Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
topnetdurres
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:35 pm

Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Sun Oct 19, 2008 10:44 pm

i have problems in 3.14 and 3.15 ver with dual core, it works in 3.11 before
I have motherboard ASrock with 2,0 ghz procesor dual core and the time go 5X or moore.
system hardware set multi-cpu=no" is not a solution i have try... and the same problem after 30 min.
 
aldalil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:43 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:56 pm

Mikrotik ros 3.15 is hanging/freezing after some minutes of operating with the dual core.
We have to force reboot the system after that!!!
The same situation with 3.14. (we are not facing the same problem with the 3.13 but hotspot problems).

Rgds,
Alaa
Internet Via Satellite services & VSAT Data communication: http://www.InternetVSAT.com
Cobranded VoIP solutions for resellers and service providers: http://www.CrestCall.com
 
ayufan
Member
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:14 pm

Mikrotik ros 3.15 is hanging/freezing after some minutes of operating with the dual core.
We have to force reboot the system after that!!!
The same situation with 3.14. (we are not facing the same problem with the 3.13 but hotspot problems).

Rgds,
Alaa
Exactly we have some core2duo based server, reboots every 5min on 3.14, we had to change gateway to old P4 3.0HT on Intel Server motherboard and now works without problem. For example linux with latest kernel and xen enabled runs well on that machine... eh ;)

Regards,
KT
hAP AC, TP-Link Archer C7 v2, RB951G, RB450G, RPI2, RPI zero
 
B_U_L_I
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:02 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:30 am

HI

I confirm problem with time and simple queues on dual core procesors. Problem is from version 3.14 & 3.15 not solved, 3.13 works fine. I hawe AMD ATHLON X2 64bit procesor. From version 3.14 on my case statistics on mt webpage graphs shows not existing interface - interface was removed a long time ago.
 
altnet.md
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:47 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:38 am

I upgraded my old MT server to Core2Duo processor and after a half
hour it shows me 50% load ... and have some jumps to 100%, and one more
strange thing happens ... System Clock runs faster 30 sec instead 1,
it runs no much longer and MT serv crashes. I decide to set BIOS at
fail safe mode. After that time goes ok .. but CPU load shows me 0% after
10-15min of uptime.

My PC config:
MT: v3.15
CPU: Core 2 Duo E4500
MB: MSI on IntelG31 chipset
RAM: 2x512Mb Kingston
LAN: 1xRTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
3xRTL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Oct 24, 2008 2:35 am

My system make exactly the same...clock jumps 10-20 seconds, CPU usage 50% and after a wile it stays at 100% an hang but sometimes I can enter with winbox on mac and reboot. Deactivating dual core works.
AMD X2 cpu with 1GB ram and intel NIC's
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:22 pm

i have same problem with 3.15
3.13 worked fine, but then i upgrade it to 3.15 clocks on my routers start jump 5-10 seconds, and through some time i can't reach router with winbox or ssh :(
 
namery
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 11:17 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:29 pm

I have the same problem, what can i do??? downgrade to 3.what?? what is stable??? sure taht 3.13 works fine?? because i change it again and still the same problem, probaly i lose my job because this means that lose clients for this problem.
 
altnet.md
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 1:47 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Oct 27, 2008 6:28 pm

I downgraded to v3.7 and system works fine :D
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:10 pm

I've replace with an older single core PC and is working now. Nice.
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:36 am

back from 3.15 to 3.13 - it's work!
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:31 pm

Same here, see minutes shoot up one min per second. Without multi-core, no issues.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:43 pm

Any updates MT?
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
josefranco
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:17 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:01 pm

Any news about this issue with version 3.16?
 
rkorolev
newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:49 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:59 pm

ROS 3.16 released, there's a line in Changelog:
fixed problem - x86 clock was 10 times faster then it should be on some boards;
Just tried it, now time goes only two times faster than real... ;(
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:43 pm

i think we should stick to 2.9.51 :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
bugtoo
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:04 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:51 pm

Tested 3.16 and still have 100% CPU. On my system, this happens after 10-14 hours of uptime. Stepped back to 3.13.
 
User avatar
skillful
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Abuja, Nigeria
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:05 pm

Configure NTP client to keep the system synchronised to an Atomic clock while we await a fix for the issue
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:21 pm

Make sure you send supouts to support@mikrotik.com. As well as reference to this tread is always helpful.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
terik
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:16 pm

Mikrotik 3.16 on Supermicro MBD-X7DWA-N still come unusable after 15/20 min.
If run torch, much faster.
After this, supout file, can not be done.

Mikrotik less then 3.15 don't recognize intel 82575 nic.

I stalled.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:44 pm

Please tell us exact motherboard name that you use. ASrock is just a brand. We will need exact motherboard model, so we can buy some for testing.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1722
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:50 pm

Just an idea - aren't it all Intel chipsets?
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
terik
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:20 am

 
bugtoo
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 12:04 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:37 pm

It looks like everyone experiencing these problems have motherboards with Intel 5xxx Chipset.
For istance, I am using an IBM HS21XM blade server which has a Intel 5000P Chipset.

Am I wrong?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6617
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Nov 21, 2008 8:46 am

It would be great to get support output files to support@mikrotik.com
from Everyone who has problems with "fast" clock on x86 box with the 3.16 version and the latest BIOS installed.
Thank you very much.
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 617
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:10 pm

I have installed latest BIOS but mikrotik could not boot with latest bios.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6617
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:40 pm

More detailed information is required about the used hardware.
 
cheesewright
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:58 am
Location: Idaho

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Nov 24, 2008 8:10 pm

Clock problem still exists in RouterOS 3.16 with our dual core Intel CPU. Uptime leaps 27 seconds every second. Here is our router hardware:

Intel Celeron E1200 1.6GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Model BX80557E1200
Foxconn G31AX-K LGA 775 Intel G31 ATX Intel Motherboard
Kingston ValueRAM 512MB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) KVR667D2N5/512

We have a spare unit with the same configuration available for testing. Please let us know how we can help.

