Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Brad
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 8:58 am

Multiple IP's over one PPPoE session

Tue May 17, 2005 11:20 pm

Is it possible to provide a range/block of IP's via a single PPPoE account? Assuming it is possible to do this via MT, do I need a special router on the other end to support multiple IPs? I have never seen a lower end Trendnet or Linksys router that would support NAT on multiple IPs.

Thanks,
Brad
 
UniKyrn
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:27 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Tue May 17, 2005 11:41 pm

I've done it by assigning the customer a fixed IP for their PPPoE session, then routing a subnet to that fixed IP, works fairly well. You do need more than a toy router at the other end though.
 
Brad
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 8:58 am

Tue May 17, 2005 11:48 pm

The customer needs to be able to have seperate public IP's that will be assigned to 2 different boxes both running web servers on port 80.
 
UniKyrn
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:27 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Tue May 17, 2005 11:57 pm

And if you route them at least a /29, they can have up to five public systems.
 
eflanery
Member
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: Moscow, ID
Contact:

Wed May 18, 2005 1:07 am

Some little routers (at least Linksys) allow you to disable NAT (Linksys calls it 'router mode' vs. 'gateway mode'). They can then correctly route a subnet.

If they have a decent router (MT, 'vendor C', etc...), you can actually route them multiple individual IPs, by adding '/32' routes to their PPPoE secret (or radius DB entry). This will get the traffic correctly sent over the PPPoE tunnel, leaving it up to the router on the other end to deal with it from there.

--Eric
Eric Flanery
Wireless Manager
FirstStep Internet
(208)882-8869

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: monyi, rioven, silverbios and 101 guests