Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
tbyte
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:52 pm
Location: Brazil

Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Fri Apr 17, 2009 12:01 am

Hi all,

I started this topic about BGP 32bit AS numbers: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 57&start=0
Now all new AS are 32bit numbers, as defined by RFC 4893 and explained at http://lacnic.net/en/politicas/manual4.html.

Thanks!!
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Fri Apr 17, 2009 12:44 am

you can still request a 2 byte ASN, they ask you which you want when submitting your ASN Request.

I just had a 2-byte ASN issued earlier this week.
-Brian

http://www.aditumims.com
Complete web based ISP in-a-box solution, designed specifically for Multi-Tenant properties, works great for WISPs too.
 
tbyte
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:52 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:38 pm

you can still request a 2 byte ASN, they ask you which you want when submitting your ASN Request.
I just had a 2-byte ASN issued earlier this week.
My AS number was already issued, i don't know if I can change now. :(
Mrz told that the routing-test package can support 4-byte ASN with xxxxx.xxxxx notation. I will make tests with this.

Thanks!!
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:05 am

APNIC are only allocating 4byte ASN now. I just got one this week.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8389
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:01 pm

2. On 1 January, 2009, the registry will process applications that specifically request 16-bit only AS Numbers and allocate such AS Numbers as requested by the applicant. In the absence of any specific request for a 16-bit only AS Number, a 32-bit only AS Number will be allocated by the registry .
3. On 1 January, 2010, the registry will cease to make any distinction between 16-bit only AS Numbers and 32-bit only AS Numbers, and will operate AS number allocations from an undifferentiated 32-bit AS Number allocation pool.
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:29 am

When configuring BGP you can use all three formats. If you enter asplain format during configuration it will work, but print will show asdot format, for example,

/routing bgp instance> add as=79000 router-id=1.1.1.1

/routing bgp instance> print
3 name="bgp3" as=1.13464 router-id=1.1.1.1 redistribute-connected=no redistribute-static=no redistribute-rip=no
redistribute-ospf=no redistribute-other-bgp=no out-filter="" client-to-client-reflection=yes
ignore-as-path-len=no
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Wed Apr 22, 2009 6:42 am

When configuring BGP you can use all three formats.
is this for current builds, or only for routing-test?
-Brian

http://www.aditumims.com
Complete web based ISP in-a-box solution, designed specifically for Multi-Tenant properties, works great for WISPs too.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Wed Apr 22, 2009 8:37 am

4-byte AS is supported _only_ in routing-test
 
amorsen
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:17 pm

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:54 pm

It would be very convenient if you switched to asplain for printing. asplain is the preferred format.

See e.g.: http://ripe.net/ripe/maillists/archives ... 00018.html
 
bofh666ie
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:57 pm

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:02 am

Yeah, ASPLAIN is now the only IETF supported notation. ASDOT was never formally adopted and is now deprecated.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:21 am

Next version will output AS in ASPLAIN format.
 
kalintri
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:01 am

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:06 am

OK. That seems to be the topic to write in.

My question is the following:
I have RouterBoard 450 with version 3.30 of the Router OS.
Will this combination of software and hardware work with a 32 bit AS? Will I be able to set up a 32 bit AS?

I have to set up a BGP with two providers. Their AS numbers are 16 bit, but mine will be 32 bit.

Thanks
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:58 am

Hardware power has nothing to do with the number of bytes in your ASN.
You should choose your hardware platform based on the number of routes you will handle.
I recommend either a x86 server with 2GB ram or more or an BR1000 with 2GB ram, if you plan to receive the full routing table.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
kalintri
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 10:01 am

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:11 am

Yes, I know that the hardware has nothing to do with the AS, I was just giving it as information. My question was is can I enter a 32bit AS into version 3.30?

Thanks
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:16 am

Yes, you can if routing-test package is installed and enabled.
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:28 pm

Hardware power has nothing to do with the number of bytes in your ASN.
You should choose your hardware platform based on the number of routes you will handle.
I recommend either a x86 server with 2GB ram or more or an BR1000 with 2GB ram, if you plan to receive the full routing table.
For one full IPv4 feed (312377 routes) & one full IPv6 feed (2728 routes), my x86 box only uses 261 MBytes of RAM. My recommendations would be to use atleast 512MB of ram for only 1 peer, 1GB for 2-3 peers. But ram is cheap, so put a 2GB in your RB1000 or RB1100 to get 1.5GB or 4GB in a x86 router to get 3-3.5GB (RouterOS is only 32-bit).

You might be able to use a rb450G (256MB of RAM) or rb800 (256MB), you would need to use route filters to cut down the number of routes. Dropping all /24 and longer routes should remove almost 50% of a full BGP feed. Also disable or uninstall all RouterOS extra packages: hotspot, ppp, wireless, dhcp, etc. A misconfiguration of your filters could crash your router, so more RAM would be preferred.

A rb450 only has 32MB of RAM, it would be impossible to get a enough routes from both ISP's to let BGP work to it's full potential. It might also be impossible to filter the number of routes down far enough to keep the router from running out of RAM and crashing or dropping the peer(s). Only a routerboard with 16MB of ram could be worse for BGP peering.
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 634
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:41 pm

For one full IPv4 feed (312377 routes)
Sorry for unrelated question but i want full IPv4 feed and any of my peers does not provide full feed . Is there a way for me to have full feed of IPv4 ?
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:19 pm

Ehm, that has nothing to do with RouterOS. Talk to your upstreams.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 634
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:55 pm

I know . as i said it is unrelated to RouterOS . I mean a way like an open peering on internet which provides full ipv4 feed.
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Feature request - BGP 32bit AS numbers

Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:47 am

For one full IPv4 feed (312377 routes)
Sorry for unrelated question but i want full IPv4 feed and any of my peers does not provide full feed . Is there a way for me to have full feed of IPv4 ?
If you actually want to use the full feed for routing, then the only ones that you can talk to are your upstream providers.

If you want a full-feed for routing table analysis etc., then it is possible to create a multi-hop bgp feed. This is what a lot of distributed looking glasses use. You still need to find somebody, that will do the multi-hop bpg peering with you, but it wouldn't need to be your providers.

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: george72 and 62 guests