Thanks,

Daniel Bakken
EMSI
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 617
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:22 am

 
cartes
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:23 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Tue Nov 25, 2008 3:42 pm

We are also having clock problems on versions 3.14 and up (even with 3.16). We are back to using 3.6, which does not have this problem.

Our mobo is Asus P5KPL-AM (G31 Chipset)
http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?model ... 3=563&l4=0

We're not doing any overclocking or anything else, standard install.

Regards
HASSAN
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:17 am

I've problems with 3.16 and dual CPU. 10 sec. Clock jump. Working fine in 3.13.
IBM x330 server.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6617
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:35 pm

Please, contact support department about the problem (support@mikrotik.com)/
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:02 pm

Working fine on HP ML 110 Pentiun D multicpu-on
 
SmalleR
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2006 2:49 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:19 pm

Working fine on HP ML 110 Pentiun D multicpu-on
Great!
But Subject is Dual Core problem!
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:10 am

Working fine on HP ML 110 Pentiun D multicpu-on
Great!
But Subject is Dual Core problem!
As far as i know PENTIUM D is a DUAL CORE ( Dual Pentium 4 CPU)


"The Pentium D brand refers to two series of dual-core 64-bit x86 processors with the NetBurst microarchitecture manufactured by Intel. Each CPU comprised two single-core dies (CPUs) - next to each other - in one Multi-Chip Module package. "
 
terik
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:41 pm

gustkiller :
what cpu usage on your server?
how much pps?
how long its working without reboot?

My supermicro X7DWA-N with 2 xeon work normally to, without traffic,
only when traffic go higher then 200mbit/s, appear the problem.
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:12 pm

no reboot since upgrade, 4 days , 120 ~ 130mbits / 50Mbits about 35kpps ( 65kpps agregated ). cpu about 35, 40%.


before deployment i leave it doing a btest udp 64bytes packet for 2 days.

network cards are a Dual port intel pro 1000 server, and a onboard gigabit broadcom nic.
 
Vulgarenok
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:55 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:20 pm

System: Intel Pentium IV 2.4 on Intel motherboard
ROS version 3.0-3.16
Problems:
system hangs after 12-15 hours of work
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)
heavy CPU load (system can't transfer more than 100Mbps due to 100% CPU load)

System: Intel Pentium IV 3.0 HT on Asus DeLuxe motherboard
ROS version 3.0-3.13
multicore=yes
Problems:
system time is slow than real for 10 minutes per hour
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)

multicore=no
system hangs afrer 1-2 hours of work
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)

ROS verion 3.14-3.16
multicore=yes
system time is faster than real
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)

multicore=no
actual queue rate is 1/2 than rate in rules (example: clients queue rule is 256k, really client has 128k)
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1964
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:12 pm

could it be a problem with dual-core only and not dual cpu? :D
 
Nick Kett
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:32 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Sat Nov 29, 2008 12:31 pm

Same problem here with HP prolient ML110 G4 server Dual Xeon processor.
Runs OK until the router is stressed in some way, running the bandwidth test tool for example.
CPU usage goes high and stays there, even without any load.
Clock starts jumping several seconds per tick
All statistics are wrong by the same factor
Queues go at the wrong speed

Rebooting sets things back to normal
It seems to me (no direct evidence for this) that the second core is only called upon when the system is stressed in some way. That is when things start to go wrong.

Running the server in single core mode is OK

NICK KETT
Microtik Certified consultant & trainer
Rebeloak SL
Spain
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:18 am

its sounding like a problem with intel core duo / new xeon architecture..

noone with pentium 4 dual core ( pentium D ) posted any problem in this topic. :o
 
raktim
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:22 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:04 am

Can anyone plz tell me, which version is stable for dual core. i have tried with v3.13, but freezing.


thnxs,
raktim
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:21 pm

3.7
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:47 pm

System: Intel Pentium IV 2.4 on Intel motherboard
ROS version 3.0-3.16
Problems:
system hangs after 12-15 hours of work
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)
heavy CPU load (system can't transfer more than 100Mbps due to 100% CPU load)

System: Intel Pentium IV 3.0 HT on Asus DeLuxe motherboard
ROS version 3.0-3.13
multicore=yes
Problems:
system time is slow than real for 10 minutes per hour
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)

multicore=no
system hangs afrer 1-2 hours of work
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)

ROS verion 3.14-3.16
multicore=yes
system time is faster than real
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)

multicore=no
actual queue rate is 1/2 than rate in rules (example: clients queue rule is 256k, really client has 128k)
PPTP server service is not responding (disappear?) for 2-5 minutes (clients can't connect to PPTP server)
PPTP server crashes are the bug for PPTP server itself IMO since already being discussed in other threads.
 
cartes
newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 12:23 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:45 am

gustkiller:

You're running 3.7, which is also not causing these clocking issues on our Intel Core 2 Quad systems running on Asus motherboards. These problems started to happen when we upgraded to 3.13 and above. Since then, we've gone back to using 3.6 / 3.7 and no more clocking issues. However, those versions have the occasional PCQ lock-up issue.
 
raktim
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:22 am

Re: Dual Core problem in 3.14 and 3.15 versions

Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:11 pm

Can anyone plz tell me, which version is stable for dual core. i have tried with v3.13, but freezing.


thnxs,
raktim
Magically freezing problem has solved in v3.13. i think its stable v3.13

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 61 guests