Community discussions

 
jtuttle
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:51 pm

RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Thu Jan 08, 2009 4:08 am

We have several RouterBoard 44GV's whose ports randomly stop working.
They are installed in a Dell 1650.
We have swapped slots and cards and the problem still exists.
We've moved switch ports and patch cables with no change.
The RouterBoard 44GV is connected to a Cisco 2924.
The two on-board Dell 1650 ethernet ports work fine with no problems.
We have tried locking the duplex and speed of the ports but this has no effect, the problem still persists.
If we disable then reenable a port, it returns to a functional state but only for a short random time. (minutes to days)
Has anyone seen this before or have any ideas?
We're running 3.17

Many Thanks, Jeff
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:45 am

please create supout.rif of the router when one of the ports is not working and contact support at mikrotik.com
 
ropebih
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:35 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:48 pm

I have same problem. Is there a solution for this?
 
jtuttle
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:59 pm

We reverted to the 100Mbps cards and they work flawlessly. We are getting Intel MT Quad Gigabit ethernet cards to test them. I have read other posts where people are using them with no problems. Our 44GV cards did NOT have a heatsink as pictured on the routerboard.com web site and I suspect there may have been a heat issue causing problems but not we didn't have enough time to test.

Jeff
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:55 am

The 44GV cards never had heat sinks and don't need them. They use the VIA VT6122 chip set which doesn't take much power.
http://www.roc-noc.com/product.php?prod ... t=9&page=1

The EOL 44G cards used the older Realtek RTL8169 chip set which needed the heat sink.
http://www.roc-noc.com/product.php?prod ... =16&page=1

I suspect the compatibility problems that people are seeing have to do with matching Gig-Ethernet ports with Fast-Ethernet ports.

Unfortunately RouterOS has no ethernet error statistics so it is difficult to troubleshoot.

Under linux you can see the error statistics with 'ifconfig'.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
chucka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:46 am
Location: U.S.

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:21 am

I have a new 44GV that has this problem. Rebooting solves the locked up port but only for a short time or sometimes several hours. I've noticed that all 4 ports light up when powered on and one of the lights goes out when you plug a cable in. This seems backwards to me. The card also started making a high pitched whine after running a few hours. I've tried this card in several different PCs with the same result. I figured I just got a bad card. I replaced it with the 100 MB card and it works flawlessly just like MT stuff normally does. :-)
 
ropebih
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:35 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:25 am

My 44GV card is ended in trash. They gave me so much headdick and I don't recommande this card to anyone.
 
User avatar
ema
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:13 pm
Location: Poland, Warsaw

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:50 pm

I have the same problem. The answer I got from Mt was.
Our cards working OK.
I have bought new 44G rtl based and works fine.
But what to do with 44gv?
 
ronniee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:32 am

hi,

i have the same problem with a RB/44GV, on a IBM server with RouterOS 3.20

i use only 2 ports at 100mbit, but daily crash all pppoe clients on that LANs :(
i need to disable/enable and work fine another day, but this is unacceptable

i will lose my hardly gained clients because of stupid error

any software update for this crash errors ????
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sat Apr 18, 2009 3:52 pm

Lol..

This makes 3 threads now, about these cards..
Search for 44GV..
Come on mikrotik.. give us something..

Richard
 
User avatar
samsoft08
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 10:52 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:55 pm

the Realtik 4G is working without any problem , working for months ..
 
ronniee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:37 pm

Fine.
I will send you my 44GV and you send me your Realtek 44G. OK?

Thanks
 
jtuttle
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:44 pm

FWIW we switched to the Intel Pro/1000 MT Quad port cards.

If I recall they come with a lifetime warranty.

They are solid as a rock connected to the same switches as the 44GV's that failed on.

---Jeff
 
itdejan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 3:08 am

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:47 am

I have the same problem is there a solution.
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:05 pm

LOL.. You want to know their official "Answer"... Here it is!

Hello,

We have some mixed replies from customers, some of them was able to correct issues by upgrading BIOS of the motherboard, some other was not able to correct it at all. So I can only suggest to play around with BIOS version and settings. Sorry!

Regards,
Janis Megis
 
riza
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 7:15 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:41 am

The solution is using gigabit switch for RB44GV because fast ethernet switches didn't support jumbo frames and will lock up after several hours. That's why all of our RB44GV was connected to gigabit switch and working fine until today.

Or you can cross connect the port of your RB44GV to other port in outer router, if you don't have a gigabit switch. I have tried it and they've been working fine now.
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:01 am

Most of of the ports on the 2 boards we threw away were plugged into
other routers, and routerboards.. RB600's ( gigabit ) , RB1000's, supermicro onboard gigabit,
or Cisco 2950 Switches.

100 or 1000 speeds, didn't matter... they drop off anyway..

I'm glad you are having luck.. don't expect it to last..
 
User avatar
thavinci
Member
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:40 pm
Location: Johannessburg
Contact:

Re: RouterBoard 44GV ports randomly stop working

Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:23 am

We have had similar problems with this card under FreeBSD 7.1 Release, it seems the card behaved itself under VERY VERY low load, but as soon as anything useful traveled through it it simply stopped working untill a reboot of the server of a classic
ifconfig vge0 down
ifconfig vge0 up
after that it continues to work again for a few seconds under production....


Useless card.
http://www.thavinci.za.net

echo "Demo license expired!"
echo "Please reinstall the router."
echo
kill -WINCH 1
exit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 94 guests