Community discussions

 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:07 pm

It looks like there is no way to do netinstall on the new RB411R
and RB750, since both of them don't have Serial Port, right?
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:34 am

in the picture RB411R have serial port
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:31 am

which picture? no it doesn't. wait for the newsletter
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1963
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:38 am

this one
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 11:53 am

it's not the RB411R
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:12 pm

So Normis, what about netinstall? :)
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:18 pm

holding the small little button during boot will run the network booting option.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:57 pm

to be exact, push button, and plug in power, wait till router beeps and light goes off on the router. after that router will boot up from your netinstall. You should run netinstall before operation because wait time is rather short to start booting
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:06 pm

Is this button visible in any of the published pictures?
I haven't acquired any of these routerboards yet, so I can
only see the pictures :)

Thank you
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:09 pm

all routerboards have this button. pick up any you have
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:40 pm

I guess you're talking about what I long beleived was the
non working "reset hardware button" ha ha.
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:06 am

before it loaded the backup bootloader. now it has an additional function.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:12 pm

to be exact, push button, and plug in power, wait till router beeps and light goes off on the router. after that router will boot up from your netinstall. You should run netinstall before operation because wait time is rather short to start booting
Sorry to bring this topic back, but I just tried netinstall on RB750 as described
but didn't succeeded. Netinstall version 3.28 and RB750 with RouterOS 3.29

And looks like RB750 doesn't have any beep during boot
Any help?
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 2:28 am

u using port 1 ?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:32 am

same here, I got RB750 (bought for tests) and need to reinstall, no serial connector, netinstall dont see it and dont work, Im trying port 1 and port 5, no beep while booting, cause it dont have any speaker...

I tried to power off, push reset, and while holding reset turn power on, it seems to boot normaly, no change, but default configuration is loaded

I cant use default config, cause something on that RB is corrupted, while Im able to connect via telnet, run check installation, then I got plenty of error messages that I have to contact support :) Wingox dont work, it says "could not get index: missing file"


so how can I reinstall this RB ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:34 am

please look at the quick guide:
http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist/do ... ile_id=106

it says there:
Hold this button during boot time longer, until LED turns off,
then release it to make RB750 look for Netinstall servers.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:56 am

please look at the quick guide:
http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist/do ... ile_id=106

it says there:
Hold this button during boot time longer, until LED turns off,
then release it to make RB750 look for Netinstall servers.
I try this before, 1st and 5th port, netinstall dont see that RB
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:30 pm

why do you need to netinstall anyway? did you try to reset it first?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:01 pm

why do you need to netinstall anyway? did you try to reset it first?
as I say, my installation of MT is corrupted, Im not able co connect via winbox, because it says "index missing" if I try to connect via telnet and run "check-install" than I got plenty of errors, that some files are missing. Yes I have tried to reset configuration, many times :)

I already tried to upload new package through FTP, it says no enought space... I realy thint I got defective piece and I will try to make reclamation on this...



BTW: I realy hate this default configurations :) especialy when RB dont have serial port and dont like my ethernet card so Im not able to connect to MAC address :) I think I will stay with RB450 :)
Last edited by Krusty on Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:06 pm

1. RB450 also has default configuration, exactly the same as RB750. Strange that you didn't notice
2. at first startup, RouterOS asks you if you want to remove it, this is an option
3. Index Missing is not a RouterOS issue, but a Windows issue. Try to connect from another PC and make sure you use port 2-5

I really recommend you to read the simple steps on the cardboard box :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:11 pm

1. RB450 also has default configuration, exactly the same as RB750. Strange that you didn't notice
2. at first startup, RouterOS asks you if you want to remove it, this is an option
3. Index Missing is not a RouterOS issue, but a Windows issue. Try to connect from another PC and make sure you use port 2-5

I really recommend you to read the simple steps on the cardboard box :)
1. yes I noticed it, but RB450 got serial port so Im able to revert this default config via serial and make my own, no need to change IP on computer and make a lot of annoying stuf around :)
2. yes, true, Im using serial for this first start, witch RB750 dont have
3. I already tried this, If i try to connect to second RB750 that it works, but this one dont work....
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:18 pm

you must use Winbox on the first startup, it will ask you about config, and you will have the ability to push the "remove config" button. NO configuration needs to be added in your laptop. Use Winbox over MAC address if you wish
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:26 pm

you must use Winbox on the first startup, it will ask you about config, and you will have the ability to push the "remove config" button. NO configuration needs to be added in your laptop. Use Winbox over MAC address if you wish
I think you dont read what I wrote up there :)
and dont like my ethernet card so Im not able to connect to MAC address
now its pointless I will send it to my reseller, cause it seems to be broken piece :) I've bought a lot of routerboards, but none behaved like this one... grrr :?

