Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wkm001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Salem Virginia

OSPF possible hardware issue.

Wed May 11, 2005 1:11 am

Here is my setup.

Main Router
P4 1.8GHz CPU with Intel Mobo (Custom Built)
256MB Ram
64M IDE Flash card
2 - 3Com 3c905XX ethernet cards

One of the remote routers
Dell Optiplex GX1 Desktop style system
P3 450MHz to 500MHz
128-256MB of Ram
64M IDE Flash card
2 - Routerboard24 4 port cards

I can setup OSPF on both of these machines. When the Routerboard24 card is part of ether1 to ether4 no ospf link is established between the routers. When I replace the Routerboard24 card with a Routerboard44 card everything works great, no problems. Any help would be great, thanks.
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Wed May 11, 2005 1:40 am

Tried different Routerboard24 card ?
 
wkm001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Salem Virginia

Different Card

Wed May 11, 2005 3:39 pm

Yes I tried a different card. I bench tested all of this and it worked except for the machine using the routerboard24 card. I thought it was a fluke so I just set that machine aside I tried to implement this on our live network and it failed miserably. The only difference between the bench test and the live implimentation was the routerboard cards. Since I had a direction to go I tried this on the bench and duplicated the results. The OSPF link just says "init" and never goes to full.
 
wkm001
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Salem Virginia

I consider this urgent

Thu May 12, 2005 12:05 am

I need a resolve to this problem or I will have to find some other solution. Can someone offer some some help either on this forum or directly from Mikrotik?

Thanks,
Casey
 
User avatar
YazzY
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:26 pm
Location: Norway, Østfold
Contact:

Thu May 12, 2005 12:27 pm

One of our customers have a similar problem. In his case his routes disappear after a while leaving OSPF in the init stage.
Please let us know if you managed to solve that issue.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], dzo, JardinEspanol and 141 guests