Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Interface profile

Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:19 pm

Wireless interface profile

In ROS 2/3... when I change wireless card then lose all configuration

The fine function is wireless profile list, table with exist profile where I can apply old configuration to new card.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Interface profile

Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:52 pm

export/import...
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:29 am

hmmm export import with list old card profile ?

export import support winbox window without terminal?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Interface profile

Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:42 pm

sorry, I do not understand your... english?.. :(

why don't you export your card config and then import it after card replacement?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:45 am

This is polish english :D

Where in winbox is button to export and save in RB card config, and later import it to another card ?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Interface profile

Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:02 pm

use 'New Terminal' button, then type something like '/interface wireless export' (or maybe '... export file=cfg.rsc'). then you just open terminal and paste your exported commands (having changed interface name to correct)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Wed Sep 24, 2008 12:29 pm

OK,

1) how export/import "'/interface wireless " without terminal :P ?
2) Where is list of available card profiles (exist and not actual exist card)
3) how export to file configuration from actual not exist card
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Interface profile

Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:06 pm

1) how export/import "'/interface wireless " without terminal :P ?

export import works only from terminal. Adding export/import buttons in winbox would be absolutely useless anyway.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:40 pm

I know, but another option not avalibe in ROS 3 -WINBOX (wireles interface profile with exist and not exist card)
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Interface profile

Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:13 pm

we all say you that you do not need any 'profiles'
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Fri Sep 26, 2008 12:14 pm

hmmm ,

how in ROS terminal or winbox export configuration from not existing card (dramaged or take out) ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24337
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Interface profile

Fri Sep 26, 2008 12:15 pm

not possible AFAIK
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:01 pm

Exactly.
When this option will be available.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Interface profile

Mon Sep 29, 2008 5:43 pm

I don't think it's necessary here - no reason to clutter up router's memory =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:18 pm

But there is useful option for me.

This option not use a lot memory.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Interface profile

Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:40 am

How does it tell what card is what?

If you put a new card in with the old max address does that work?
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: Interface profile

Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:16 am

Is there any opportunity for such functionality?
1) Upload config to ROS.
2) After rebooting. ROS inform that we have the unconfigured wlan and card configurations are available and displays the following example, ssid, name of the card, the card mode and scope of work.
3) choose which profile we are interested in and we have configured WLAN.

In the Ubiquiti, simple copy the config from one device to another and it works without setting the radio from scratch, just several clicks.

I understand that in ROS can we do now by making edit a few lines of export file etc but why did not it would be easy and enjoyable ?
 
patt
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:18 pm

Re: Interface profile

Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:50 am

I agree.

This is wery imporant future for us.
Belong UBNT, is we have a backup of device, we may do replace device wery quicly, simpy upload a backup file and restore.

This is wery, wery good future of this device.

I now, that in Mikrotik is not so simply, because we may rename of a interface.
So profile will be a simpe solution of this unsuported backup restore.

regards
patt
 
ravael
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:11 am

Re: Interface profile

Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:12 am

Yeah that would be a beautiful feature!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 108 guests