Page 1 of 1

How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:04 am
by EngAMoktar
I wanna force clients to use the DHCP server , by checking "Obtain an IP adress Automatically"
???
cause noticed that in the hotspot user Hosts the Mikrotik recognize them by the way they loged in by the letters "AH" means "authorized DHCP"
so is it possible to force them to use the DHCP server ??
i'm using hotspot ..
thanx

Re: How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:47 pm
by Chupaka
you can use arp=reply-only on your hotspot interface, and then check 'add arp for leases' in dhcp server - after that, only dhcp-assigned addresses will have access to the router

Re: How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 1:52 pm
by netrat
Set the interface to reply-only arp and enable add-arp on the dhcp server.

Re: How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 6:07 pm
by Pepo
thanks for you, but i want to say that in some cases some of my clients their pc don't get the IP from server so i add its my ip manually.
if that happens what can i do ???
:lol:

Re: How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 7:57 pm
by Chupaka
then you should add static ARP entries manually =)

Re: How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 10:00 pm
by EngAMoktar
Chupaka , netrat you are the best . thanx for the help , i'm very thankful

Re: How to force clients to use DHCP server

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:22 pm
by Pepo
thanks for you, but i want a quick example for what you say please