Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:59 am

I have a x86 router running 3.13 that is currently locking up every 5-8 days.
The router stops passing traffic, OSPF & BGP both stop connecting to neighbors & peers.
I am able to log into the console and run commands, I created sup-out for Mikrotik and also looked at the log before rebooting this time.

The log file showed these errors:
17:23:54 route,ospf,error Cannot send packet: sendmsg failed!
17:23:54 route,ospf,error error=No buffer space available
17:23:57 route,bgp,info Failed to open TCP connection: Network is unreachable
17:23:57 route,bgp,info RemoteAddress=x.x.x.x

Has anyone seen these errors? Does 3.14 fix something to help with this?
 
manny
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:23 am

Re: Odd router lockup, error=error= operation not permitted

Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:20 am

I am having a very similar issue with a rb600 running 3.14

cannot send packet:sendmsg failed!
error= operation not permitted
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:07 am

Mikrotik support replied to my email about this issue and said that it looks like a kernel problem.
They also suggested that I disable ip traffic-flow

Mikrotik also recommended that I upgrade to RouterOS 3.14
 
gyoztes
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:12 pm

Re: Odd router lockup, error=error= operation not permitted

Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:38 pm

I am having a very similar issue with a rb600 running 3.14
cannot send packet:sendmsg failed!
error= operation not permitted
Mikrotik support replied to my email about this issue and said that it looks like a kernel problem.
They also suggested that I disable ip traffic-flow
Mikrotik also recommended that I upgrade to RouterOS 3.14
Hi All,

I have a problem like above. I don't use ip traffic-flow.
Hardware: RB600
ROS: 3.16
BIOS: 2.18

Is there any solution? It's 2 row in log every 10 sec! The router is running good.

gyoztes
 
ilnicchio
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 6:11 pm

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:13 pm

I have the same problem with RB600 3.19 and related bios.
OSPF Seems to work but I receive this strange message!
Thanks for your help...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:22 am

I get this same thing on my 3.20 x86 router and it locks up every so often...any responses? ip traffic flow is disabled...
 
digicomtech
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:03 pm
Location: Alma, Qc, Canada
Contact:

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Thu Aug 27, 2009 8:43 pm

Same problem with RB532 RouterOS 3.22
ip traffic flow not used

Any answer from MT ?
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:14 am

Check your firewall and make sure that none of OSPF packets are dropped.
 
marushka
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:26 pm

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Tue Sep 22, 2009 9:37 pm

Hello,

I got the same message right before reboot. Can anybody help? Firewall is ok, it doesn't drop ospf packets, and ip traffic flow is disabled. I'm running v3.28 on RB600.
If you can't convince them, confuse them!
 
netwatcher
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 12:38 pm

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:33 am

Make sure that you use the newest firmware (routerboot version) for the Rb600 as it had a fix for the DDR about six months ago. Before the fix, if the board was hot, it would reboot every 24 hours of less.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3818
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:54 pm

I had an x86 router do this earlier yesterday. the router was still running locally, but no network connectivity was working anymore. Any pings or attempts to connect to anything gave me the buffer out of space message. This was running 3.25 with traffic-flow enabled pretty recently. i have disabled it and will see if it keeps happening. I took a supout while it was in this state and will try to get it to them.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 634
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:35 am

I have 3.30 on x86 . i have same problem without traffic flow
105 no buffer space available.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
Antixx
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:46 am

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Mon Feb 08, 2010 3:34 am

i have rb333 with ro3.30 and have same problem when runing ospf:
route ospf error cannot send packet: sendmsg failed!
error= operation not permited
 
atis
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:28 am

Re: Odd router lockup, error=No buffer space available

Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:51 am

Sorry but it's not "the same problem". They are completely unrelated.
You get "Operation not permitted" error when you have blocked OSPF packets in your firewall.
You get "No buffer space available" error when the packet cannot be sent because the memory buffer space allocated for the sending socket is exhausted. That may happen when there is some problem with the interface (e.g. perhaps wireless interface in not associated state?), or with the driver, or with something else.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Tobei, zaina1 and 58 guests