Page 1 of 1

multiple harddrives web cache

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:21 pm
by palmczak
I want my Mikrotik to boot from a flash hdd and then use a second normal hdd for the cache is this possible? If so can some one show me some example or documentation?

thanks

Joe

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:45 pm
by normis
it's in the manual
http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/ip ... y.main.2.2

just specify the cache drive and it will format it and use it

Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:58 pm
by Bill
Yes, this can be done, and is very easy to do. Just install the drive and boot up the router. Under the IP-Web Proxy-General settings you can select which drive to put the cache on. There are also options to Check and Format the drive. It takes about 15mb of memory for every 1gb of cache, so size accordingly.

On my router, the flash drive is the primary-master. The cache drive is the secondary-master and the cdrom is the secondary-slave. The cache drive is a 7200rpm WD 40gb drive with 8mb buffer. The router only has 512mb, so it won't use more than 30gb of the drive.

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 3:39 pm
by Cameron Earnshaw
I came to the forum because I could find nothing in the manual about it, despite what Normis says, but am glad to know that this can be done. Thanks!

Posted: Sun Jul 11, 2004 6:24 pm
by Bill
The link Normis provided shows the reference in the manual to the 'cache-drive' option that lets you select which drive the web-proxy cache is placed on. Having the option to choose a drive shows that MT supports use of more than just the system drive.

Since being able to use a second drive is dependent on proper hardware installation and configuration, it is not covered in the MT manual. They only provide this type of information for the hardware they offer, like the Routerboard. MT will recognize and let you use any IDE hard drive that is properly installed and configured. There may also be a size limitation, but there is really no need for a drive that large in a MT router.

The ability to use a second drive is also covered in the Installation Section of the Mikrotik FAQ page.
http://www.mikrotik.com/Documentation/FAQ.html