Community discussions

 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:42 pm

Hello all, I am new to the forum and to the microTik routers and let me start by saying that I am really loving this little box (RouterBoard 450). Guys/Girls, I'm in need of some clarification on VRRP. I have a customer that has two (2) ISP connections and requires redunduncy. I have read the following and I must say there are a lot of holes in the examples.

http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/3.0/ha/vrrp.php
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/VRRP
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/VRRP-examples

Here is where my confusion lies, the master/owner needs to be the same IP as the LAN IP of the master router, yet the examples have different IPs and if you try to add the same IP as the LAN IP, the router advises that the IP is already in use. I assumed that the default gateway of the hosts/PCs would have to be the virtual router IP address, am I correct? otherwise how will the hosts know where to look for a backup router if the master fails and the backup LAN IP address is different from the master?

Ideally, I would really appreciate it if someone would provide a WORKING CONFIGURATION, so I can wrap my brain around this setup. I am familiar with and have been using Cisco's HSRP, but if I can get this to work for significantly less equipment cost, then this becomes a win-win situation for both the customer and myself.

Thank you everyone,


George
Last edited by Geonetworks on Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:28 am

Two main things:

1) you said you're using VRRP for 2 ISP connections, do you actually have 2 routers? (possibly a dumb question, just checking)
2) If you're trying to use both ISP's at the same time, have a look at this thread: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=32586
3) as the for VRRP I'm afraid I haven't used it much myself either so I'll leave someone else to post about that.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:47 am

VRRP is Virtual Router Redundancy Protocol - so, you are using it to make your 1 link more stable, VRRP will migrate your 1 IP address to other router while previous Master router is out. For redundancy of 2 or more ISPs please refer to articles about Load balancing, OSPF, BGP as you are choosing wrong protocol for the task.
 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:06 pm

Thanks for responding guys.

The answer to the question: do I have two (2) routers? Yes I do, one (1) for each ISP.

I am using VRRP to make one (1) link the preferred/default route to the internet and the other/seperate ISP connection the backup route if/when the preferred route fails. I am NOT attempting to load balance between the two ISP connections.

One circuit is a ten (10) MB connection and the other is a six (6) MB connection, the preferred/default connection is the former.


Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:49 pm

VRRP is for router hardware failures, not for routes downs. for internet link backup one router is enough
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:31 pm

How do I achieve my objective without doing load balancing? If this can be done with just one router, even better, less cost. Remember, NO LOAD BALANCING, I want the master to route ALL TRAFFIC and in the event it fails, the backup begin to route ALL TRAFFIC until the master recovers.


Thanks again,


George
Last edited by Geonetworks on Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5943
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:36 pm

You need only one router.
Add two default routes, one with greater distance than another and check-gateway=ping

/ip route
add gateway=x.x.x.x check-gateway=ping
add gateway=y.y.y.y check-gateway=ping distance=100

when x.x.x.x gateway fails, router will switch to y.y.y.y gateway.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:40 pm

VRRP is there for configuration when you have two (2) routers on one (1) link, so no matter what happens with one router, the other one will take over that link.
 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 5:43 pm

Thank you Janisk, this is what I am trying to accomplish. For some reason though, I keep getting generalized replies, instead of solid (no holes) examples of how to actually get VRRP up and working. I appreciate the replies, but how about someone just give me the skinny on VRRP.

Thanks all,


George
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 5:58 pm

OMG!.. so how many internet connections do you have: one or two?!?

first you said that you have two different links, now you say that you have one link, as Janis wrote...

UPD: please select A) or B)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:33 pm

My bad Chupaka, I do have two (2) internet connections, I didn't mean to confuse anyone. I misread/misinterpreted Janisk's reply.

I am confused why everyone seems to believe that VRRP is only for one ISP connection/link and not for two (2). I have even been advised that only one router is required with two (2) ISP connections/links. My question on that is how can you accomplish this with one ISP connection/link, when the IP address (public) will be the same on two separate interfaces on the same device, I don't believe the device would even allow you to assign the same IP on multiple interfaces.

So, we're back to square one, two (2) ISP connections. How do I get VRRP to work? That's VRRP, NOT load balancing.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:06 pm

vrrp again... VRRP is for B)

if you need A), then
You need only one router.
Add two default routes, one with greater distance than another and check-gateway=ping

/ip route
add gateway=x.x.x.x check-gateway=ping
add gateway=y.y.y.y check-gateway=ping distance=100

when x.x.x.x gateway fails, router will switch to y.y.y.y gateway.
but... why same addresses on different interfaces?.. post the details of your config, please
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:16 pm

Please take a look at the examples on the links I provided below and tell me again, that VRRP is for only one (1) ISP connection/Link, specifically the part that says:

"We have connections to two different Internet Service Providers (ISPs), and one of them is preferred (for example, it is cheaper or faster)."

http://www.mikrotik.com/testdocs/ros/3.0/ha/vrrp.php
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/VRRP
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/VRRP-examples


Thanks.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:49 pm

but in case of vrrp, you will switch to another internet channel only if the first router will fail. if first internet channel will fail, but first router will still work - second channel will not bring up
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Geonetworks
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:13 pm

At last, we are on the same page. Now, you have a valid point concerning the ISP link failure issue, as apposed to hardware/router failure. This is the exactly the same as Cisco's HSRP. However, for now, I'd just like to get VRRP working and then maybe, I could start a new topic on how to obtain a script to possibly disable the VRRP interface on the master router if it's gateway cannot be reached, so the backup router will assume the master role. I believe the script will address the link failure issue you mentioned.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:10 am

well, if you still need VRRP - so there's link to examples in your first post. for link failover, you do not need scripts, you should just use http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 15#p160215

if I understand your first question in right way, then you should add persistent IPs for each router and then add third IP to VRRP interface, which will be default gateway for your customer. so you have access to main IPs for configuration and as gateway for link failover scenario, and virtual IP is default gateway for a customer for hardware failover scenario
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
el berto
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:53 am

Re: lot of holes in the VRRP examples-Please help?

Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:03 pm

I know the thread is a bit old, but I'm a bit confused:

I usually use VRRP when I have to switch among one or more routers (every router has got it own internet connection) in case of a router failure (let's suppose hardware failure), so the system automatically switches to another router.
Like in this example:
Image

But the focus is create through VRRP a router switchover among routers checking SEVERAL internet connections, so I can:
- switch from master ISP to slave ISP when master ISP fails
- switch form master router to slave router in case of master router hardware failure
Like this:
Image

Right?

So I can solve the second case in this way (on every VRRP router):
/ip route
add gateway=x.x.x.x check-gateway=ping
add gateway=y.y.y.y check-gateway=ping distance=100
DHave I correctly understood?
Thanks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 83 guests