Community discussions

 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

What is RB52?

Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:15 am

Anyone mind to share info? There is a new wireless package to support the "new RB52" - is this a new Atheros based interfaces? Any information from MikroTik?
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
kujtimhajredini
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: Prishtina
Contact:

Sat Apr 30, 2005 2:41 pm

Yes it is a new wireless card Atheros AR5414 chipset that Mikrotik will sell soon.
Kujtim Hajredini
ARTMOTION
 
patrik.backhuvud
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 12:42 pm

Mon May 02, 2005 1:56 am

Yes it is a new wireless card Atheros AR5414 chipset that Mikrotik will sell soon.
Will MT support the "Transmit Power Control" included in this chipset. And if so, how will it work?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24280
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon May 02, 2005 9:44 am

correctly it is called RouterBOARD R52 and is a wireless interface. more details later
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
GJS
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:07 pm
Location: London

Mon May 02, 2005 8:17 pm

Is this based on the Ubiquiti SR5 mini-PCI card by any chance? MT is listed as a distributor/partner for this product.
Guy

wispuk.org
A Forum Community for UK WISPs
 
kujtimhajredini
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:56 pm
Location: Prishtina
Contact:

Tue May 03, 2005 1:19 pm

no it is a 65 mw card its not based on Ubiquiti
Kujtim Hajredini
ARTMOTION
 
User avatar
Eugene
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 993
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Cranfield, UK

Tue May 03, 2005 5:36 pm

It's not RB52 - it is RouterBOARD R52. Feel the difference :lol:
Tout individu a droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sûreté de sa personne.
 
User avatar
[ASM]
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 12:59 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Tue May 03, 2005 9:53 pm

:)

manufactured by Mikrotik ?
The light is faster than sound. People always looks smart before they start talking.
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Thu May 05, 2005 12:44 pm

Yes, but you can know that all of our hardware is 'assembled' by contract manufacturers as we don't have board assembly plants. Same situatin for Cisco and most other companies and products now.

John
 
User avatar
[ASM]
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 12:59 am
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Thu May 05, 2005 1:26 pm

Yes, but you can know that all of our hardware is 'assembled' by contract manufacturers as we don't have board assembly plants. Same situatin for Cisco and most other companies and products now.

John
I suposed so
The light is faster than sound. People always looks smart before they start talking.
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Tue May 10, 2005 1:59 am

So what's new and exciting in the Atheros AR5414 chips?
 
jonbrewer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 5:56 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Mon May 16, 2005 2:34 pm

So what's new and exciting in the Atheros AR5414 chips?
Single chip (MAC and radio) a/b/g card, should be cheaper to manufacture and lower power draw. External PA/LNA possible if you're designing your own card.
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Mon May 16, 2005 4:00 pm

So with regards performance there is no real advantage?
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Mon May 16, 2005 5:47 pm

Atheros don't claim performance improvements that I've seen just from their website, I guess a developer has great access.

However, one of the Atheros features that should improve performance is in all their recent radios, "XR" (= eXtended Range).
That works by improving receiver sensitivity beyond the normal threshold limit.

I did campaign to have an XR (on:off) switch in MT, but it's not there yet ...

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Tue May 17, 2005 1:25 am

XR has been available since AR5004 and works by reducing the throughput to give better receive sensitivity which doesn't help large backhauls :(
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Tue May 17, 2005 10:15 am

Thanks for that tip -
But it would help a CPE a lot, right?
And possibly a base station in a low-throughput sector where coverage (range) is more important.
I know other users have requested this feature, I wonder how good it is in practice.

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Sat May 21, 2005 5:06 pm

So there isn't really anything great about the new chipset then??

I agree that XR would be pretty handy for those customers who would like a low speed link but are just out of range. Does anyone know if there are plans to have it added in a future release?
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Sat May 21, 2005 5:10 pm

[bump] Just everybody keep asking politely for it .... :wink:
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
User avatar
rickard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:29 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Sat May 21, 2005 5:12 pm

Hi all,

Try to lower down the TX power on the Wlan settings :-) it works!
i have a 9 Km link and i get 8 dBi more signal when i put in 21 as a range on the Atheros 5212 card on one of the sides in the PtP link.
and the signals get equal. on the diffrent sides...
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Fri May 27, 2005 9:35 pm

Anyone want to compare Mikrotik's Routerboard R52 with the Atheros ref design pictures :
Compare

http://www.atheros.com/pt/images/AR5006 ... iboard.gif
with
http://www.mikrotik.com/img/r52_l.jpg

and they look the same - except for the can lid being off - and as you'd expect, the MAC address on the MT one is their own OUI.
It's a lower chip-count radio so hopefully power/heat dissipation is lower than CM9 etc.

A bit more information on AR5006 is at
http://www.atheros.com/pt/AR5006XS.htm

Will be very interesting testing out these new boards ....

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests