Community discussions

 
User avatar
rrossi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:32 pm

Rate limit of PPPoE

Fri Nov 28, 2008 6:10 pm

I need to rate limit PPPoE tunnels, I noticed two way of doing this work, 1) simply configuring a limit in the PPP profile and 2) using Queues.
What's the diferente? or are the same think with different names from the GUI (winbox) vision?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 02, 2008 9:23 am

1) queue are created dynamically.
2) queues are created statically, different queues algorithms are available with static queues.
 
User avatar
rrossi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 4:32 pm

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:37 pm

I supposed it. Do you known what queue type is used when dinamically?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:19 pm

It is either default or default-small for PPPoE, but it is not possible to change that option now.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:00 pm

but it's possible to change queue type of 'default', isn't it? =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
pokeman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:28 am

i have same issue with this when i was creating user queue with dynamic its working perfectly but when i change to static entry with pcq is getting packet drop on client . lots of dynamic queue takes system usage thats why we need to set static entry. i need CIR bandwidth to every user

/queue type print
name="download" kind=pcq pcq-rate=384000 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-total-limit=2000
name="upload" kind=pcq pcq-rate=192000 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-total-limit=2000

/queue simple print
name="pppoe pool" target-addresses=10.0.0.0/20 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=all parent=none direction=both priority=8 queue=upload/download limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s total-queue=default-small
 
pokeman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:51 am

normis can you give me idea about this ? using MT 3.17
i have same issue with this when i was creating user queue with dynamic its working perfectly but when i change to static entry with pcq is getting packet drop on client . lots of dynamic queue takes system usage thats why we need to set static entry. i need CIR bandwidth to every user

/queue type print
name="download" kind=pcq pcq-rate=384000 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=dst-address pcq-total-limit=2000
name="upload" kind=pcq pcq-rate=192000 pcq-limit=50 pcq-classifier=src-address pcq-total-limit=2000

/queue simple print
name="pppoe pool" target-addresses=10.0.0.0/20 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=all parent=none direction=both priority=8 queue=upload/download limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s total-queue=default-small
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 11:54 am

if you have many concurrent users, increase 'pcq-total-limit=' value
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
pokeman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:14 pm

around 350 to 500 session currently set 'pcq-total-limit=2000
if you have many concurrent users, increase 'pcq-total-limit=' value
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:20 pm

increase it upto 7000-10000 at least and see whether drops conlinue
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
pokeman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:39 pm

any other way to manage bandwidth instead of PCQ
increase it upto 7000-10000 at least and see whether drops conlinue
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:33 pm

simple queues
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
pokeman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:52 pm

Re: Rate limit of PPPoE

Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:40 pm

simple queue based on single ip can we manage based on network /24 /23 . please give me some examples

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 28 guests