Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
alexspils
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 8:57 pm

RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 12:06 pm

What's new in 4.0:

*) IT87XX hardware monitoring sensor support;
*) kvm allows to choose emulated nic model;
*) hotspot - fixed redirect after login in case if client gets new IP address
(problem introduced in 3.28);
*) hotspot - fixed redirect after login in case if client gets new IP address;
*) console - commands like 'monitor', 'torch' and others that periodically
refresh information sometimes failed to work when started from
the scheduler;
*) console - scheduled scripts no longer require 'test' policy to run;
*) console - fix issues with scripts that contain lines with trailing spaces;
*) console - add back compatibility with old scripts that use space instead
of '=' to separate argument name and value;
*) console - following fixes:
- accept item numbers when prompted by command to specify item;
- argument names without '=' were matched even when expecting unnamed
value; this broke code such as:
:foreach i in=1,2,3 do {}
here 'i' was matched as argument name "in";
- 'tab' key did not automatically append '=' after complete argument
names;
any success upgrade story are welcome :)
 
User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1734
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:17 pm

Upgraded, no problems!

Just keep in mind to log into the router after and update your license from XXXX-XXX to the new XXXX-XXXX style. Or else your license will expire in 72hours
With great knowledge comes great responsibility, because of ability to recognize id... incompetent people much faster.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8389
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:03 pm

RouterOS 4.0, released 13-OCT-2009
wow! at least they write release date )))

2.9.51 R.I.P. :(
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:16 pm

Netinstall seems to crash for me. I can upgrade with no problems though.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:22 pm

Netinstall seems to crash for me. I can upgrade with no problems though.
please provide more detailed info how does it crash.
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:31 pm

i found a problem with v4

and that is that there is no data in the change log

:lol:

http://www.mikrotik.com/download/CHANGELOG_4

tanks team
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:38 pm

When I launch netinstall from my router (an RB450), it finds the machine that runs netinstall, and the error I have attached appears ("recvfom failed: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host. (10054)"). When clicking Ok netinstall closes. The router seems not to notice and tries to fetch the image, yet nothing happens. Even if I start up netinstall again, the router will never get to the point where it installs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:42 pm

Hmm, disregard my error for now. I think it's my own network.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:44 pm

i found a problem with v4

and that is that there is no data in the change log

:lol:

http://www.mikrotik.com/download/CHANGELOG_4

tanks team
works for me
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 3:47 pm

the link works but data not updated

it is the last data i have

What's new in 4.0rc1:

*) incorporated all the bugfixes since v3.30;
*) port remote-access - added 'log-file' property. If value is a non-empty
string, then all data that is read from the port is appended to a file
with that name, regardless of the active remote connection;
*) console - removed '/user' from the output of top level '/export' command,
still can be exported by '/user export';


should look somthing like this if im correct
What's new in 4.0:

*) IT87XX hardware monitoring sensor support;
*) kvm allows to choose emulated nic model;
*) hotspot - fixed redirect after login in case if client gets new IP address
(problem introduced in 3.28);
*) hotspot - fixed redirect after login in case if client gets new IP address;
*) console - commands like 'monitor', 'torch' and others that periodically
refresh information sometimes failed to work when started from
the scheduler;
*) console - scheduled scripts no longer require 'test' policy to run;
*) console - fix issues with scripts that contain lines with trailing spaces;
*) console - add back compatibility with old scripts that use space instead
of '=' to separate argument name and value;
*) console - following fixes:
- accept item numbers when prompted by command to specify item;
- argument names without '=' were matched even when expecting unnamed
value; this broke code such as:
:foreach i in=1,2,3 do {}
here 'i' was matched as argument name "in";
- 'tab' key did not automatically append '=' after complete argument
names;
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:08 pm

What's new in 4.0:

*) IT87XX hardware monitoring sensor support;

temp cant be (v) must be (degree c)

and fan speeds cant be (v) must be (rpms)

but it seems to be right values

works well i think
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 507
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:44 pm

I'll go one better.....
temp.gif
Wow, magic!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:03 pm

what motherboard you got?

as here all is right on teminal but not winboxx try it out and see
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:06 pm

i found that 4 seems to run better as in the past winbox cpu use to run 10-14%

but now 1-3%

thants reel cool im going to test this on a rb133c routerboard to see what it does as 2.9.51 is so outdated but runs the best on that board
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 5:08 pm

*) kvm allows to choose emulated nic model;
Any more details on what this is about? :-?

