Page 1 of 1

Mikrotik and Wireless Clients

Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:51 pm
by SharkBait
Hello,

I seem to be having a problem with my Mikrotik and a Tranzeo CPE.

I received a Mikrotik router with a 9db Sector and am trying to go 15miles to a Tranzeo CPE with a 200mW card and a 24db Parabolic Dish

The client radio seems to pulse with the Mikrotik radio. Its associates, then looses it, reassociates etc.

Is there a setting in the Mikrotik I can change that may be causing this to happen?

Thank you,

Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 11:48 pm
by ofasa
What's the power of the mikrotik AP?

At 15 miles you might want to go with a higher gain antenna!

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:54 am
by UniKyrn
Is the AP using a Prism or Atheros card? We've got one 13.3 mile link using a Tranzeo client to a prism AP, but I've seen longer links exhibit that associate/disconnect sequence and I believe the AP was simply deciding the ACK time was too great and so it wouldn't let the client stay associated.

Atheros cards have a greater range for the ACK time I believe.