PC system start up stuff and when it comes to the LiLo it just does the following " L 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 99 " and so on. I have used the Netinstall with boot disk and it see's the hard disk and shows the correct Id and auth Key. When I do a reinstall it looks like it's doing it but it's to quick though. I restart the machine and it does the same thing. Is there a way to repair LILO? Or Is there some thing else that I am missing?
Mike
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:51 am

I suggest trying a netinstall.

John
 
Bill
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:24 pm
Location: Nevada

Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:55 am

The problem is that the information used by the OS when the hard drive was setup is not the same information being reported by the BIOS at boot time. This gives you an error and a system that won't boot.

Go into the system bios and look at the hard drive settings for the CF module. You will probably need to switch from an AUTO setting to MANUAL definition. LBA settings will work on some systems, others need to use the older CHS settings. You may also need to change the PIO setting to mode 2 or 1.

Once you get the correct configuration, it should boot right up. You might also have to do a reinstall after changing the settings to get it to work properly. Be sure to check the box to save the old configuration so you don't lose your license key.
 
Montana
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:24 am
Location: Moscow Idaho

Fixed

Mon Jul 05, 2004 1:06 am

Ok Gang
I got it fixed. I wound up using the CD image that I down loaded from Mikrotik. I was very nervous to do this. I booted from the CD and I tolded it to install but KEEP THE OLD CONFIGURATION. It recognized the disk on module , kept the old configruation and fixed the boot problem. Be very careful and read the prompts twice before proceeding.
Mike

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], garofaloandres, screamingservers and 72 guests