Page 1 of 1

Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:40 am
by m4rk0
Hello,

I have about 80 online routerboards all models RB333, RB433, RB433AH, RB600...

I have problem with routerboard dying...

I have grounded RB's, lighting protectors, surge protectors, ups but nothing helps...

On few locations weekly/bi-weekly die about 1 router. Cards are RB52, RB52H and CM9.
RB and cards die at same time. For example today died 2 of my RB600 and 6 cards I can see that on circle board element PL901 (1R0) is melted.

On cards often I can see brown spots on passive cooling.

Please help... Monthly I lost about few thousands of dollars... :(

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:17 pm
by Equis
I have 1000 rb's and loose 1 per week or 2 weeks

I use regulated PSU
I do not ground CPE (although I should)

I use rootenna antenna for cpe.

What do you use?

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 1:51 pm
by GuJack20
Brown spots??! Is that rust?

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:48 pm
by rodneal
are they getting damp or wet??
Condensation??
Killers of boards.
Rod

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:24 pm
by m4rk0
Hello,

they are not wet, condesation is okay. I mainly use expensive Rittal enclosures but nothing helps.

It's not rust it like short-circuit on metal..

The funny thing this happens randomly when it starts it happens about 3-4 times in 2 weeks and it stop dying for few months :?

Today I've replaced my 2 dead RB600 with RB600 and RB433 and for about 7h died both RBs...

But this time on RB600 all radio cards and RB600 died, I've found some spot on some circuit like fire, and RB433 died all ethernet ports and cards are OK... :shock: :? :(

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:46 pm
by Equis
What power supply do you use?

I use 15v switching

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:03 pm
by m4rk0
Depends on my RB's mainly MikroTik 48V & 24V High Power Supply...

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:03 pm
by rodneal
Are you running the power too low - boards will overheat if the amps are out of wack.
Also - is your grounding really really good? I had a lot of problems on my towers until I realised the grounding at the power poles was not handling the load and my hardware was taking the hit.
I regrounded the utility poles and ran heavy cable to the tower grounds.
2007 I lost 25 towers - several repeatedly.
Last year - 3 towers and no repeats.
Rod

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:56 pm
by kameelperdza
Does all RB's need to be grounded? I understand that it might help when lightning strikes. And maybe static. No-one here realy use grounding measures.The highest voltage i use is 24volt. That is what the mikrotik dealers sell. I think 48v is 2 high. Senao's usually use that much power. How is the weather conditions?

Re: Problem with Routerboards

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:59 am
by tierpath
Are you running the power too low - boards will overheat if the amps are out of wack.
Also - is your grounding really really good? I had a lot of problems on my towers until I realised the grounding at the power poles was not handling the load and my hardware was taking the hit.
I regrounded the utility poles and ran heavy cable to the tower grounds.
2007 I lost 25 towers - several repeatedly.
Last year - 3 towers and no repeats.
Rod
Can you send me pictures of your grounding setup?

amirm@tierpath.com