:)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:34 pm

As I said, you need to change the PC first
and dont like my ethernet card
Like I said, it's a windows driver issue
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:39 pm

As I said, you need to change the PC first
and dont like my ethernet card
Like I said, it's a windows driver issue
I tried to connect to MAC from one PC, where It works, same error "index missing"....
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:41 pm

OK, do the following:

1. connect a simple ethernet cable from this pc to the first port of the RB750
2. turn off ALL firewall and antivirus programs on this PC, try to do this on a non-Vista machine :) you can even right-click and run Netinstall as administrator
3. Run netinstall and enable PXE in the settings
4. Turn on the RB750 while holding the button, hold the button until the LED turns off, then release button
5. wait until it appears in Netinstall window of devices
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:48 pm

OK, do the following:

1. connect a simple ethernet cable from this pc to the first port of the RB750
2. turn off ALL firewall and antivirus programs on this PC, try to do this on a non-Vista machine :) you can even right-click and run Netinstall as administrator
3. Run netinstall and enable PXE in the settings
4. Turn on the RB750 while holding the button, hold the button until the LED turns off, then release button
5. wait until it appears in Netinstall window of devices


1. done
2. done, hate vista, so there is no problem :lol:
3. done - Ip set to 172.30.183.222
4. done
5. no result, RB dont appear I only see my own HDD drives

I was so desperate that I tried to boot simple PC to netinstal, only to see it work, yes, PC boot to netinstall PXE, got the IP I set, but RB dont....
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:53 pm

ok, in that case, contact the seller, sorry
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Krusty
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 11:14 pm

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:56 pm

ok, in that case, contact the seller, sorry
no need to apologize, I am glad that you try to help me :)
thanks for help
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:24 pm

Tried with different Netinstall versions with no success in RB750 until i found MikroTik Router Installer 3.29 (the new way of naming Netinstall i think) and everything run smoothly as described in the previous posts, so you MUST use MikroTik Router Installer 3.29.
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Mon Oct 05, 2009 1:32 pm

MikroTik Router Installer
Interesting. That will be changed to Netinstall, thanks for noticing :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gowifi
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:57 am
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:31 am

Hi There, I just had a RB/411R that seems to have a corrupt OS so I thought I would Netinstall using the info above and it does not see the Netinstall program. Unfortunately I do not have a copy of Netinstaller 3.29. I have used Netinstall for years with the standard method using the serial port so am sure it is set up correctly. Any thoughts?

Thanks Dale.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:41 am

try Netinstall 4.2, and do what the Quick Guide tells you to - hold the button, turn on the router, when the LED goes off - release the button. Then it will start looking for netinstall servers.

http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist/do ... ile_id=124
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
winet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: Indonesia

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu May 13, 2010 2:59 pm

i've gotten the same problem, after trying to upgrade to 4.9, the OS got corrupted. but then, reading this thread and following normis instructions, i've successfully netinstall-ed the RB750, thanks
 
lukkes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 2:12 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Sun May 23, 2010 7:08 am

Hi, it works for me with netinstall 4.9, holding the reset button near the power plug, until the ACT led stop blink, and wait a few seconds the netinstall detect the RB750...
If you found this post useful don't forget about the karma viewtopic.php?f=1&t=41148

Feed Your FAITH Then Your Doubts Will Starve To Death...!!!
 
adriavidal
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:36 am

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:42 am

My router board 750 seems totally bricked.
Booted with the reset button pressed do nothing, none beep, no blink, all the leds get on, only act is off.

Any suggestion is welcome, thanks.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:07 pm

My router board 750 seems totally bricked.
Booted with the reset button pressed do nothing, none beep, no blink, all the leds get on, only act is off.

Any suggestion is welcome, thanks.
Our's too, was fine, upladed 5.13 .npk file, reboot ... then bricked ... connected port LED is ON, then all LED turn ON the unit reboot PWR and ACT LED always on ...

Netinstall do not work.

Any ideas?

Regards
 
User avatar
Caci99
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:26 pm
Location: Tirane
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Feb 16, 2012 2:28 pm

from the user guide document on RB750 (http://routerboard.com/pdf/356/rb750gl-ug.pdf):
Hold this button during boot time longer, until LED turns off, then release it to make the RouterBOARD look for Netinstall servers.
Try it once more before giving up.
-Toni-
Don't crash the ambulance, whatever you do
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Netinstall on RB411R and RB750

Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:48 pm

My router board 750 seems totally bricked.
Booted with the reset button pressed do nothing, none beep, no blink, all the leds get on, only act is off.

Any suggestion is welcome, thanks.
Our's too, was fine, upladed 5.13 .npk file, reboot ... then bricked ... connected port LED is ON, then all LED turn ON the unit reboot PWR and ACT LED always on ...

Netinstall do not work.

Any ideas?

Regards
Will do, thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 129 guests