Edit: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Virtualization - KVM virtualisation.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8389
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:05 pm

the link works but data not updated

it is the last data i have

What's new in 4.0rc1:
haha, flush your proxy cache =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

level4 lic

Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:12 pm

Just to confirm - buying any board with level4 - after Oct-13 2009 - entitles one to free upgrade to ROS V5 correct?

thanks.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: level4 lic

Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:05 pm

Just to confirm - buying any board with level4 - after Oct-13 2009 - entitles one to free upgrade to ROS V5 correct?

thanks.
And if so, how do you handle upgrades on distributor inventory? :|

I would like to suggest that all Mikrotik RouterBoards which are not EOL, are moved up to the new license levels. (all RB/CRD, RB4xx, RB6xx, RB750 and RB1000.) That would solve my inventory issue. You can leave RB/CRD out if necessary because that is using the older RB1xx series MIPS processor.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:45 am

Upgrade to 4.0 on x86 cleaned out all the gateway/gateway interfaces in my routes.

So the routes are still there but they reference nothing, so nuffin is working.......

Eish.

Nb, my own server so not a client's but still worth knowing about.
Regards
Hilton
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:22 pm

Upgrade to 4.0 on x86 cleaned out all the gateway/gateway interfaces in my routes.

So the routes are still there but they reference nothing, so nuffin is working.......

Eish.

Nb, my own server so not a client's but still worth knowing about.
please make the support output file and send it to support.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: level4 lic

Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:47 pm

Just to confirm - buying any board with level4 - after Oct-13 2009 - entitles one to free upgrade to ROS V5 correct?

thanks.
And if so, how do you handle upgrades on distributor inventory? :|

I would like to suggest that all Mikrotik RouterBoards which are not EOL, are moved up to the new license levels. (all RB/CRD, RB4xx, RB6xx, RB750 and RB1000.) That would solve my inventory issue. You can leave RB/CRD out if necessary because that is using the older RB1xx series MIPS processor.

Tom
ALL RouterOS installations with legitimate RouterOS Keys can now upgrade to v4
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Wed Oct 14, 2009 3:13 pm

xezen, the problem will be fixed in the next RouterOS version with volts.
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: level4 lic

Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:07 pm

Just to confirm - buying any board with level4 - after Oct-13 2009 - entitles one to free upgrade to ROS V5 correct?

thanks.
And if so, how do you handle upgrades on distributor inventory? :|

I would like to suggest that all Mikrotik RouterBoards which are not EOL, are moved up to the new license levels. (all RB/CRD, RB4xx, RB6xx, RB750 and RB1000.) That would solve my inventory issue. You can leave RB/CRD out if necessary because that is using the older RB1xx series MIPS processor.

Tom
ALL RouterOS installations with legitimate RouterOS Keys can now upgrade to v4
The question however is: how are you going to determine eligibility for free ROS V5 upgrade for hardware with level 4 lic purchased since current version of ROS is V4. (and perhaps, if it matters hardware still comes with v3 preinstalled)
 
hci
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 619
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:17 am

Is OS version 4.x more CPU intensive then 3.x? On a heavy loaded PPPoE server we have seen an increase in CPU load but we changed out hardware at same time so not sure.

M
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8389
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:23 am

others say that v4 is less cpu intensive than v3 =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Myron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:17 am
Location: Boracay, Philippines

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:09 am

i notice this V4 less of CPU process!! cool.. that's why i love mikrotik :lol:
 
rodneal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:49 pm

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:12 am

v4 ROCKS!@!!

I love MT!!

