Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
piwi3910
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

SMP??

Thu May 19, 2005 4:28 pm

will this be implented in MT any time soon???

i have a router with 12 intel 64bit Gbit interfaces.. and cpu is running high now.

it's a dual xeon system, so my second cpu is doing nothing.
i tested it with a plain linux with SMP and the load is nice over the 2 cpu's.

so i would love to see this in MT. i know others asked this before to...

any idea?
 
mip
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 8:19 pm
Location: Ráckeve
Contact:

Sun May 22, 2005 11:14 am

MT said before: not on the list.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7q0Y_JZMrg - the country you must visit
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Mon May 23, 2005 12:26 am

Yes they did say "no" -

... but if we look at all the recent announcements from Intel, Via, AMD, and even MS Xbox 360 everyone is going dual or more cores per motherboard.
Despite Moore's law that seems to be the only way vendors see to get the increased processing power.
So in MT's shoes, I'd seriously be looking at a multi-core solution somewhere on the roadmap for the high-end router solutions -
Comments welcome!

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
piwi3910
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

i need this 2....

Mon May 23, 2005 9:51 am

if you just go and look to all manufactures of high end embedded network devices, they 2 all go dual....
 
mp3turbo2
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 9:15 am

Mon May 23, 2005 12:41 pm

dual-core CPUs are lot different architecture than dual-processor systems. Also, I don't think that having 12x 64bit gigabit interfaces in ONE physical system is good idea (I don't even know anything that can handle 12x 64bit !! PCI).

Even if such hardware exists, it would cost thousands and thousands of $$$$ and running 90$ system on it and having almost millions of $$$$ in responsibility on it is very strange idea. For things like this - we are speaking of 12x gigabit interfaces, are we? - different classes of hardware are usually used : they are called junipers, ciscos etc.
 
piwi3910
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

yes but.

Mon May 23, 2005 1:01 pm

We idd used to have some cisco routers and junipers.
But we kicked them out in favor off MT.you get a mutch better performance vs price ratio then any other 'big company' router.
also all our customers now have MT routers and they also kicked out their cisco's in favor of our MT systems.
now the only system that's not a MT router is one of our juniper backbone routers. i would also like to trow out those ones and replace them with a few portwel.com.tw +MT soft routers in a VRRP config.
they will be using about 4 fiber gigabit interfaces.
and guess what, i now have the hardware running with a custom linux distro. and my network has a better reply and uptime then with the 12 port juniper routers.
but i miss the ease and features of MT
but with MT on the same hardware, the cpu is the limiting factor and the second one is doing notting.
so i really need dual cpu smp support in MT to begin using MT for high end configs.
i plce where MT is really well in because it's fast routing, features and great cli.
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Mon May 23, 2005 1:28 pm

I don't think MT are trying to compete with 24 or 12 port Gigabit solutions from Cisco or Juniper.
But a 4 port Gigabit system with some extra 10/100 ports, running on low cost hardware, plus redundant PSUs (easy) would be an excellent solution for several applications including corporate and campus use.
I can think of a lot of customers who'd use that.

I am getting the feeling that single-CPU hardware is reaching the limits of technology, so chip makers are going multi-core - and board makers multi-CPU (quite right to note the different, thanks!).
FWIW, the new Xbox 360 games console has 3x 3.2GHz processors - now that could make a great router platform .... :wink: ... just need to add some Gigabit line cards ...

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon May 23, 2005 1:34 pm

I don't think MT are trying to compete with
Who knows what the future will bring :)
FWIW, the new Xbox 360 games console has 3x 3.2GHz
and sony's "cell" has at least double that power. we're talking 2 teraflops ;) router os on that - crazy.
 
piwi3910
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

is'nt it possible

Mon May 23, 2005 1:39 pm

is't it possible just to make a system-smp.npk and leave the other packages like they are for the time being???
so we can choose to go dual cpu or not.
i know some packages will need recompiling for optimum performance.
but at least the thruput will get it's gain for now...
 
User avatar
stephenpatrick
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 703
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 12:26 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Mon May 23, 2005 2:22 pm

There is an "architecture" issue about how to divide tasks up between CPUs, and intercommunication.
Perhaps L3 features could run on one CPU, the physical interfaces (ethernet, wireless) plus bridinging managed on the other
Non-trivial, but needs to be looked at.

In the "big router world" the vendors have Network Processors optimised for handling L3 and higher on the traffic flows. They sit inline between the network interface and the switching fabric.
Not sure if this translates into a 2-CPU or 2-core x86 board architecture with its PCI (and now PCI-express ) buses.

Regards
CableFree - Wireless Excellence - Microwave, E-band Radios, Free Space Optics, High performance Radios & Routers
http://www.cablefree.net
 
piwi3910
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 5:02 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

junipers

Mon May 23, 2005 2:46 pm

those juniper routers are just plain stupid pc's.
with some intel networkcards in them running some (linux)based os from a harddisk.

they do have some accelerator chips on them, but you can buy those 2 from some HW suplliers.

but from my tests... as long as we don't run to mutch bandwith (cpu only one)
MT outperforms my cisco and juniper routers everytime..
not only on performance and features but also PRICE....

and i like having dual powersuplies and running from flash.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 90 guests