Community discussions

MikroTik App

noleafclover803
just joined
Topic Author

Xbox Live NAT issues - anybody have any ideas?

Sun Dec 28, 2008 9:42 am

Since this is my first post I'll introduce myself before asking for everybody's help :) I recently purchased a Routerboard 433 for my home because we kept burning out cheap consumer routers. I have 5 roommates plus myself (college...) in my house, so in total there are 6 computers, 4 XBox 360s, 2 PlayStation 3 consoles, and a wifi VOIP phone (T-Mobile UMA). The entire house is networked over 100mbps Ethernet and wireless. I believe everyone is using the wired connection except the phone and a laptop. As you can imagine, with 10+ hosts and multiple QOS rules for voice traffic, etc, I needed more than 16MB of RAM. All this then feeds into the Routerboard which is NATed over a 6mbps (800k up) ADSL connection with a single public IP.

Now I am fairly qualified when it comes to networking. I am a junior electrical engineering student and work for my university networking and telecom. department, but we have so many public IPs (its ridiculous, we throw them around like candy...I want a few) that my experience with NAT is fairly limited. I also mainly use Cisco IOS, so I love that RouterOS is setup a lot like IOS is. My problem is with XBox Live. Its a real pain and very picky about NAT implementations. Since there are 4 of Xbox hosts, individual port forwarding is not an option. I also do not have access to my roommates consoles or systems, so all settings must be configured from the router.