Community discussions

 
tscarborough
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:48 am

openvpn 3.27

Tue Aug 04, 2009 5:19 am

I have been having trouble with openvpn and v 3.27 on one router rb450G on my outbound ovpn connection it is enabled but the routes for that interface stay inactive.

I tried to test this on another test system x86 with a newly downloaded and installed version of 3.27
now I get this in the log

20:50:08 system,info device changed by admin
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: initializing...
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: dialing...
21:04:21 system,info device changed by admin
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: initializing...
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: terminating... - could not create interface
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: disconnected
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: initializing...
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: terminating... - could not create interface
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: disconnected
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: initializing...
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: terminating... - could not create interface
21:04:21 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: disconnected
21:04:22 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: initializing...
21:04:22 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: terminating... - could not create interface
21:04:22 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: disconnected
21:04:23 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: initializing...
21:04:23 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: terminating... - could not create interface
21:04:23 ovpn,info ovpn-out1: disconnected

any ideas or other people that have openvpn working in 3.27
 
duvi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: openvpn 3.27

Tue Aug 04, 2009 11:37 am

I had the same on RB450G and v3.24.
After a reboot it worked fine.
 
npero
Member
Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: openvpn 3.27

Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:01 pm

I am also try to using OpenVPN from but not very success.
My problem is after some time server just stop working client cannot connect in log I see connect disconnect. After disable enable server in setting server is stop logging anything only reboot router help to work again.
I send couple supout.rif but support can find what wrong. Some time server work couple of hours and broke some time couple weeks without any rule.
Now I only for one user using Mikrotik OpenVPN for testing purpose and other use OpenVPN installed on Windows XP machine without any problem.
For now waiting to Mikrotik do something with OpenVPN, implementation in Windows work much better (better is stable and don't test other parameters) something is not right.
 
glucz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:25 pm

Re: openvpn 3.27

Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:59 pm

This problem came up for me too. OpenVPN is just unusable. It just stops. It is not possible to restart. Only reboot will fix it, but of course that is not an option on a live system. We can't keep rebooting the server every day.
 
duvi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: openvpn 3.27

Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:39 am

OpenVPN works totally fine for me with RB532A v3.28 as server and RB450G v3.24 as client in ethernet mode.
It even works with the server having a dynamic ip address.
 
XTLMeth
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 7:10 am

Re: openvpn 3.27

Mon Sep 07, 2009 7:49 am

I had a similar issue with an openvpn server with 10 users. The server worked for 24-48hour periods then it would just stop. I found that if I went into winbox and disabled the server then re-enabled it everything started working again. I believe it's due to a memory leak or some other issue. I have been using openvpn for a long time in linux and never had these issues until I starting using it with mikrotik.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 128 guests