Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
a4ubd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:08 pm

transparent proxy for public ip

Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:10 pm

Hi forum,

Is it possible to make transparent proxy in Public IP network ? I mean the client network is getting public ip, How to redirect client http port to proxy server where their is no NAT running ?


Regards

"a4ubd"
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Wed Apr 08, 2009 11:41 pm

if you need to preserve users' IPs - then you should use external Squid proxy with Balabit TProxy feature enabled. on ROS you may only redirect to internal proxy, so websites will see router's IP, not user's one
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
a4ubd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:14 pm

if you need to preserve users' IPs - then you should use external Squid proxy with Balabit TProxy feature enabled. on ROS you may only redirect to internal proxy, so websites will see router's IP, not user's one
How do Mikrotik user can use that external proxy?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:43 am

just setup Squid box between MikroTik and Internet
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
dormador
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 107
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:10 pm

just setup Squid box between MikroTik and Internet
when i do that i can enter mikrotik os inside my network not els

so i cant enter my usermanger from explorer abroud my network

we need another way
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:02 pm

sorry, I don't understand you

if you do not need some kind of access - block it! there's none of Squid's business
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
dannyboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:21 am
Location: Nicaragua/USA
Contact:

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Thu May 07, 2009 5:15 am

Hello, how do you tell mikrotik to look at transparrent proxy ?

Ok, I want to setup squid box, from what I understand we put the squid box after MT and Internet connection. So I will have the squid box setup internaly... I have no problem with that, now how do I tell MT to send requests to that squid box? I am using hotspot on my MT.... Can you explain the configuration, I am not familiar with the setup web proxy.

Daniel
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Thu May 07, 2009 1:35 pm

you should either setup dst-NAT of 80 port to your Squid, or setup NAT redirect of port 80 to ROS Proxy and set Parent Proxy to your Squid in you ROS Proxy
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
a4ubd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:50 pm

Is it possible to do dst_NAT in public ip ?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: transparent proxy for public ip

Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:37 pm

yes, why not. just do not forget to masquerade that traffic for clients with internal addresses
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 113 guests