Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
maddinx2
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Leer (Ostriesland) Germany

Proxylizer is not working

Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:56 pm

Hello @ all.

I am new in this forum, but i looked many times to the topics here. But now i don´t know what to do an didn´t find a answer. I try to install the proxylizer and took the vmware image in vmware player.

The image starts up but proxylizer don´t work properly. I can ping the vmware image form my host computer and can open the website too. When i´m logging in no data is shown.
The web-proxy logs to console and in the vmware image in /var/log/messages.
I found errors in /var/log/proxylizer/webproxytodb_debug.log.
There are entries:
Error : Can´t open file /home/proxylizer/mysql.pipe

So i changed the permissions to the /home/proxylizer directory to 777.

Now there no errors in log.

Then i checked with crontab -l if there is a crontab for root. There was no crontab so i startet the command crontab /home/proxylizer/proxylizercrontab.

I think now works all. But i have no reports.

have anybody an idea what i forgot?

Sorry for my grammar !!!

Martin
 
vtzan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:52 pm

I had the same problem.
I changed the /home/proxylizer/mysql.pipe permissions and data is now tranferred
to mysql. Check that with phpmyadmin.

well the problem is that i can't GENERATE REPORTS AT ALL.
crontab is correct and permissions too. No errors in proxylizer logs.

Using the vmware image.

Any help would be appreciated.

thanks
 
maddinx2
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:39 pm
Location: Leer (Ostriesland) Germany

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:34 pm

OK. I did now all the steps which are in the getting started guide 3 times. I did it step by step and checked the logs. First, i had an error in the permission settings. But know i have no errors in the log and no data transfered in the sql. I tried this in the vmware image and on my server.

Has anybody a working proxylizer and can help me?
 
vtzan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:10 pm

The main problem is extracting the mysql data to the web interface.
Mikrotik -> Syslog -> Mysql = WORKS
Mysql -> Web interface = Problem!
 
rcayenne
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:09 pm

I have the same problem using vmware image, reports are not generated. Already solved the permission error with mysql.pipe, confirmed that data is properly inserted into the database.
However when I check an report I created earlier, all I get is a "Check status" message.

@vtzan can you explain your findings regarding the data retreival from mysql ?
 
vtzan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:18 pm

I have the same problem using vmware image, reports are not generated. Already solved the permission error with mysql.pipe, confirmed that data is properly inserted into the database.
However when I check an report I created earlier, all I get is a "Check status" message.

@vtzan can you explain your findings regarding the data retreival from mysql ?
I used phpmyadmin package and then browsed throught the database and saw all domains that have been visited by my network's subnet. Which means that the mysql is logging correctly but the web interface doensn't generate reports. I remeber i run by hand a crontab script but the reported got to my mailbox just empty.....

mikrotik support just notified. will keep you posted.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:18 pm

Everybody having problems, including me, does anybody has an answer?


Regards

JB
 
erikhp
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:12 am

Proxylizer it works

Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:26 am

Hi, i just want to tell to everybody that i install and configure proxylizer successfully, just follow the instructions. it works!!!
 
vtzan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Proxylizer it works

Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:16 pm

Hi, i just want to tell to everybody that i install and configure proxylizer successfully, just follow the instructions. it works!!!
i figured that out, i was just confused because system wanted its time to make and send reports.

cheers.
 
kava
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:29 am

Re: Proxylizer it works

Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:34 pm

I can also see by using phpmyadmin that the data is being recorded in mysql.
I have also manually run the two items in the crontab but I don't see any emails/reports being generated.

What did you do to get the scripts working? It's been 24 hours since I installed/configure/ran a report. Am I not waiting long enough???
Hi, i just want to tell to everybody that i install and configure proxylizer successfully, just follow the instructions. it works!!!
i figured that out, i was just confused because system wanted its time to make and send reports.

cheers.
 
User avatar
edgar_abraham
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:56 pm
Location: Mexicali, Mexico

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:59 pm

Hi all, i posted some information in the follow page, just set up web proxy and that's it

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Proxylize ... _server.29

regards.... :D
 
kava
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:29 am

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:43 pm

Does anyone have any suggestions? I can see that mysql is being populated with data, but I cannot generate any reports in the web interface.
 
erikhp
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 2:12 am

Re: Proxylizer it works

Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:50 pm

just click the button generate now, you don have to wait more than 5 minutes to see the report, send me a PM, i can help you to check the proxylizer configuration files. If you want i can access to your linux box through ssh and checkit for you.
I can also see by using phpmyadmin that the data is being recorded in mysql.
I have also manually run the two items in the crontab but I don't see any emails/reports being generated.

What did you do to get the scripts working? It's been 24 hours since I installed/configure/ran a report. Am I not waiting long enough???
Hi, i just want to tell to everybody that i install and configure proxylizer successfully, just follow the instructions. it works!!!
i figured that out, i was just confused because system wanted its time to make and send reports.

cheers.
 
User avatar
bax
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:25 pm

I akso have problems with setup ... Im try wmare image and it was working for some time, then stop to work ... no data receiving .
So I start instaling latest debian 5.0.4 into vmware and folowed wiki ... and stuck again :D
Well Im try almost everything which I found on forum and I dont no where is error.
Im stop in setup window with browser
... last error is DB Error: connect failed
Im find also some errors in index.php like this :
line 32 if (!@include("config_constants.php")) {
so because file config_constants.php does not exist i change this to constants.php .
I found this when Im look into log.
My last log error in /var/log/proxylizer/mail_send_log.log is:
2010-02-17 22:11 | Not connected to DB!
it was generated when I submit browser first setup ...
Other log files is empty.
Something is wrong but I dont know what ...
Im also install phpMyAdmin and I see that database is created and receive some data from router ... but im stuck in that part ...
Im really not familiar with debian ...
Can somebody help ?
 
calabria2
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:08 am

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:27 pm

Hey guys!

So, did anyone figured this out?

i had two debug messages
1st. cannot open mysql.pipe fiel
2nd. not walid web proxy log

still having trouble, maby someone could help me?
 
RaynoP
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:59 am

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:00 pm

Hi guys,

I suffer from the same proxylizer not working problem.

I started on a Ubuntu 11.04 server and followed the instructions very carefully. It gives me a blank webpage with nothing on and sometimes a blank page with the mikrotik logo. I then moved over to the VM image out of desparation and this gives me a lovely "page not found" error.

I have checked all the server logs on both servers as per the various forum posts and there simply are no errors any where. May I please ask if there is someone that is willing to remote into the box and check the config out for me please?

PM me for the details.

Rayno
 
grizly
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Wed Jan 02, 2013 5:22 am

I got it to work.. partly. Its logging entries at least, thousands of them!

For some reason it splits requests into User & URL's into domain and path.. which is weird, as rebuilding them from the database is made more difficult, something I discovered when I couldn't get the bloody thing to produce even one report, I was getting LOTS of email from it too, errors in php mainly. I rectified as many as possible (you know, declaring variables before they are appended too, fixing/commenting as necessary to enable it to run on my prod-ready server).. till now I can get it to generate a "now" report, but not a schedule report, so I have no idea which users are doing what, the whole purpose of the exercise!
I can see which domains are being accessed the most, which is something, but only manually, but I can already do that with squid (the parent proxy), I needed to match the users and domains together for management.

Any troubleshooting tips for the proxylizer report screens? Might have to hack attack the report generation script and have a looksee, will report back if I get it working.
 
grizly
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia

Re: Proxylizer is not working

Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:08 am

I got it to work.. partly. Its logging entries at least, thousands of them!
Made a better solution by directing the logs to my Ubuntu workstation and filtering input with some simple syslog-ng configs.. Got proper logs and it all just "works".. :-)

The critical part:
filter web { match('web-proxy' value("PROGRAM")); };

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: codebreaker, Google [Bot], mbovenka, MSN [Bot] and 107 guests