Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 10:58 am

Right, decided to use WOL on a NAS box. It's a brand spanking new HP ML110 with WOL enabled in the BIOS.

In RouterOS, I run the command /tool wol 00:01:02:03:04:05:06 (whatever the MAC really is) but bugger all happens.

I've checked the MAC and I've even tried the SolarWinds WOL utility but for the life of brian I cannot get this server to switch on.

Incidentally, I've tried WOL with other computers but nuffin work :-(

What am I doing wrong? I'm sure it's something rather trivial and silly but I just can't get ANY computer to switch on.

Please put me out of my misery.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24396
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:23 am

did you try v3.28?

*) added ethernet broadcast support for WakeOnLan tool;
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:28 am

Alas that's what I have both at the office and home.

If you say it's working then I'll believe you, it just seems like such a trivial issue and yet one that has me stumped.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24396
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:31 am

the other utility worked? if yes, make some sniffer files and send to support, so we can see what was different in RouterOS wol packet.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:01 pm

Gotta be a gonfig issue with the (un)waking hardware.
The WOL packet is almost to simple to get wrong.
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:03 pm

The WOL packet is almost to simple to get wrong.
I agree. This is what is so frustrating.

I'm using a mix of 100Mb and Gig switches; would this perhaps be a cause of the problem?
Regards
Hilton
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:38 am

I have this problem on some un-managed switches. Some switches will not send traffic out a port until traffic first comes in that port. I'm not sure if it's a timeout or MAC table expire issue.
Doug
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Mon Nov 02, 2009 4:51 pm

Turned out I wasn't doing anything wrong, it was a bug.

It's now working as expected (4.1)
Regards
Hilton
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: WOL - what am I doing wrong?

Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:56 pm

And these people are relied upon to keep your network running..... hmm....

There are two well known projects (wakeonlan and etherwak) that are used in every linux router operating system. Did one of these packages have a problem?
Doug

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Egert143, pe1chl and 171 guests