Page 1 of 1

rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:14 am
by shrek777
Hello
I have such problem, I have 6 mikrotik routerboards connected to each other,

10.1.1.1 <------> 10.1.2.1
10.2.1.1 <------> 10.2.2.1
10.3.1.1 <------> 10.3.2.1

today 10.1.1.1 and 10.2.1.1 stopped working, than i have connect my laptop to 10.2.2.1 and in my winbox a saw 10.2.1.1, I have logged in and problem was that mikrotik was working but on intarfesis ethernet tx rx bytes was zero, what can be the problem???

Re: rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:47 pm
by shrek777
Please help me, wireless is working but ethernet not, POE works good too

Re: rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:00 pm
by GuJack20
Have you connected through wireless?
The chip, controller of the RB411 has burned out. This happens mostly after thunderstorms and faulty grounded ethernet cable.
Contact your distributor. He will be able to repair it.

Re: rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:32 pm
by shrek777
o I bought it from lithuania, from wifi-stock. and I am from Georgia, Maybe there is some manual how to repair it? and now i have changed and install two other mikrotiks maybe thay can burn too?

Re: rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:23 pm
by GuJack20
everything CAN break. This isn't a MikroTik exclusive phenomena :)
Often the Ethernet Cards burn out (with most equipment) if you have cables that are not precisely grounded. We tell to our customers to use UTP when they have not a good grounding. From our experience UTP is better than FTP in these cases. Of course FTP is the standard for outdoor use, but we have found that the ethernet cards failur decreased when using UTP in not grounded systems..

You can send the 411 back to Lithuania (i don't think that kind of failure is covered by the warranty) so the cost of repair can be higher than the price of the Routerboard itself.

We repair that kind of failure here for just 8 Euros, but i don't think shipping that routerboard to us is a solution :( :(

Re: rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:14 am
by shrek777
But Antenna with Mast is grounded and how can i ground cable? Now I have install rb433AH and i am worried about it, can you tell me how to graund cable, because mast where antenna is mounted is graunded.

and power on rb433ah is going with ftp cable, but in the end is connected dc extrator and so routerboard takeing power from its dc input not from ethernet interface is it safe?

Re: rb411 network or POE problem

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:50 am
by shrek777
uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuup