Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
rholt4
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:23 pm

Senao-Prism 2.5 not found w/routerboard 532

Thu Apr 14, 2005 2:45 am

Just installed one of the new 532 series routerboards and was told that the senao cards (NL-2511MP Plus), would work. Tried 2 known good radios in each slot, but OS would not recognize them. Was also told that beta 2.9 was all these units would work with.


Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Thu Apr 14, 2005 12:11 pm

Jesus Christ Almighty, is it possible?
We are thinking to order RB532...
Hm?
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:22 pm

Did you order with a LVL5 lic. or did you get with the std LVL3 ???
Just checking.... :wink:
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
rholt4
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:23 pm

Thu Apr 14, 2005 8:24 pm

preinstalled level 5
 
dfwair
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:24 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Thu Apr 14, 2005 9:56 pm

I tried mine with an Atheros 5212 and it works fine. Don't have a mpci senao to test, though.
Last edited by dfwair on Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
rholt4
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:23 pm

Fri Apr 15, 2005 9:50 pm

The Atheros card worked flawlessly.

Don't tell me I'm the only idiot in the MT universe that wants to use a Senao card in this RB?

I'm dyin' here guys!

I've got 12 potential customers waiting for installation, and nothing to point them at.

Thanks,
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Sat Apr 16, 2005 4:07 am

Well, if atheros work without probs, it's fine with me.
Just for note, in my oppinion Mikrotik did this with intention :)
They do not supply prism cards anymore, only atheros....
Think about that...

Cheers everybody....
 
rholt4
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:23 pm

Sat Apr 16, 2005 4:50 am

Hey djape, please provide a little info on your statement, "they do not supply prism cards anymore"

I'd like to know exactly how upset I should be.

The online docs state that prism 2 is supported. My vendor stated that 'prism 2' should include 2.5.

I realize that this is a beta release, but if the published docs say 'supported', then prism 2 should be 'supported'.

I don't want to be an ass, but I know that you MT guys monitor this forum because I've seen you post here.

Why are you guys avoiding this thread?

All help is greatly appreciated.

Roger
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:43 am

Hehe, my statement is actually a teaser ;)
But it is true that they do not sell prism cards anymore, check the offer on MT site, there are no prism cards available....
I am also trying to make them answer to this thread....

Anyhow, MT is growing and I think they start to realize the meaning of monopoly :D

Cheers everybody...
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Mon Apr 18, 2005 5:45 am

And that's a good thing???
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:12 am

yes, there is a problem with RB500 and senao prism minipci cards. we will make an update later.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Apr 18, 2005 11:44 am

good news everyone, prisms work in 2.9 beta 18 (yes, senao cards (NL-2511MP Plus))
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Mon Apr 18, 2005 12:49 pm

Thx Normis ;)

Cheers...
 
rholt4
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 9:23 pm

Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:08 pm

That's great news.

I already attempted to update, ftp'd the files and rebooted but it came up as beta 16. I'll give it another try tonight.

Thanks guys, my faith is restored.
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Mon Apr 18, 2005 6:39 pm

Don't get too excited.
Updated, all packages look good, and it sees the card.
Went to enable it, and it kernel panic'd.

Richard
 
BullWeivel
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:16 am

Me Too

Tue Apr 19, 2005 7:23 am

Yeah I was kinda pissed off when I realized that.

Guess that is what we get for playing with beta :D
 
BullWeivel
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:16 am

beta18 does NOT work for Prism Cards!!!!!!! Kernel Panick

Tue Apr 19, 2005 8:00 am

Alright it appears to be showing the card now. I am using a PRISM Senao 2511MP Plus card in it and it shows up.

Here is what I did:

Take all cards out of the RB. (might not be necessary but I did it just to make sure)

Got ot he download site and download ONLY the 2.9beta18 that was built for the rb500. (Note it is just one file but it will upgrade everything) Then ftp it to the rb500. (something to note after I ftp'ed I could no longer use winbox and had to do everything via serial cable)

Reboot and let it boot up. Then make sure its on beta18.

Shutdoown and place cards in. Then turn it back on and you should be rocking.

Here is my serial console session: (the bottom is where it barfs when trying to enable it)


MikroTik 2.9beta16
MikroTik Login: admin
Password:

[admin@MikroTik] > /system package print
Flags: I - invalid
# NAME VERSION BUILD-TIME UNINSTALL
0 routeros-rb500 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:09:02 no
1 system 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:08 no
2 advanced-tools 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:16 no
3 security 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:20 no
4 rb500 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:09:02 no
5 hotspot 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:37 no
6 wireless 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:43 no
7 ntp 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:47 no
8 routing 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:33 no
9 dhcp 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:22 no
10 ppp 2.9beta16 mar/22/2005 13:08:30 no
[admin@MikroTik] > /system reboot
Reboot, yes? [y/N]: y
system will reboot shortly


Rebooting...
Stopping services...

installed routeros-rb500-2.9beta18
Restarting system.
üÏÉ~ÿμÏïï'Þ–

MikroTik 2.9beta18
MikroTik Login: admin
Password:

MikroTik RouterOS 2.9beta18 (c) 1999-2005 http://www.mikrotik.com/


[admin@MikroTik] > /system package print
Flags: I - invalid
# NAME VERSION BUILD-TIME UNINSTALL
0 advanced-tools 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:05 no
1 system 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:22:57 no
2 ppp 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:22 no
3 rb500 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:24:16 no
4 wireless 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:39 no
5 dhcp 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:16 no
6 security 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:12 no
7 hotspot 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:32 no
8 routeros-rb500 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 13:24:16 no
9 ntp 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:43 no
10 routing 2.9beta18 apr/15/2005 14:23:26 no



MikroTik 2.9beta18
MikroTik Login: admin
Password:
MikroTik RouterOS 2.9beta18 (c) 1999-2005 http://www.mikrotik.com/


[admin@MikroTik] > /interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running
0 X name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:02:6F:38:03:D0 arp=enabled
disable-running-check=no interface-type=Prism prism-cardtype=200mW
radio-name="00026F3803D0" mode=station ssid="localhost" area=""
frequency-mode=manual-txpower country=no_country_set antenna-gain=0
frequency=2412 band=2.4ghz-b scan-list=default rate-set=default
supported-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps basic-rates-b=1Mbps
max-station-count=2007 tx-power=default tx-power-mode=default
periodic-calibration=default fast-frames=no dfs-mode=none
antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=disabled wds-default-bridge=none
wds-ignore-ssid=no update-stats-interval=disabled
default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0
default-client-tx-limit=0 hide-ssid=no security-profile=default
disconnect-timeout=3s on-fail-retry-time=100ms preamble-mode=both
[admin@MikroTik] >

[admin@MikroTik] > /interface wireless enable
numbers: 0
Kernel unaligned instruction access in unaligned.c::do_ade, line 574:
$0 : 00000000 1000e800 0000042e 00000000 803b0000 0000042a 8e630388 81dfbd4c
$8 : 81dfbd48 00000001 80440000 00001e18 80440000 80440000 80440000 00000010
$16: c00ad5b4 81dfbd60 80000000 000000a2 00000000 7fff7540 1000a720 2ae304bc
$24: 00000007 81dfbc48 81dfa000 81dfbd30 7fff7708 8020b72c
Hi : 00000000
Lo : 00000c00
epc : 803cb503 Tainted: P
Status: 1000e803
Cause : 10800010
PrId : 0001800a
Process wireless (pid: 242, stackpage=81dfa000)
Stack: 00001000 c00ad5b4 00000001 1000e803 00000000 00000000 00000000
8101a6ec 000000a2 803dec60 803ded60 802069b0 0000003f 804727d8 81f178e0
81f178e0 805ba4a0 00000009 00000000 1000e800 803dec60 803de030 803ded00
803dee00 00000000 803de060 00000000 00004cf0 4c780000 00000000 00004ca0
00000000 803ded60 4cc80000 000000a2 803dec60 803ded60 000000a2 00000000
7fff7540 ...
Call Trace: [<c00ad5b4>] [<802069b0>] [<c00ad4ec>] [<8032c79c>] [<c00ad5b4>]
[<c00ad5b4>] [<c00a9c40>] [<c008cdd0>] [<c000252c>] [<c008a400>] [<803293d0>]
[<8032a240>] [<803354d8>] [<80257b8c>] [<802571d8>] [<80329e5c>] [<8020a440>]
[<802c7384>]

Code:<4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
2402fff2 <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
08082e3c <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
00000000 <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
<2402fff2><4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
08082e47 <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
00000000 <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
2402fff2 <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
080850ac <4>unaligned data access at 0x80207ab0
00000000
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
In interrupt handler - not syncing
<7>
panicSaver: dumping panic to flash
flash_ioctl: get_info_data(void)
flash_ioctl: get_info_data(void)
flash_ioctl: get_info_data(void)
flash_ioctl: get_info_data(void)
Rebooting in 1 seconds..rb_machine_restart: command=<NULL>
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:33 pm

This will be fixed in the next beta version. It will be out tomorrow probably.

John
 
BullWeivel
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:16 am

Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:29 pm

Has the 2.9 prism issue with the RB been fixed yet?

Not seeing the beta version updated on the website yet.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:32 pm

beta 19 is being tested here at mikrotik, we will release it as soon as it is ready. today or tomorrow
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
BullWeivel
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:16 am

FYI 2.9.beta19

Sun Apr 24, 2005 3:44 am

It is on the site now.

Not sure if it works though. Have not had a chance to check it out and see if the issues are still there.
 
BullWeivel
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:16 am

Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:43 am

Unless I come back tommorrow and post something else. The 2.9beta19 issues with the prism cards have been resolved.

The beta I loaded on my 532 board is rocking so far. Both the prism card, and the atheros card I have in the box appear to be operating properly. But I have only been playing around and not doing anything major testing wise.

Tommorrow we wil put it into production on a tower that will number about 40 cpe's. So we will see how well it realy works ;)

Unless I post otherwise, it is working well.
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Mon Apr 25, 2005 8:08 pm

Well, guys, forgive me for calling your name about monopoly :)

You're the best...

Cheers...
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: harkitabneha and 118 guests