Community discussions

 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:40 am

Hi, I installed MT on VirtualBox (finally :) ) , but PPPoE connection wont work :(.

I installed ethernet card WAN interface for MT, but PPPoE client cannot establish connection.

Is there a way to make this work?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:23 pm

Does it work from the Host OS ?
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:35 pm

Yes, it works.
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Wed May 06, 2009 9:08 am

Bump pls.
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Thu May 07, 2009 10:23 am

Anyone please :(
 
andret
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:08 am

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Fri May 08, 2009 10:16 pm

Hi, I installed MT on VirtualBox (finally :) ) , but PPPoE connection wont work :(.

I installed ethernet card WAN interface for MT, but PPPoE client cannot establish connection.

Is there a way to make this work?
Did you share the correct network card to the virtual pc ?
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Sun May 10, 2009 2:34 am

yes I did. Did You manage to make pppoe connection from virtual machine ?
 
andret
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:08 am

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Sun May 10, 2009 8:00 am

I just installed a new MT 3.23 x86 within a virtual pc (using Microsoft Virtual PC 2007) and configured pppoe client and it connected perfectly.

The fact that its working on the host OS should imply that you would be able to use it from within Virtual PC provided you've shared the correct network adaptor to the virtual pc in which you've installed MT 3.23.

The only other thing I am unsure of is what effect the windows firewall (or any other type of firewall software you may have installed) has on the virtual pc's ability to send non-ip packets using the adaptor in question.

Assuming there's no evident bug in MT 3.23 preventing the use of PPPOE from within a Virtual PC I'd recommend looking at the latter issues.
 
titius
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:43 am
Location: Titel Serbia

Re: Create PPPoE connection from VirtualMachine?

Mon May 11, 2009 12:23 pm

Im trying from VirtualBox from Linux HOST

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 119 guests