Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
hairfarmer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:11 am

3.15 Hotspot bug

Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:47 am

I have been experiencing a bunch of issues with Vista and in some cases XP not being able to pull up the Hotspot login page with RouterOS v3.15 on x86 and RB433’s. Users get DHCP addresses but cannot access the login page.

I used torch to try and find what seems to be the problem. I see packets from the client to ports 53 and 80, no response back.

I setup a IP binding set to bypass but it wont work - at all, even when the client can see the login page.

I am using up my credibility with my clients when I have to deal with a day of troubleshooting and just downgrading their software to make it work again.

Anyone else having this issue???
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6619
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:03 pm

Contact MikroTik support with attached support output file (support@mikrotik.com), if identical configuration, which had worked on 3.14, doesn't work on 3.15 version.
 
hairfarmer
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:11 am

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:45 pm

Thanks - I am in the process of doing that.

I am just wondering - since I have had 3 hotspot routers that have had issues - what are the experiences in the Mikrotik community. This post was in the spirit of "misery loves company" more than "help, I am having problems."
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:42 pm

What versions were working prior to 3.15. We're seeing some hotspot problems too. We fixed one user by turning off their phishing filter.
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:54 pm

My current hotspot problem is that all of a sudden, hosts in the walled gardened stopped being allowed. IPs added to the walled garden are fine, but that won't do, as paypal has many IPs. Customers could not get to the usermanager IP stuff till I added in an IP range to permit that!. This problem was exhibited today in 3.10, 3.14, 3.15. We'll have to leave hotspot off and use regular nat till we can figure out the problem. I'd rather have hotspot running for financial and calea reasons.

<pre>
/ip hotspot walled-garden
add action=allow comment="place hotspot rules here" disabled=yes
add action=allow comment="" disabled=no dst-host=usermanager.midcoast.com
add action=allow comment="" disabled=no dst-host=*.akamaiedge.net
add action=allow comment="" disabled=no dst-host=*.paypal.com
add action=allow comment="" disabled=no dst-host=*.paypalobjects.com
add action=allow comment="" disabled=no dst-host=*.midcoast.com
add action=allow comment="" disabled=no
/ip hotspot walled-garden ip
add action=accept comment="" disabled=no dst-address=69.39.96.0/19
[admin@x] /ip hotspot> /ip dns export
# dec/31/1969 19:11:41 by RouterOS 3.14
# software id = x
#
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=no cache-max-ttl=1w cache-size=2048KiB \
max-udp-packet-size=512 primary-dns=10.0.0.1 secondary-dns=0.0.0.0
[admin@x] /ip hotspot>

</pre>
 
skye1
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 5:10 am

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:19 pm

This can be forwarded to include 3.17 as an issue in fact there were problems with vista and 2.9.51 as well.
The symptoms are commonly as follows.

Vista has trouble opening logon page, sometimes can not open at all.
Vista PC has A LOT of trouble if IPV6 is enabled I have had to disable this on each vista machine I have seen so far.
Vista experiences hangs when browsing an XP machine side by side with vista will out perform vista hands down.
I believe this is just one more of the many flaws in vista, but it is impossible to imagine that micrsoft will do anything about this so it will fall to the mikrotik development to provide a solution.
 
janwschut
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 5:58 pm

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Mon May 25, 2009 11:20 am

This can be forwarded to include 3.17 as an issue in fact there were problems with vista and 2.9.51 as well.
The symptoms are commonly as follows.

Vista has trouble opening logon page, sometimes can not open at all.
Vista PC has A LOT of trouble if IPV6 is enabled I have had to disable this on each vista machine I have seen so far.
Vista experiences hangs when browsing an XP machine side by side with vista will out perform vista hands down.
I believe this is just one more of the many flaws in vista, but it is impossible to imagine that micrsoft will do anything about this so it will fall to the mikrotik development to provide a solution.
If you install SP3 on the XP machine you will see that the trouble is gone!!
 
thomsany
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:21 am

I add to the problems with 3.15 OS.
Slow browsing, some pages display sporadically, after a while they do not display at all.
Some websites never show, only show a timeout.

Any fixes for all of this?
I emailed support and I'm waiting for their solution.

Regards,
Teo
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8330
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Tue Jun 02, 2009 3:08 pm

did you tried to update to the latest version?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
thomsany
newbie
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: 3.15 Hotspot bug

Tue Jun 02, 2009 4:37 pm

I fixed the problem with the help of Mikrotik support.
The problem was that in my routes I had my Gateway set correctly but my Interface was pointing to my phisical connection.
After I removed the Gateway interface everything worked like a charm.

Hope this can help others with this problem.

Regards,
Teo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abrar226, Google [Bot], topmktwww and 85 guests