Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Newsletter #17

Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:00 pm

http://www.mikrotik.com/pdf/newsletter17.pdf

* Wake on LAN
* Logging to file
* Two new RouterBOARD products
* new Support request form
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:56 pm

Hello normis, are you able to link us to any further information on the WOL implementation?
I'm running ROS v3.23 x86 and the command doesn't appear under the /tools list

Also, is this going to be included in the system package or under advanced tools? (I have both on this device at the moment, but wanted to know as this wasn't mentioned in the newsletter)
Last edited by omega-00 on Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
mushmx
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Newsletter #17

Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:59 pm

Yeah, I have the V3.23 and the same don't appear the tool WOL :? . But anyway it a great news :D
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Newsletter #17

Thu Apr 23, 2009 8:47 am

I think it's going to be in the next version. the tool is a very standard WOL tool, specify the MAC and it just sends the MagicPacket (UDP) to broadcast address. It doesn't support SecureOn (password based).
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:02 am

Thanks for the WOL; I look forward to it!
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:32 am

come on Newsletter #18 with RB616 ;)
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Newsletter #17

Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:45 am

Why are there two power jacks on rb450G?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8370
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Sat Apr 25, 2009 12:49 pm

redundant power supply? =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: Newsletter #17

Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:55 pm

I would say parallel - if same voltage both will be used at 1/2 all the time, but if 1 dies other will take full load (so there is some kind of redundancy)
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:12 pm

I would say parallel - if same voltage both will be used at 1/2 all the time, but if 1 dies other will take full load (so there is some kind of redundancy)

this is true¿??
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Fri May 01, 2009 5:04 pm

I would say parallel - if same voltage both will be used at 1/2 all the time, but if 1 dies other will take full load (so there is some kind of redundancy)

this is true¿??
Not true. If you plug two power supplies into this, they will fight each other until at least one dies. You never want to connect the outputs of two DC power sources in parallel. Systems with redundant power supplies have additional circuitry that keeps them isolated from each other.

I think the reason for the 2nd power jack is so you can build it into a rack mounted case and have the power supply inside the case and use an external standard computer power cord. (Like the RB1000U.)

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Mon May 04, 2009 11:14 am

Dear Mikrotik support,

can you explain us wich is the reason of the 2nd power connector?


Thanks!
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Newsletter #17

Tue May 05, 2009 9:19 am

yes, it's to use with a different case where you don't want the plug to be hanging out of the front. like a rackmount for example.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Tue May 05, 2009 11:05 am

Where is this rackmount case?

In Made for mikoritk section?

Thanks,
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Newsletter #17

Tue May 05, 2009 11:39 am

I don't know :) there is no specific case, i'm just talking about "if you want to"
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Tue May 05, 2009 12:09 pm

Oks,

thanks!
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
lizard79
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:35 am

Re: Newsletter #17

Tue Jun 09, 2009 5:04 pm

hi. Does wol command work for anybody? I have two installations of rb100 and rb133 with routeros 3.24, but i'm unable to wake up computers using this wol coomand. I have separate linux machine on the network instaled and wol from this is working fine...
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:57 pm

Doesn't work for me yet.

Here is a 3.24 433.
  MikroTik RouterOS 3.24 (c) 1999-2009       http://www.mikrotik.com/

Property of Midcoast Internet Solutions 2075948277 or www.midcoast.com
Unauthorized access will be prosecuted. 
All Access is logged.
  
[admin@111Lucia] > ip address print 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         BROADCAST       INTERFACE              
 0   69.39.102.36/27    69.39.102.32    69.39.102.63    ether1                 
 1   10.0.54.1/24       10.0.54.0       10.0.54.255     ether2                 
 2   10.3.25.1/24       10.3.25.0       10.3.25.255     ether3                 
 3   10.3.26.1/24       10.3.26.0       10.3.26.255     ether3                 
 4   192.168.1.2/24     192.168.1.0     192.168.1.255   ether2                 
 5   10.0.27.250/24     10.0.27.0       10.0.27.255     ether1                 
 6 D 10.4.2.4/32        10.4.2.1        0.0.0.0         pptp-out1              
[admin@111Lucia] > /tool wol 00:19:DB:62:7B:FB

[admin@111Lucia] > /tool wol 00:19:DB:62:7B:FB

This is supposed to start something on ether2. I'm suprised WOL doesn't need to specify an interface to send the magic packet to. It doesn't increment any firewall counters, so I doubt it's that.

This is what I use on my PC to accomplish the WOL.
jp@xj13:~> more /usr/local/mis/bin/e-type 
#!/bin/bash
/usr/bin/wakeonlan 00:19:DB:62:7B:FB
echo E-type has been started.
jp@xj13:~> 
 
rlima
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:42 am
Location: South America

Re: Newsletter #17

Mon Jul 27, 2009 4:22 am

As far as I know WOL still not working.
Somebody know when it will be able.

Many thx, Ricardo
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: Newsletter #17

Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:18 pm

It is possible that perhaps an arp entry must exist for the MAC.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Topic Author
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Newsletter #17

Wed Jul 29, 2009 3:20 pm

maybe somebody can use a sniffer and capture the stream from the WOL packets that don't wake that PC? and maybe also the stream from a working non-MT solution to the same PC?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rlima
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:42 am
Location: South America

Re: Newsletter #17

Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:25 am

The MAC of the machine I am traying to wake up is in the ARP list.
When i make a Packet Sniff there is no packet

I wiil send to suport an email with the cap

Bye Ricardo
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: Newsletter #17

Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:29 pm

[admin@111Lucia] /file> /tool wol 00:19:DB:62:7B:FB
is what I do. Nothing gets captured when I sniff according to the following setup:
[admin@111Lucia] /file> /tool sniffer export 
# aug/03/2009 13:20:30 by RouterOS 3.25
# software id = Z6DV-8JR8
#
/tool sniffer
set file-limit=1000 file-name=wolcap filter-address1=0.0.0.0/0:0-65535 \
    filter-address2=0.0.0.0/0:0-65535 filter-protocol=all-frames \
    filter-stream=no interface=ether2 memory-limit=100 only-headers=no \
    streaming-enabled=no streaming-server=0.0.0.0
[admin@111Lucia] /file> 

This command is on opensuse linux using wakeonlan v0.41 according to -v usage or 1.4.2.3 according to the top of the perl program file.
jp@xj13:~> cat /usr/local/mis/bin/e-type 
#!/bin/bash
/usr/bin/wakeonlan 00:19:DB:62:7B:FB
echo E-type has been started.
jp@xj13:~> 
The capture file is attached from the following command:
tcpdump -n -i eth0 src or dst not 10.0.2.4 -w capture.txt
I was ssh'd in from 10.0.2.4 so that why that's excluded.

Also attached is a screenshot of the wakeup packet from that capture displayed in wireshark.
wolcap.png
I wonder if routerOS is sending the command to the wrong interface? My lan is on ether2.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Newsletter #17

Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:39 pm

i have ther same problem pc connected to the rb works fine

but pc connected to swicth were rb is connected to works 60%

if more ther 3 eth are connected


and pc connected to rb 70% of the time it works

if 3 eth are connected to switch and rb to switch 30% of the timer it works
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andriys, Baidu [Spider], bandoravic, csalcedo, FPnut, tdw and 88 guests