Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Xen: failed to copy files to image

Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:28 am

Hi Guys,

When trying to make a routeros image file with Xen i get the error 'failed to copy files to image'. Does anyone have any idea on how to fix this or am i missing a step? I'm reading directly from the Wiki.

Cheers in advance

Normis - the thread was right here since earlier.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:37 am

what command did you use, what version?

try something like
/xen make-routeros-image file-name=asdfg file-size-128
if you do not specify size, it can fail.

also, you can try with smaller file size, but take in account, that you wont be able to expand it later on. Also, 64 Mbytes would be enough.
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:42 am

Hi Janisk,

i tried that and got this

[admin@MikroTik] > /xen make-routeros-image file-name=asdfg file-size=128

failed to copy files to image

So i'm completely lost still

Cheers
 
User avatar
sever
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:43 am

same thing here. I've tried it on 3.17 and 4.01b.

[admin@NEW Genesis BCU] /xen> make-routeros-image file-name=ros1 file-size=512


failed to copy files to image
[admin@NEW Genesis BCU] /xen>

I can see it creating the file until it gets to completion of 512 size, then it throws the above error.

I have tried it on different x86 machines as well as changing the file size. Same error all the time winbox or command line.

Thanks in advance for any help.

J.
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:06 am

its good to know i'm not alone on this one
 
User avatar
sever
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:02 pm

My feelings exactly after spending a few hours on this issue. Nice to know I am not alone either.

So Janisk / Mikrotik? Is this a bug? What can we do to help?

Thanks in advance,

J.
 
User avatar
sever
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:49 pm

Hi,

I sent e-mail with supout.rif file to support@mikrotik.com. Hopefully we'll get some info soon.

Meanwhile I have scoured the forum and not been able to find an answer.

I'll be sure and post mikrotik response.

Thanks,

J.
 
User avatar
sever
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:12 pm

Hi,

I received a swift response to my email: :lol:

Thanks Mikrotik.


Hello Jay,

Yes, thank you very much for the report. We discovered that it is not possible
to create an image on 3.17, we will try to fix it. Currently you may try to
use 3.13 version for Xen, it should work there.

Regards,
Sergejs



I will be trying that ASAP. I will post my results shortly.

J.
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Dec 11, 2008 10:04 pm

And i will watch closely for your results
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Fri Dec 12, 2008 10:18 am

it is fixed - wait for next release.
 
User avatar
sever
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Sat Dec 13, 2008 2:45 am

I did try downgrading to 3.13. Unfortunately... did not work. Same results. :(

I am waiting patiently for new release.

Janisk, any idea when the fix will be released?

Thanks,

J.
 
User avatar
sever
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:58 pm

Hello Mikrotik......?

Sergejs in Tech Support mentioned in an email a new ROS release upcoming that fixes the "Xen bug" in 3.17.

Any idea when that is forth coming?

Thanks Mikrotik for all of your hard work and time producing a reliable product that allows me to "provide" for my family.

Merry Christmas!

j.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:01 am

there is no ETA yet.
 
User avatar
tete
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Granada (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:08 pm

I have had the same problem on ROS 4.0Beta1
===========================
Antonio Sanchez
System Administrator
===========================
Image
===========================
Granada (Spain)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Tue Feb 03, 2009 3:30 pm

working on 3.20

if you want to check if it is working - try the newest available version.
 
User avatar
tete
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Granada (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:35 pm

Ok

I have installed 3.20 and the problem is solved.

Now I have other error.

When I try to create the new VM it says in the status "failed to setup VM".

Any Idea?

Greetings
===========================
Antonio Sanchez
System Administrator
===========================
Image
===========================
Granada (Spain)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Feb 05, 2009 1:23 pm

check your memory usage - reduce for memory for host, leave some 32 or more MB for hypervisor and then assign memory to VM, then everything should be fine
 
User avatar
tete
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Granada (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:54 pm

Hi,

This did not resolved the problem.

The situation is this; I have VMWare Server 2.0 installed for testing evironment. I this server I have installed a Level 0 version of ROS 3.20 using the ISO file.

The Mikrotik VM has 512 Mb of RAM and 1 GB HD.

I configure the Ethernet interface to get into the mikrotik. Then in /xen I created a ros.img with 64 mb. It is created correctly and I setup memomry to unlimited.

Then I create a VM with this ros.img 64 M of ram and console server port 64000, CPU 1 and weight 256. I press OK an then the same error appears. "Status: Failed to setup VM"

There is enough memory amount to run the VROS.

Greetings
===========================
Antonio Sanchez
System Administrator
===========================
Image
===========================
Granada (Spain)
 
User avatar
tete
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Granada (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:32 pm

Hi all,

After our MUM visit, we have deployed a fresh CF with a L4 Licence on a PIV with 1Gb of RAM.

I have follow the Wiki instructions line per line and no results. The status bar of the xen window stiils saying "Failed to setup VM" after enable this from console.

The system is running ROS 3.20 for INTEL/AMD.

Any Ideas?

Greetings
===========================
Antonio Sanchez
System Administrator
===========================
Image
===========================
Granada (Spain)
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:27 am

Same thing here. Followed steps exactly from wiki.mikrotik.com and error "failed to setup vm". I'm using ROS 3.25. I have plenty of memory and disk space. Every single step went fine except when trying to enable the VM.

Mikrotik, why is this happening? Are we the users to blame? Has this feature been tested? Can we get a descriptive reason as to why this might be happening?
Doug
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8346
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:47 pm

Mikrotik, why is this happening? Are we the users to blame? Has this feature been tested? Can we get a descriptive reason as to why this might be happening?
Clipboard02.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:51 pm

I know it says that, but there should still be a reason? If it's a bug, I understand, but I'm just curious why it's happening. I've heard alot of users success with Xen, so I though I'd give it a try.
Doug
 
tombrdfrd66
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:46 am

How about shifting this thread to the 'Metarouter and Xen' forum where it belongs?

I've noticed that with v3.16 I get the "failed to set-up vm' report, but the VM will still start and run.
The more I know, the more I know I don't know.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Fri Jul 03, 2009 8:28 am

Mikrotik, why is this happening? Are we the users to blame? Has this feature been tested? Can we get a descriptive reason as to why this might be happening?
Clipboard02.gif
Is it not better to post problems here (as well as support with Mikrotik) as maybe someday the software will move from (alpha,beta) to stable?

I think Mikrotik is doing a great job and these forums are for Mikrotik users to help each other out and help make Mikrotik a kick-ass product. If you never test and report on alpha/beta software how is Mikrotik going to make it better? The only reason they choose to put Xen on their site is so people could test it and help make it into production software.

My 2 cents, sorry for the rant,
Doug
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Sun Dec 20, 2009 6:01 am

I've been running v4.3 and creating some test xen images. What works one time doesn't always work another and if I simply repeat the command it works.
admin@MikroTik] /xen> make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=32


failed to copy files to image
[admin@MikroTik] /xen> /
[admin@MikroTik] > file                                                
[admin@MikroTik] /file> print 
 # NAME             TYPE             SIZE                 CREATION-TIME       
[admin@MikroTik] /file> ..
[admin@MikroTik] > xen make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=64
  status: finished

[admin@MikroTik] > xen make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=128

failed to create image
[admin@MikroTik] > xen make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=128
  status: finished

[admin@MikroTik] > xen make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=32 

failed to create image
[admin@MikroTik] > xen make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=32


failed to copy files to image
[admin@MikroTik] > xen make-routeros-image file-name=ros32.img file-size=32


failed to copy files to image
[admin@MikroTik] > 
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1829
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:21 am

I too am experiencing this problem but with RouterOS 5.5 and KVM.
/kvm make-routeros-image file-name=ros-kvm1.img file-size=64


failed to copy files to image
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
mersudin
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Sun Nov 27, 2011 3:18 am

i tried using and still trying to use it. u should try setting memory something like 16MiB or something less untill u see status: running, i have 768MiB RAM for host mikrotik 3.30 and unable to use more than 43MiB for CentOS 5.1 image, it just seems to limit memory usage on something else other than MemoryforMain set to Unlimited.
 
mersudin
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Sun Nov 27, 2011 8:20 pm

i tried using and still trying to use it. u should try setting memory something like 16MiB or something less untill u see status: running, i have 768MiB RAM for host mikrotik 3.30 and unable to use more than 43MiB for CentOS 5.1 image, it just seems to limit memory usage on something else other than MemoryforMain set to Unlimited.

after playing around with RoS version i came to conclusion that Mikrotik 3.19 works best for x86 xen.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:19 pm

on x86, install 5.8 (or latest :) ) and try to see if you still have a problem. Then send supout.rif

XEN problems will not be fixed ever.
 
mersudin
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:56 pm

on x86, install 5.8 (or latest :) ) and try to see if you still have a problem. Then send supout.rif

XEN problems will not be fixed ever.
VmWare Esxi would be best but i tried to be cost efective since i have only need to keep freeradius and mysql services and that is more than enough for xen hypervisor :)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:15 pm

Esxi cannot be integrated as part of RouterOS. It is known that free version of Esxi is working ok with RouterOS.
 
mersudin
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 4:47 pm

Re: Xen: failed to copy files to image

Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:00 am

Esxi cannot be integrated as part of RouterOS. It is known that free version of Esxi is working ok with RouterOS.
been there done that (in my case keeping entire lower end server was to much power hungry), and i don't know who made centos image for Xen but there is and error made as module alias for eth0, in /etc/modprobe.conf first line " alias eth0 ne2k-pci" should be "alias eth0 xennet" and if module xennet not found its located in /lib/modules/[uname -r]/kernel/xen/drivers/netfront/xennet.ko just run insmod path_to_xennet.ko and it should load it up and virtual interface is running between virtual machine and mikrotikOS. I know that KVM and hardware virtualisation on any other hypervisor is good performance but not cost effective for some basic services as php,mysql,radius. is there any why to install xen-3.19 on 3.30 system i know it's stupid but there where some npk tools on net to edit npk files signatures , stupid and probably illegal :) ,as it seems there is only problem with xen package on 3.30, wireless driver is better than on 3.19.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 72 guests