Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
EngAMoktar
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:18 pm

[Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:11 am

Hello again savers ,
one of my MTs , its backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?
While other with similar configuration are normal backup size like 232.3 KiB
What cause this increment of the .backup size ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24846
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:16 am

maybe you have a lot of logs, big number of rules, or some custom hotspot folders?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Wed May 27, 2009 1:15 am

Hello - I have the same issue. I have two RB1000's both running RouterOS 3.24. Each is just set up with some VLANs, IP addresses and a few routes, with one having somewhat more entries than the other. The unit with the fewer entries has a backup file size of about 15KB, the one with somewhat more entries has a backup file size of 550KB! it does not have 30x the number of entries of the other unit, so something else is going on here. Any ideas? Should I be concerned?

Thanks!
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Wed May 27, 2009 11:02 am

550 Kb is quite small, so don't worry
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Wed May 27, 2009 6:55 pm

Hello - thanks. I am not particularly worried, just trying to understand why this backup file is so much larger than the other one. I've checked the configs for all the various router features, and I don't see any other services being used that could account for the additional size. There must be some explanation...

- Ed
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24846
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu May 28, 2009 9:19 am

logs? hotspot? some files stored? branding?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Fri May 29, 2009 12:57 am

I am a winner !!! :D :D
[admin@shaper-MIR] /file> print 
 # NAME              TYPE             SIZE                 CREATION-TIME       
 0 MikroTik-17032.backup file     61845989             apr/09/2009 16:28:01
 1 Mir-MikroTik-2. backup           1025083              apr/09/2009 16:29:35
 2 routeros-x86-3. package          16630188             may/22/2009 18:56:34
 3 MikroTik-29052. backup           1443659              may/29/2009 00:54:01
58.9 MIB size of backup file, but i have 5347 simple queue )
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Fri May 29, 2009 1:21 am

you are crazy =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24846
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Fri May 29, 2009 9:39 am

why not use PCQ and have only a few rules, with the same result, and 10x better performance of router?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:56 pm

logs? hotspot? some files stored? branding?
I don't have a any custom logs set, just the default logs in the dist, they appear to only be about 100 lines each according to the config. No hotpsots created. No files stored on the file area. No branding. The size of the backup file is now 680KB, up about 130KB since my original post and I've only added two VLANs and two Routes. I guess it's not a big deal if it is not an indication of some trouble, but I would like the file to be more compact. BTW, all I want to backup is the full router config, not any transient data like logs, arp tables, etc. Is there a way to specify this with the backup command? The docs don't seem to indicate any available flags beyond 'name'.

Thanks!
Ed
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:40 pm

/export ?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 2:13 pm

logs? hotspot? some files stored? branding?
becose after 1-2 days API and ssh hangs (1-5 connection in 2-3 seconds, ver2.9 works fine, play with multicore dont help, on any V3 version)
Beacose of this i must use simple queue and API connection 1-2 in 10 minutes, and nothing hangs
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:08 pm

/export ?..
No sir. And those would show up under /file anyway. As I said before, nothing in /file except a 6k auto-before-reset.backup that's been there since the beginning. Any other ideas? Too bad the backup file is binary, otherwise we could just peek inside and see the whole system config. All my L2 switches use a plain text file for the config, I wonder why Mikrotik felt it necessary to go binary?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:58 pm

/export is plain config! /export file=mycfg
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:09 pm

/export is plain config! /export file=mycfg
That's true. When I export the whole system I get a file of about 33K in size, and nothing inside that would not be expected. What I am wondering, and what this thread is all about, is why the backup file is so much larger, assuming that it contains essentially the same data - and the backup file on my second router is just a tiny fraction of that size.
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:34 am

Still no explanation of the big file size discrepancy? Seems very odd...
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Sun Jun 14, 2009 1:31 am

Hello - I have the same issue. I have two RB1000's both running RouterOS 3.24. Each is just set up with some VLANs, IP addresses and a few routes, with one having somewhat more entries than the other. The unit with the fewer entries has a backup file size of about 15KB, the one with somewhat more entries has a backup file size of 550KB! it does not have 30x the number of entries of the other unit, so something else is going on here. Any ideas? Should I be concerned?

Thanks!
Bizarro update to my original post. I had a client move off the router. Deleted his VLAN and his /27 - backup file size immediately dropped from 800k (it had grown since my original post) to 36k. I backup each time a I make a change, so removing this one client's VLAN and IP subnet was the only *visible* change that can be attributed to the file size change. What gives with that?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8533
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Sun Jun 14, 2009 3:58 am

Graphing?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
cololine
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 1:11 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Sun Jun 14, 2009 4:18 am

Graphing?..
I did turn off graphing several days ago in a effort to try to reduce the backup file size, but it did not help with several backups since then the file size only went down after that minor change. I suppose it would be easy enough to test though, when I have some time....
 
jparsons
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Maryville, TN
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Wed Feb 23, 2011 7:42 pm

I am seeing the same issue.
I run a script each night that exports and emails the backup on all my routers. on all of them this has grown to 4 megs over time.
Even on a single Point to Point link with NO special rules or settings, the file will start small after initial configuration and then over time keep growing. biggest i have currently is about 5Megs
But if you do an export the file size is only a few K
The backups still work but just take longer to export and clog up my email faster since they are now so large.
Does anyone have any real idea what is filling up this file?
I would be happy to send one of my backup files to someone for analysis if they would like to look for themselves.
There is not much in a point to point link backup file to even save...
 
User avatar
hgonzale
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 1:12 pm
Location: Fuengirola, Spain
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:38 pm

I am having the same issue.

foe example I did a backup about 5 minutes ago, the size was 250 Kb.

I remembered to modify something (add an option to DHCP server, the Wins server) and after 4 or 5 minutes, I did a second backup, 340 Kb.

I did again another backup (without modifications), just 30 seconds later.... 291 Kb....
 
jparsons
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Maryville, TN
Contact:

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:59 pm

I found out that my problem was with SSH keys I was dowloading into the router via a script, and rather than replacing the keys each time it was adding them, which over time created my issue. Once I fixed the script the backup files stay pretty consistent. They do fluctuate a little but nothing significant. and the size stay around 300K
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7765
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Tue Nov 11, 2014 9:48 pm

Doesn't it contain log beside the graphing data?
 
radionerd
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:46 am

Re: [Question] My backup size is 3626.6 KiB ! isn't huge ?

Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:50 am

Old thread, same question.
My consentrator (RB1100AHx2) was hacked about 6 months ago. It was performing DDoS attacks on Federal IP's ;-( I am 600 Miles away from it. I was able to remotely regain control and get it updated six months ago. Now on 6.44.2, I noticed that the backup file size is DT huge!!! RSC, and Supout files are normal sized.
19.7MiB, I checked all the suggestions from this thread. Are there any other logs or stored stuffs I can purge? All my other consentrator's backups are around 150KiB.
I watch it pretty closely, and don't see any rouge activity anymoe. It's public IP has dropped off the abused IP lists.
Anyone?
Thanks,

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alber, Baidu [Spider], wpeople and 172 guests