V4rc was a little shaky but v4 fixed it - yeeehhhaaaahhhh!

Now what about the bios 2.23 I've heard rumors about?? and how far back will this upgrade go?? RB112 series??

Thank you - Normis!

Rod
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:18 am

Upgrade to 4.0 on x86 cleaned out all the gateway/gateway interfaces in my routes.

So the routes are still there but they reference nothing, so nuffin is working.......

Eish.

Nb, my own server so not a client's but still worth knowing about.
please make the support output file and send it to support.
Just an update. I removed and added back the routes and yet the gateway interface option just seems to disappear with time.

I can't tell you when it vanishes but it does. I will send support a supout but for now it's back to 3.30 as 4.0 is completely unusable.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8389
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:16 pm

btw, Netinstall of v4 still contains 'MIKROTIK ROUTEROS V3 SOFTWARE ROUTER SYSTEM' license

isn't it time to remove version from the license? when v3 was released, there was license about v2 in it ))
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
rpress
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 5:13 am

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:49 pm

I was excited to see the temperature monitoring, and it does work correctly in the terminal.

However I can't bring up the numbers in SNMP, they just show as zero. Is there another OID to use? I want to add a notification with The Dude for an overtemperature alarm.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24605
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 8:41 am

I was excited to see the temperature monitoring, and it does work correctly in the terminal.

However I can't bring up the numbers in SNMP, they just show as zero. Is there another OID to use? I want to add a notification with The Dude for an overtemperature alarm.
we'll look into this. edit: apparently what you got over SNMP is temperature values for RB230 (old product), SNMP support for PC is not yet made, there are some difficulties with it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:46 am

Upgrade to 4.0 on x86 cleaned out all the gateway/gateway interfaces in my routes.

So the routes are still there but they reference nothing, so nuffin is working.......
please make the support output file and send it to support.
Just an update. I removed and added back the routes and yet the gateway interface option just seems to disappear with time.

I can't tell you when it vanishes but it does. I will send support a supout but for now it's back to 3.30 as 4.0 is completely unusable.
Support has confirmed that this is a bug in winbox and will be fixed in 4.1

I think it only applies to x86.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8389
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 1:59 pm

in Winbox? so, all is working, you just cannot see it in Winbox?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
rodneal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:49 pm

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 3:43 pm

When do we expect v4.1?? Mon or Tuesday?
:-))
Rod
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:10 pm

in Winbox? so, all is working, you just cannot see it in Winbox?
Yes that is my experience. Had me fooled for some time, I've learnt to trust winbox over the years and never thought to check via ssh or terminal.
Regards
Hilton
 
User avatar
hilton
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 5:12 pm
Location: Jozi (aka Johannesburg), South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 6:12 pm

When do we expect v4.1?? Mon or Tuesday?
:-))
Rod
How about now. Go check out the download page.
Regards
Hilton
 
rodneal
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 7:49 pm

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:43 pm

Ok - from rock-an-roll to singin the blues.
I just instructed our engineers to roll back v4.1- to v3.30

We've been noticing a ripple across the network and figured v4.1 would fix it - no go.

It would drop 1 on the primaries and 2 on the next tower and 3-10 on the towers and cpes after that.

This started 2weeks ago with the update of v4rc - v4 helped some it seemed and v4.1 didn't make a difference.

Of course the network slowed to a crawl - and of course the complaints have rolled in.

Here's hoping v3.30 takes us back.

Rod
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:32 pm

thanks for the changes in 4.1 but still testing it as i just loaded it up today will let you know if i pic up any problems

but thanks for the update but at this rate of updating versions we will have to go to 4.100 before we move over to 5

as we cant upgrade ever 48 hours? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:


thansk anyway team
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

Re: RouterOS v4 released

Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:19 am

Normis wrote
ALL RouterOS installations with legitimate RouterOS Keys can now upgrade to v4
Can you clarify... I have some 2.9.50 installs I tried to upgrade to v4 and I can't because it tells me so when I try in the log.

Thanks,
Scott

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: george72, Google [Bot] and 51 guests