Page 1 of 1

Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 3:47 pm
by rpengineering
Dear,
I need to migrate from a bridged wireless network to a routed wireless network have you any guidelines to make the network reconfiguration?
Regards

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:37 am
by Egate
The best way is to change the ip's on router boards and access points, in order for routing to be able to work. Then activate routing rip on all your routers. This will sort your router paths automatically. To see if it is running go to ip routes. Should be many routes, getting more as you change router boards. As soon as this is done. Disable bridge. If done correctly, every thing should keep on running. Very easy. 8) Biggest thing is the ip's make a nice exel spread sheet.

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:19 pm
by rpengineering
i aldeady know it.
I need configuration guidelines - examples.

Access point (wlan1 wlan2 ethernet) routes and firewall configurations
edge router configuration

ecc.

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:39 pm
by andreacoppini
i aldeady know it.
I need configuration guidelines - examples.

Access point (wlan1 wlan2 ethernet) routes and firewall configurations
edge router configuration

ecc.
For an overview on how you should approach it, go through Tiktube.com as I recall there was a presentation about this during one of the Poland MUMs, not sure which one though!

If you need specifics, please hire one of us here :D

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:39 pm
by rpengineering
Dear,
I' ve not founded the mum presentation,
Can you give me an hand to make this migration ?

Regards

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:25 pm
by andreacoppini
Hi,

sure can help you with it.. send me a private message with your e-mail or Skype address

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:09 pm
by rpengineering
i'm sorry but i'm not able to send private message in this forum, i do not have private messages link

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:41 pm
by Chupaka
i'm sorry but i'm not able to send private message in this forum, i do not have private messages link
[offtop]
omg! they switched them off again =(

Normis, please, enable PMs =)
[/offtop]

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:16 pm
by rpengineering
Dear,
i've done the migration successfull..
using ospf and mpls for centralized pppoe.

it works very very well

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:13 am
by goofy
did you use VPLS?

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:23 pm
by rpengineering
yes, i use ospf, mpls , vpls

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:24 pm
by goofy
rpengineering,
What's your mtu?
I used some uplinks ubnt.
ubnt's support MTU 1518

it is not work on our network with ubnts, I think


Thanks

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:52 am
by virgin
yes, i use ospf, mpls , vpls
Cain i have ur email id....i also want to migrate bridge network to router network. Can u help me with that.

Thanks

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:10 pm
by rpengineering
<goofy>
i use for internal routing mtik and for bbones ALCOMA or mtik and MPLS/VPLS works fine!!

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:11 pm
by rpengineering
yes, i use ospf, mpls , vpls
Cain i have ur email id....i also want to migrate bridge network to router network. Can u help me with that.

Thanks
Dear,
i can help you but
i've mp disabled please use my skype id alexrpeng

Regards

Re: Bridged Network to Routed Network migration

Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:12 pm
by rpengineering
rpengineering,
What's your mtu?
I used some uplinks ubnt.
ubnt's support MTU 1518

it is not work on our network with ubnts, I think


Thanks
My mtu is 1504