Community discussions

 
tomi_isp
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:21 am

Radius & PPTP

Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:43 pm

Hi,

question, maybe BFU ;)

- how I can set ,,Local IP,, address for PPTP user when is authorizing over Radius ? If I not have set this IP in default profile in PPP, users are after authorizing at Radius disconected


Thanks

/Tomi
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8292
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Radius & PPTP

Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:54 pm

why not just set it in profile? =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Radius & PPTP

Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:24 pm

You have to set Local-Address in a profile, it can't be done via Radius
Regards,
Chris
 
tomi_isp
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:21 am

Re: Radius & PPTP

Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:01 pm

why not just set it in profile? =)
because I have some VPNs what have differenet Local IPs than others (for example LAN-to-LAN VPN have another local ip than Remote Users)
and another q, its possible select Profiles over radius ?
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1191
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Radius & PPTP

Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:13 pm

No, you can't.

1) use mutiple profiles, or
2) rethink what you are doing.

Based on what I am reading, there should be better ways to achieve what you want...
Regards,
Chris
 
tomi_isp
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:21 am

Re: Radius & PPTP

Tue Jan 13, 2009 6:36 pm

No, you can't.

1) use mutiple profiles, or
2) rethink what you are doing.

Based on what I am reading, there should be better ways to achieve what you want...
how you mean that multiple profiles ? Profiles is only for Local Users, not ? And I talk about radius.
I have multiple profiles and they are assigned to each group of users, but its Local and I want move it to Radius.
 
darencrew
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Re: Radius & PPTP

Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:10 pm

Hello,

I have the same problem but it seems that the solution has not been found... or i missed something :?

Is there a way to specify, by RADIUS, which profile to use?

Regards
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8292
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:42 am

omg... please explain why do you need that =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
darencrew
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:25 am

In fact, the client connect to the server through two pptp tunnels (each one related to a different link support), so both get the same gateway...

- diagnosing by which one traffic goes (from a traceroute from lan side) is almost impossible

- I worry about possible mixing in routes

Specifying server local-address seems to be impossible from RADIUS, it has to bet set in profile, so the last solution (before having to set all logins "ppp secrets" would be to have two profiles with different local-address and choose which one to use from RADIUS...

Maybe there's another way but i don't know which one....
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8292
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:40 pm

you may set 'local-address' to almost anything you want - I just don't understand why do you need to vary it...

do you use public addresses? if no - you may just use different address pool to distinguish clients from the LAN side...
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:53 pm

I use RADIUS on the hotspot, and the attribute "Mikrotik-Group" selects "/ip hotspot user profile". I enter a profile in "/ip hotspot user profile" named newprofile, then I return "Mikrotik-Group=newprofile" with the Access-Accept message. Does that sound like it might work with this protocol?
 
darencrew
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:39 pm

I don't know if SurferTim message is a question or a suggestion, anyway I don't know if its setup works, it might, in hotspot mode, but when not using this mode?

My PPTP client is not a hotspot...

Any idea?
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:44 pm

It is both. To be honest, I learned of the Mikrotik-Group by 'playing' with the OS. Same way I figured out radius-default-domain. Set up a test. Use parameters that you would certainly be able to tell the profile was changed. Try not to affect any other profiles with the test if the router is in service.

I am certain that the router I play with would rather be anywhere but here. I torture it regularly. :D
 
darencrew
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:01 pm

I tried Mikrotik-Group it has no effect, with different operators ":=" "=" "=="

radius-default-domain is a hotspot parameter... so it has no effect on pptp server...

Another idea :(
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:11 pm

Just a thought. I checked the docs in the radius section, and "Mikrotik-Group" appears to apply only to "/user group" and "/ip hotspot user profile". :(

EDIT: I see your next post. Didn't want to add another post. If anyone can do it, it will be Chupaka.
Last edited by SurferTim on Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
darencrew
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 6:12 pm

Re: Radius & PPTP

Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:31 pm

Maybe Chupaka will have a magic idea... hope so...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 82 guests