Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:08 am

hi
i'm using mikrotik router os for my NAS. i have 15 NAS. There is dhcp,ntp,ppp,routing,security,system packages on it. I'm notice that on all NAS uses only 10% of memory on board. For example if is 512Mbyte memory on server the router OS used only 50-60Mbyte, and if it 2Gbyte of memory on board only 200-220Mbyte is in use.
And one more. Router's with 2Gbyte memory uptime is >1000 hours and other routers with 1Gbyte memory or less uptime <100 hours.

why it is so?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:33 am

probably because you are not using anything that's memory intensive. I can guarantee you that I've seen a lot of routers with out-of-memory problems ;)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:19 am

but why only 10% from memory???
when router use 50MB of 512MB and I add to it 512MB (summary 1GB) it start to use 100MB. why it cant use 100MB from 512MB installed memory?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:37 am

coincidence probably. I haven't seen any other routers with such numbers :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:49 am

coincidence? on 15 NAS!?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:57 am

can anyone else confirm this?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
proggams2
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 10:15 pm

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:43 am

i have 472MB of ram and it's using 46.5( = 10% ) :P
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:26 am

Not for our routers, all of them show different percentages:
Picture 2.png

Try to do something that will definitely eat up memory, like enable webproxy with "cache on disk" unckecked (cache in memory)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:15 am

I can't turn on proxy in my product server unfortunately.
is any other ways to test it?
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3804
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Mon Mar 30, 2009 11:28 pm

3.22
:put ( 100 - ( [/system resource get free-memory ] * 100) / ( [/system resource get total-memory ] ) )
8


3.20
:put ( 100 - ( [/system resource get free-memory ] * 100) / ( [/system resource get total-memory ] ) )
12

2.9.51
:put ( 100 - ( [/system resource get free-memory ] * 100) / ( [/system resource get total-memory ] ) )
5
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 9:01 am

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Tue Mar 31, 2009 5:03 am

Is it possible that this is normal and, like Normis said, you aren't doing anything memory-intensive? Perhaps either the Linux kernel VM or some other component of the system somewhere preallocates 10% of physical memory at minimum by default, so that you will never see anything MORE than 90% of memory free at any given time?

Probably nothing to worry about.

-- Nathan
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:42 am

There are more often reboots occur in routers with less memory (512MB or 1GB for example) and there are no reboots on the router with 2Gb memory. In this case I must to bought 2GB memory on all routers just because OS can't use more than 10% from all installed memory bank. Do you think it's OK?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:44 am

There are more often reboots occur in routers with less memory (512MB or 1GB for example) and there are no reboots on the router with 2Gb memory. In this case I must to bought 2GB memory on all routers just because OS can't use more than 10% from all installed memory bank. Do you think it's OK?
It's not true, I posted a screenshot to prove it, I can post more. This is just in your router. We have plenty of X86 devices and we don't have this problem. If a router rebooted, the reason will be written in the log. Read it and see the cause. Or send the supout.rif to support and we will see reason reboot
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kostil
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:01 pm
Location: Moscow region, Russia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:00 pm

There are more often reboots occur in routers with less memory (512MB or 1GB for example) and there are no reboots on the router with 2Gb memory. In this case I must to bought 2GB memory on all routers just because OS can't use more than 10% from all installed memory bank. Do you think it's OK?
It's not true, I posted a screenshot to prove it, I can post more. This is just in your router. We have plenty of X86 devices and we don't have this problem. If a router rebooted, the reason will be written in the log. Read it and see the cause. Or send the supout.rif to support and we will see reason reboot

I've do so already, send supout.rif, but the answer was "it's your hardware problem". I have 4 different hardware configuration.
there is nothing in my log after reboot, just "mar/31/2009 12:24:42 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown" but it's not a power fault.

maybe I could turn on some debug to find out the reason?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: x86 Mikrotik use only 10% of all available memory

Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:02 pm

make sure the auto-supout is enabled in your watchdog config, and that you send the auto file to support. we will see all debug info in there
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], macbookpro, msatter, nasirhafeez, seriosha and 180 guests