Community discussions

 
micromaster
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:21 pm

Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:32 pm

Hi People..
I Have a really disturbing problem , i have a 3.15 Mikrotik RouterOs Working on a P4 2GBRAM 160SATA H.D PC
its works good and all interface are read...the only problem that i have is it keeps on freezing on me after running for a while
i have like 15 users only and its just goes dead .. no login page no nothin.
i thought maybe its alot of pressure on it so i disabled caching and it still freezez
i installed a new windows server 2003 server in the network to work as a DHCP server so ican disable DHCP on the mikrotik server so i can take off some more pressure..
and still doesnt work...............
what should i do........................
i changed swiches -- changed PC's to an AMD PC
nothin nothin nothin
Plzzzzzzzz Help.
thanks
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:53 pm

That hardware can handle much much more than that. Don't bother with DHCP. Look at the hardware, the problem is there.

You say you changed the hardware completely and still it freezes. Are you sure? Do you changed also the NICs ?? Maybe one of them is causing the freezing.
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
micromaster
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:57 pm

ya i did change the NICS the first one had 10/100MB LAN Card
so i got a 10/100/1000 NIC for the other other one
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:18 pm

Does the keyb numlock led turn on and off when you press the numlock button??
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
micromaster
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:31 pm

didnt drough my attenion before
why whold the numlock button have any thing to do about my problem?
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:36 pm

Just to know if the PC freezes completely
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:47 pm

Use hardware on the supported routerOS hardware section would help as well.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
Inssomniak
Member
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:21 pm

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:57 pm

maybe turn off multi CPU?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:21 pm

as for 3.22, it works fine with multi-cpu=yes. we use pptp + queues
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
eonye
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:06 pm

I guess the drive that contains ur os has bad sectors, you may need to reinstall the OS or change the hard drive
 
User avatar
parrini
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Bahia, Brazil

Re: Please Help Me !! Im in Deep Trouble

Mon Apr 27, 2009 3:11 pm

Hi People..
I Have a really disturbing problem , i have a 3.15 Mikrotik RouterOs Working on a P4 2GBRAM 160SATA H.D PC
its works good and all interface are read...the only problem that i have is it keeps on freezing on me after running for a while
i have like 15 users only and its just goes dead .. no login page no nothin.
i thought maybe its alot of pressure on it so i disabled caching and it still freezez
i installed a new windows server 2003 server in the network to work as a DHCP server so ican disable DHCP on the mikrotik server so i can take off some more pressure..
and still doesnt work...............
what should i do........................
i changed swiches -- changed PC's to an AMD PC
nothin nothin nothin
Plzzzzzzzz Help.
thanks
Try RouterOS 3.22, it seems to be much more stable than 3.15. Also, as said, disable SMP (multi-cpu=no) as a test.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 108 guests